Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8326 (Costume/skirt suit) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1171 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/07 9:05 PM
Last Updated:6/5/07 4:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
motomoda said...
Thanks for such an informative review. The jacket is beautiful. One day I might be able to test out your research myself :)
5/31/07 0:28 AM
Marji said...
Very interesting. You might consider writing a review in the book section on her book, as this info will quickly get buried in the reviews of other patterns. As far as the collar goes, that has real drama and is v close to what we saw this season on some of the European sites for formal RTW. Very nice.
5/31/07 5:34 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, fabulous jacket and such a great review. I was always curious about kathleen's discussions about sleeve ease so thank you so much for doing the experiement for me:-)
5/31/07 6:28 PM
Karine said...
Your jacket is stunning. I'm fascinated by the design changes you made and would love to know more about the Kathleen Fasanella book.
6/1/07 3:29 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Fantastic looking jacket, I've added it to my Wishlist although I'm not sure I go anywhere smart enough to wear it. Hmmm, maybe I need to get out more .....?!
6/3/07 5:57 AM
Birgitte said...
Thanks for all your comments. Marji, thanks for suggesting writing a review of Kathleen's book, I will do that. It's an invaluable treasure to anyone interested in sewing and design. Karine, you can go to Kathleen's website; fashion-incubator.com. She has a search feature, so it's easy to to look up specific topics and tutorials. motomoda and Jane S, I highly recommend you try it, it's not difficult, just fun. Ending up with something looking RTW is not a bad thing when it fits you perfectly! And Helen (near Sydney), I'm with you! I'm a jeans'n T-shirt type of girl, but it'll be there if I need it ;-) Happy sewing everyone!
6/5/07 3:16 PM
RuthieSews said...
I've seen some higher end RTW here in the UK with the carefully mismatched buttons. One of each of 4 on the front of a jacket and then the same buttons only smaller on the jacket cuffs. Very cool.
6/5/07 4:46 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Fabulous Review. Thanks for all the information-all of it was top-notch.
6/5/07 4:58 PM
AnneM said...
Distinctive, dramatic, lovely jacket. Cute little story on the button lady. I might have to check out that book!
6/7/07 11:56 AM
DeBe said...
I THINK U DID VERY WELL. CONGRATULATIONS AND CONTINE THE GOOD WORKS.
6/9/07 6:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Other 3867
photo
Review by chemmom on 5/30/08
Read Review

Butterick 6695 Pattern( Size ALL SZS INCLD )
Butterick 6695 Pattern( Size ALL SZS INCLD )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6478 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6478 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2517 Knit Dresses
photo
Review by Trinity. on 10/1/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us