Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4988 (Princess blouse w/peplum) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1325 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/07 8:13 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
Oh what a darling blouse. It looks absolutely gorgeous. I am sure the fabric is really happy to be made up in that pattern, it really suits it.
6/1/07 8:47 AM
nadinec said...
Very cute top! (But then, you'd look good in ANYthing!!!). Loved your comment about spending "several days obsessively sorting" your 4(6) pounds of buttons! I've also been guilty (many times) of spending days obsessively sorting buttons and also beads - good excuse not to do other things like clean house, LOL! Thanks for the review.
6/1/07 8:53 AM
MissCelie said...
This look oddly familar.... Very cute and thanks for all the details
6/1/07 9:19 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute top. Your reviews are always informative and I love the story about the fabric. Great job.
6/1/07 9:37 AM
frame said...
Beautiful fabric. Cute blouse. Great review.
6/1/07 9:40 AM
dbsewer said...
Very cute and it looks wonderful on you. So 1963 is vintage, eh? I feel really, really old. ;0
6/1/07 10:07 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Your blouse looks so much nicer than those on the pattern cover. The fabric is so rich looking and I can understand why you like it so much. I'm surprised after reading your review to find out that you didn't raise the neckline. Your's looks a little higher than theirs which also makes it work-worthy. Thank you for a well written, informative review. This is a pattern that I'll be picking up.
6/1/07 10:43 AM
Soliel said...
Exciting!
6/1/07 11:07 AM
Annika said...
Wonderful blouse!
6/1/07 11:49 AM
nicegirl said...
Thanks everyone! Bernie--Sorry about that...let's call it "as youthful as the day it was manufactured." Busy Mom--I didn't even think about raising the neckline. Not being a busty girl, a blouse would have to be realllllllly low cut before it would show anything untoward on me. Someone busty-er might need to raise it up.
6/1/07 12:09 PM
Hilary said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric, too-and I think it's great that you went right ahead and used it. I find if something sits in my stash for any length of time its destined to be forgotten (for at least 6 months :oP)
6/1/07 1:18 PM
Erica B. said...
That is so pretty and ladylike! I love it!
6/1/07 1:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
You are so lucky to have inherited this lovely cotton -- it was perfect for this charming top.
6/1/07 2:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely blouse and an ideal style for the vintage fabric :)
6/1/07 4:30 PM
slanden99 said...
Very pretty blouse!
6/1/07 5:28 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow! My gosh do you every sleep? Have you locked yourself into the sewing room for an indefinite period of time? I love what you're doing in there.
6/1/07 6:40 PM
Annette1 said...
PERFECT fabric for a CUTE, CUTE, CUTE top. :o) Great review, too!
6/2/07 0:14 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That top is totally YOU ~ I love it! I love the fabric, what a special piece to recieve.
6/2/07 10:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This a great blouse. Excellent information provided.
6/3/07 7:55 AM
Marji said...
so glad you used that fabric before it assumed the status of "too good to use" might it be a Liberty of London cotton? V pretty blouse.
6/3/07 9:08 PM
Maragold said...
Gorgeous! I liked this pattern before, now I know how nice this will work up. (Thanks for the belly-button tip as well)
6/7/07 3:32 PM
Ellee said...
What a lovely blouse! I've just cut out this pattern on some lacy fabric, and I think I'll use your technique instead of facing. Thank you for the details in your review!
8/27/08 8:58 PM
Cherylau said...
I realise it's 6 years later but I really like your blouse. Recently acquired this pattern, now discontinued, thought it pretty so wanted to try it. Used a $2 poly fabric to trial it. It went together like a dream. Also left off the facings. Am so happy with the trial piece that I am going to wear it as PJs,
2/27/12 8:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 3292 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by Frozzy on 12/8/07
Read Review

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com The Wiggle Dress
photo
Review by ZoSews on 5/27/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5946 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5946 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us