SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4988 (Princess blouse w/peplum)

Viewed 1332 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/07 8:13 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cherylau said...
I realise it's 6 years later but I really like your blouse. Recently acquired this pattern, now discontinued, thought it pretty so wanted to try it. Used a $2 poly fabric to trial it. It went together like a dream. Also left off the facings. Am so happy with the trial piece that I am going to wear it as PJs,
2/27/12 8:30 PM
Ellee said...
What a lovely blouse! I've just cut out this pattern on some lacy fabric, and I think I'll use your technique instead of facing. Thank you for the details in your review!
8/27/08 8:58 PM
Maragold said...
Gorgeous! I liked this pattern before, now I know how nice this will work up. (Thanks for the belly-button tip as well)
6/7/07 3:32 PM
Marji said...
so glad you used that fabric before it assumed the status of "too good to use" might it be a Liberty of London cotton? V pretty blouse.
6/3/07 9:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This a great blouse. Excellent information provided.
6/3/07 7:55 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That top is totally YOU ~ I love it! I love the fabric, what a special piece to recieve.
6/2/07 10:15 AM
Annette1 said...
PERFECT fabric for a CUTE, CUTE, CUTE top. :o) Great review, too!
6/2/07 0:14 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow! My gosh do you every sleep? Have you locked yourself into the sewing room for an indefinite period of time? I love what you're doing in there.
6/1/07 6:40 PM
slanden99 said...
Very pretty blouse!
6/1/07 5:28 PM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely blouse and an ideal style for the vintage fabric :)
6/1/07 4:30 PM
CarolynGM said...
You are so lucky to have inherited this lovely cotton -- it was perfect for this charming top.
6/1/07 2:22 PM
Erica B. said...
That is so pretty and ladylike! I love it!
6/1/07 1:50 PM
Hilary said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric, too-and I think it's great that you went right ahead and used it. I find if something sits in my stash for any length of time its destined to be forgotten (for at least 6 months :oP)
6/1/07 1:18 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks everyone! Bernie--Sorry about that...let's call it "as youthful as the day it was manufactured." Busy Mom--I didn't even think about raising the neckline. Not being a busty girl, a blouse would have to be realllllllly low cut before it would show anything untoward on me. Someone busty-er might need to raise it up.
6/1/07 12:09 PM
Annika said...
Wonderful blouse!
6/1/07 11:49 AM
Soliel said...
Exciting!
6/1/07 11:07 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Your blouse looks so much nicer than those on the pattern cover. The fabric is so rich looking and I can understand why you like it so much. I'm surprised after reading your review to find out that you didn't raise the neckline. Your's looks a little higher than theirs which also makes it work-worthy. Thank you for a well written, informative review. This is a pattern that I'll be picking up.
6/1/07 10:43 AM
dbsewer said...
Very cute and it looks wonderful on you. So 1963 is vintage, eh? I feel really, really old. ;0
6/1/07 10:07 AM
frame said...
Beautiful fabric. Cute blouse. Great review.
6/1/07 9:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute top. Your reviews are always informative and I love the story about the fabric. Great job.
6/1/07 9:37 AM
MissCelie said...
This look oddly familar.... Very cute and thanks for all the details
6/1/07 9:19 AM
nadinec said...
Very cute top! (But then, you'd look good in ANYthing!!!). Loved your comment about spending "several days obsessively sorting" your 4(6) pounds of buttons! I've also been guilty (many times) of spending days obsessively sorting buttons and also beads - good excuse not to do other things like clean house, LOL! Thanks for the review.
6/1/07 8:53 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh what a darling blouse. It looks absolutely gorgeous. I am sure the fabric is really happy to be made up in that pattern, it really suits it.
6/1/07 8:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 1824

photo
by: LBT4539

Review