SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8326 (Costume/skirt suit)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1173 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/07 9:05 PM
Last Updated:6/5/07 4:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
motomoda said...
Thanks for such an informative review. The jacket is beautiful. One day I might be able to test out your research myself :)
5/31/07 0:28 AM
Marji said...
Very interesting. You might consider writing a review in the book section on her book, as this info will quickly get buried in the reviews of other patterns. As far as the collar goes, that has real drama and is v close to what we saw this season on some of the European sites for formal RTW. Very nice.
5/31/07 5:34 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, fabulous jacket and such a great review. I was always curious about kathleen's discussions about sleeve ease so thank you so much for doing the experiement for me:-)
5/31/07 6:28 PM
Karine said...
Your jacket is stunning. I'm fascinated by the design changes you made and would love to know more about the Kathleen Fasanella book.
6/1/07 3:29 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Fantastic looking jacket, I've added it to my Wishlist although I'm not sure I go anywhere smart enough to wear it. Hmmm, maybe I need to get out more .....?!
6/3/07 5:57 AM
Birgitte said...
Thanks for all your comments. Marji, thanks for suggesting writing a review of Kathleen's book, I will do that. It's an invaluable treasure to anyone interested in sewing and design. Karine, you can go to Kathleen's website; fashion-incubator.com. She has a search feature, so it's easy to to look up specific topics and tutorials. motomoda and Jane S, I highly recommend you try it, it's not difficult, just fun. Ending up with something looking RTW is not a bad thing when it fits you perfectly! And Helen (near Sydney), I'm with you! I'm a jeans'n T-shirt type of girl, but it'll be there if I need it ;-) Happy sewing everyone!
6/5/07 3:16 PM
RuthieSews said...
I've seen some higher end RTW here in the UK with the carefully mismatched buttons. One of each of 4 on the front of a jacket and then the same buttons only smaller on the jacket cuffs. Very cool.
6/5/07 4:46 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Fabulous Review. Thanks for all the information-all of it was top-notch.
6/5/07 4:58 PM
AnneM said...
Distinctive, dramatic, lovely jacket. Cute little story on the button lady. I might have to check out that book!
6/7/07 11:56 AM
DeBe said...
I THINK U DID VERY WELL. CONGRATULATIONS AND CONTINE THE GOOD WORKS.
6/9/07 6:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Stretch & Sew 313

photo
by: DesignsByD...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-116

photo
by: butterflyf...

Review
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now