SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3867 (Sew Stylish Misses Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 3351 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 415 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/25/07 3:39 AM
Last Updated:5/25/07 3:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
morzel said...
What a beautiful top!! And thanks for the useful tips about constructing and fitting it!
5/25/07 5:39 AM
squirrellypoo said...
That is simply beautiful! And I always do invisible zippers, too. ;)
5/25/07 6:26 AM
Dr. Alice said...
Another great one as always! Where's the glamour shot of you?
5/25/07 6:57 AM
MissCelie said...
Erica B. won't tell you but I will, check out her blog for some neat photos of the tissue fit and her excellent finishing of the inside. Personally, inspriring. That said, I'm all about serging and easy finishes. :)
5/25/07 7:21 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous as usual.
5/25/07 7:53 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow. beautiful, Thanks-a-million the construction details
5/25/07 8:00 AM
krinn said...
beautiful, as always :)
5/25/07 8:01 AM
Marji said...
I really like that in the silk dupioni - an unexpected fabric for that design. Interesting way to get around doing an FBA Erica. Good call on the empire waist stay tape.
5/25/07 8:09 AM
jlongo said...
Erica, nicely done! Do you do the SWAP contest with Timmel fabrics?
5/25/07 8:15 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous! Classy! Stunning!
5/25/07 9:06 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow, I love how this piece looks in the dupioni. Yeah, I don't know why pattern companies still don't tell us to use invisible zips in these dressier garments.
5/25/07 9:57 AM
cindyann said...
How lovely! Beautiful color. I'm with you in the IZ. So much easier and so much prettier.
5/25/07 10:08 AM
Levone said...
Such a pretty top!
5/25/07 10:21 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I had the same reaction to the SewStylish top, but your version is divine! I think one (of the many) details on your top that improves the look through the bust is the additional bust gathers. Thanks for encouraging me to give this pattern a second look!
5/25/07 10:26 AM
blue mooney said...
Oh, gosh. That is sooo nice.
5/25/07 10:38 AM
bunz said...
Beautiful! Interesting that you decided to press pleats unlike the pattern illustration. Does that eliminate any "preggers" look?
5/25/07 12:16 PM
KarenP said...
Beautiful!! I love it in the silk dupioni - I never would have thought of doing that.
5/25/07 12:28 PM
maiaj said...
Wow! I love when I see Erica B. has reviewed something! This is a top I am considering, and your size/fitting information is timely and and helpful. Thanks.
5/25/07 12:37 PM
Lynngray said...
wow, It's great. And thanks for the great review also
5/25/07 12:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is gorgeous. Can't wait to see it on you.
5/25/07 1:06 PM
krinn said...
oh my gosh, I just thought of something - you should totally enter this in the simplicty/threads/hancocks contest! http://www.hancockfabrics.com/jump.jsp?itemID=805&itemType=CONTENT
5/25/07 1:12 PM
Jackiesews303 said...
Very nice blouse! It's not my usual style but I think I will get the pattern and give it a try. I always afraid to try a blouse with a wide opening.
5/25/07 1:12 PM
kiddo said...
When I saw the photo I thought it looked like something you would do. And yes, it was you! Excellent!
5/25/07 1:43 PM
Leora said...
I had this pattern in my hot little hand but returned it to the drawer. I'm glad you made it better than it looks to be! Gorgeous top, EricaB
5/25/07 2:26 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty as always.
5/25/07 4:00 PM
crisford said...
Just gorgeous!
5/25/07 4:09 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful!
5/25/07 4:40 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Lovely fabric choice! Beautiful outcome!
5/25/07 4:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is gorgeous in the fabric you chose. Great job.
5/25/07 6:02 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Another fantastic top you've created! Beautiful.
5/25/07 10:42 PM
Bonnie O said...
That top turned out terrific! Great fabric choice - I never would have thought of it.
5/26/07 4:20 PM
Tany said...
Fantastic! Your fabric choice is perfect for this pattern! Thank you for this very helpful review!
5/27/07 4:43 AM
LauraLo said...
Wow, this top is gorgeous and the colour... delicious! LauraLo
5/29/07 8:30 AM
hildy said...
I was thinking of making this top in a dotted swiss fabric...until I saw your choice of dupioni. I made a run to my favorite fabric store that is having a moving sale and prayed that they still had a good selection of silks left. I found a beautiful aqua color. I hope mine turns out as beautiful as yours did.
5/29/07 8:48 PM
kim*brown said...
I'm loving the color! This would look wonderful dressed up or down. The color is so rich. Wonderful work Erica!
5/29/07 11:38 PM
AnneM said...
Looks great - particularly in the picture with it on you (in your other review). It has some nice details.
6/17/07 6:23 PM
Terri Smith said...
I purchased this pattern yesterday, and really appreciate your review re: bodice sizing. Very chic top and nice review.
8/19/07 11:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

New Look 6457

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review

Pattern

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now