SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2433 (Baby Rompers and Jumpsuits)

16 more reviews
Viewed 654 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaS
photo

 
 
About JuliaSstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 3/29/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/07 11:00 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $10.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
martinanne said...
Great job! Adorable baby!! I think your suggestion of making the shoulders narrower next time is the right idea to solve the Flashdance problem. In the pic it appears the shoulders are a tad too wide for her. Another idea is to bind the edge with foldover elastic. I have done this on several lap shouldered baby tops with good results. You don't need to stretch the foldover elastic when applying it to the edge. Just use a 1:1 ratio. Besides being effective, it's an easy edge finish and if you use decorative foldover elastic, it can look really cute. I love the flower embelishment you used! So cute. As far as the lettuce edging pulling away from the fabric...my only tip it to be 100% sure you are not inadvertantly pulling the fabric slightly too the left after it goes under the knives and before it hits the needles (assuming you are using a serger). Just the weight of the fabric is enough to cause this pulling away. If you are concentrating on it, then you will be able to counteract that by holding the fabric in line. But sometimes it happens anyway, especially with a thinner knit.
5/30/07 10:47 AM
JuliaS said...
I only subscribed to Ottobre this year, so I don't have that one. Maybe I'll have to order a back issue...
5/30/07 8:27 AM
katybee said...
Darling baby and shirt. Have you tried the Ottobre pattern from 5/06? I had good luck with the lapped onesie from that issue, has the same lapped shoulders, only they overlap more, it looks like that might be the problem.
5/29/07 9:39 PM
Marji said...
What a sweet little baby. Your top looks fabulous - very RTW looking, in fact, when I opened this up to see this pretty baby, I was wondering what the review was for - i thought the T was purchased. Not sure if that is a complement, but I mean it to be. It looks great.
5/29/07 1:47 PM
KarenP said...
Very cute! This is such a useful and versitile pattern. I don't have any suggestions for the lapped shoulder, although I ran into the problem a little bit too. I think perhaps making more fabric overlap would work.
5/29/07 1:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

New Look 6309

photo
by: Verosews

Review
Burda 7127

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

More Info
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

More Info