SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3430 (Boys Swim Trunks)

1 more reviews
Viewed 682 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/07 5:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
The inner lining was an athletic mesh I got from a local fabric store that is no longer in business. I'm honestly not sure where to buy it at now. You might do a Google search to see where you can buy it. The mesh I used had very small holes and looked very similar to the RTW swim trunks my boys had. I've been very pleased with this pattern and actually need to sew up another pair or two for my oldest as he's hit a growth spurt and has about outgrown the ones from last year. Definitely a keep of a pattern!
7/12/10 10:56 AM
smutnys said...
Nice shorts. I just bought this pattern for my boys and I'm wondering if you could give me some more info on the white mesh liner you used. Not only would I like to make them swim trunks, but I would also like to use this pattern to make athletic mesh shorts for them.
7/11/10 6:31 AM
Hilary said...
These look really really good-the patches make all the difference! I know what you mean about your heart not really being in it-I have some projects like that right now (boys' shorts, as a matter of fact ;o) )
6/7/07 3:47 PM
pterion said...
I think these look great. I sympathize about the nylon supplex since I've sewn with it too. It does have its uses but is not fun to sew.
6/4/07 1:15 PM
slanden99 said...
Nice swimming trunks! I know what you mean about doing projects because you need something instead of because you're excited about it. Time for a fun project.
6/2/07 7:48 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Jeanninem, I just used regular elastic in the waistband. We play out at the river a lot in the summer so I didn't figure I needed to buy swimwear elastic since the suits would rarely be in chlorinated water. To do the wasitband, I ended up making a casing and then inserting the elastic flat, it worked very well. HTH's!
6/2/07 8:30 AM
Jeanninem said...
Fantastic Melissa. How did you sew the waistband? Was it a special elastic?
6/2/07 0:06 AM
Vonnevo said...
Terrific result Melissa ! The swim shorts look better than RTW. Mt local Indy sells Supplex for swim shorts too, but I wonder if a 40% cotton/60& polyester might work OK too. The built in underwear is a good feature on this pattern.
6/1/07 8:28 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great boardshorts. Thanks for the review!
6/1/07 8:28 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Sherril, I really don't know what kind of fabric. I hated the Supplex because there was no give at all. I think a cotton blend (maybe cotton/nylon?) would be better. I need to snoop at the tag of my boys RTW suits and see what they are made of.
6/1/07 6:42 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Those are really cute. I'd like to make some for my DS. What kind of fabric would you recommend that would be easily found.
6/1/07 6:36 PM
khurtdvm said...
Those look really nice! I don't know what the point of pockets on swim trunks would be - I probably would have eliminated them, too!
6/1/07 5:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-21

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

More Info