Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3430 (Boys Swim Trunks) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 680 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/07 5:29 PM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
khurtdvm said...
Those look really nice! I don't know what the point of pockets on swim trunks would be - I probably would have eliminated them, too!
6/1/07 5:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Those are really cute. I'd like to make some for my DS. What kind of fabric would you recommend that would be easily found.
6/1/07 6:36 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Sherril, I really don't know what kind of fabric. I hated the Supplex because there was no give at all. I think a cotton blend (maybe cotton/nylon?) would be better. I need to snoop at the tag of my boys RTW suits and see what they are made of.
6/1/07 6:42 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great boardshorts. Thanks for the review!
6/1/07 8:28 PM
Vonnevo said...
Terrific result Melissa ! The swim shorts look better than RTW. Mt local Indy sells Supplex for swim shorts too, but I wonder if a 40% cotton/60& polyester might work OK too. The built in underwear is a good feature on this pattern.
6/1/07 8:28 PM
Jeanninem said...
Fantastic Melissa. How did you sew the waistband? Was it a special elastic?
6/2/07 0:06 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Jeanninem, I just used regular elastic in the waistband. We play out at the river a lot in the summer so I didn't figure I needed to buy swimwear elastic since the suits would rarely be in chlorinated water. To do the wasitband, I ended up making a casing and then inserting the elastic flat, it worked very well. HTH's!
6/2/07 8:30 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice swimming trunks! I know what you mean about doing projects because you need something instead of because you're excited about it. Time for a fun project.
6/2/07 7:48 PM
pterion said...
I think these look great. I sympathize about the nylon supplex since I've sewn with it too. It does have its uses but is not fun to sew.
6/4/07 1:15 PM
Hilary said...
These look really really good-the patches make all the difference! I know what you mean about your heart not really being in it-I have some projects like that right now (boys' shorts, as a matter of fact ;o) )
6/7/07 3:47 PM
smutnys said...
Nice shorts. I just bought this pattern for my boys and I'm wondering if you could give me some more info on the white mesh liner you used. Not only would I like to make them swim trunks, but I would also like to use this pattern to make athletic mesh shorts for them.
7/11/10 6:31 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
The inner lining was an athletic mesh I got from a local fabric store that is no longer in business. I'm honestly not sure where to buy it at now. You might do a Google search to see where you can buy it. The mesh I used had very small holes and looked very similar to the RTW swim trunks my boys had. I've been very pleased with this pattern and actually need to sew up another pair or two for my oldest as he's hit a growth spurt and has about outgrown the ones from last year. Definitely a keep of a pattern!
7/12/10 10:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-18 Tunic
photo
Review by Christas on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1778
photo
Review by rachellea7... on 3/20/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us