Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9691 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 996 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:kerina
photo
About kerinastar
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/03 6:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda Noah said...
Oh I really like this one! It's amazing what some minor alterations and a better drafted pattern can do, isn't it? BTW, for most of the Big 4 patterns if you are an A-B cup you can usually go by your high bust measurement instead of your full bust, to select the proper size. ;-) You're doing great with your sewing!
1/29/03 6:33 PM
Skymom said...
Kerina, your dress looks really cute! And don't worry about hemming it "unevenly"--the goal is to hem it so it's even on YOUR body, not necessarily to follow the pattern's hemline (although if you've got stripes or plaid sometimes this looks weird). For high, round back: you might consider adding a dart at the shoulder seam in the back. Vintage patterns use these a lot to provide shaping at the neck and shoulders. You'd have to experiment to see if a dart improves the fit for you. I have quite narrow shoulders, so what I've done sometimes is narrow the shoulder seam in the front by a 1/2 inch or so, and then dart that same amount out of the back shoulder seam so they're even. It's pretty ad hoc, but strangely enough, it seems to work!
1/29/03 6:41 PM
kerina said...
Thanks for all the encouragement! I'm really having more fun then I could ever have dreamed sewing would offer me. The tips and help I keep getting here are really a motivating factor for trying new things as well. Skymom: I was wondering if you could elaborate on how you narrow the shoulder seam in front. Do you just cut the armhole a 1/2 inch closer to the neckline?
1/29/03 7:07 PM
alex said...
Very pretty! Just out of curiosity, are you sewing summer dresses to spite the cold weather?
1/29/03 11:06 PM
Tiner W said...
I have this pattern, too. I started to make it in a slinky fabric and it was so huge--I should have sized down two sizes--but the drape was pretty. Because the neckline was just too low on me, I cut a sleeveless T-neck out of the fabric which I loved. Yours looks great!
1/29/03 11:52 PM
kerina said...
alex: It probably looks that way, doesn't it. In reality, when I first bought these patterns I assumed nothing I made would be passably wearable for several months and that the learning curve would be much steeper then it seems to be. I thought I was being smart and that by the time I could sew at all correctly it would be summer! Oh well, it's definitely not the first time in my life I've been wrong about something, and in this case, I'm quite happily surprised!
1/30/03 9:05 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Good job Kerina! Can you tell me what alteration you did for the top always falling to the back? I have that problem and didn't know there was a special alteration for that. Mary
1/30/03 5:27 PM
Skymom said...
Kerina, what I do to narrow the front shoulder seam is a sort of pivot move: trace the pattern, and then narrow the shoulder area by sort of pivoting the original armhole cutting line on its bottom end (at the side seam) so that the top end (at the shoulder seam) is 1/2 inch closer to the neck. Then the armhole remains more or less the same size, the width at the side seams is the same, you've just take a little bit out of the shoulder width in front. THis is easy to do if your adjustment is a small amount and there's no sleeve involved. Note: your armhole facing may no longer match up just right, so check that and see if you need to make some minor alterations there too. Or better yet, omit those floppy facings and use a bias binding around the armhole openings. It's just as easy, uses less fabric, and stays put.
1/30/03 5:31 PM
kerina said...
MaryT: There is a forward shoulder alteration, and a couple of different back alterations that can help with this. First you need to determine if your pulling is caused by forward shoulders or the need for more length in the upper part of the backs of the patterns. I actually have both. There are explanations on how to correct both problems in Gigi's expert advice forum on the message board. Also, all these alterations are explained in Fit For Real People. If you have reason to suspect you have a round back or even some roundness at the back of your neck and you don't have access to FFRP let me know and I will write out the alterations in detail. If you post the question on Gigi's forum though you'll get great help from really experienced sewers. That's where I got a ton of help on this issue. Good Luck!
1/30/03 11:30 PM
kerina said...
Skymom: Thanks, I understand completely now. I may try that alteration sometime. I did the body map from FFRP and it seemed to say I did not have narrow shoulders but I can't help but think I do. The shoulders on everything I make seem to extend a little farther then I like.
1/30/03 11:35 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Kerina, thanks! I just HAVE to get that book. I have it on my wish list at Amazon for the next available used one. I will look on the forum too, but thanks for your offer. Mary T
1/31/03 7:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6700
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 5/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )
McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 1126-1000
photo
Review by Maria Hatf... on 9/29/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us