SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2433 (Baby Rompers and Jumpsuits)

16 more reviews
Viewed 649 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaS
photo

 
 
About JuliaSstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 3/29/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/07 11:00 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $10.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KarenP said...
Very cute! This is such a useful and versitile pattern. I don't have any suggestions for the lapped shoulder, although I ran into the problem a little bit too. I think perhaps making more fabric overlap would work.
5/29/07 1:01 PM
Marji said...
What a sweet little baby. Your top looks fabulous - very RTW looking, in fact, when I opened this up to see this pretty baby, I was wondering what the review was for - i thought the T was purchased. Not sure if that is a complement, but I mean it to be. It looks great.
5/29/07 1:47 PM
katybee said...
Darling baby and shirt. Have you tried the Ottobre pattern from 5/06? I had good luck with the lapped onesie from that issue, has the same lapped shoulders, only they overlap more, it looks like that might be the problem.
5/29/07 9:39 PM
JuliaS said...
I only subscribed to Ottobre this year, so I don't have that one. Maybe I'll have to order a back issue...
5/30/07 8:27 AM
martinanne said...
Great job! Adorable baby!! I think your suggestion of making the shoulders narrower next time is the right idea to solve the Flashdance problem. In the pic it appears the shoulders are a tad too wide for her. Another idea is to bind the edge with foldover elastic. I have done this on several lap shouldered baby tops with good results. You don't need to stretch the foldover elastic when applying it to the edge. Just use a 1:1 ratio. Besides being effective, it's an easy edge finish and if you use decorative foldover elastic, it can look really cute. I love the flower embelishment you used! So cute. As far as the lettuce edging pulling away from the fabric...my only tip it to be 100% sure you are not inadvertantly pulling the fabric slightly too the left after it goes under the knives and before it hits the needles (assuming you are using a serger). Just the weight of the fabric is enough to cause this pulling away. If you are concentrating on it, then you will be able to counteract that by holding the fabric in line. But sometimes it happens anyway, especially with a thinner knit.
5/30/07 10:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now