Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: 03-2007-p17 (sleeveless dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1108 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:KrazyKat
photo
About KrazyKat
NY USA
Member since: 4/15/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/07 6:39 PM
Last Updated:6/3/07 6:39 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slanden99 said...
I'm really impressed that this is your first sewing project. The dress looks beautiful.
6/3/07 6:49 PM
Kay Y said...
WOW - is this really your very first sewing project?? You sure do jump right into the deep end! Not so much the design per se, but the fact you had to draft the pattern, and then sew it up with basically no instructions. Congratulations - You have done wonderful work on this. Don't worry about the ripping - I have been sewing for 30+ years and my seam ripper and I have a close relationship...
6/3/07 6:51 PM
ndesimon said...
Holy COW, congratulations on a really great first project and review. Looking forward to more!
6/3/07 6:56 PM
SarahWeb said...
You said FIRST sewing project? I think you have a great sewing future to look forward to. Many experienced sewers shy away from projects with drafting to be done and sewing methods to be worked out. You have a lovely dress there to enjoy and be proud of.
6/3/07 7:09 PM
coolobreeze said...
Impressive!
6/3/07 7:19 PM
MissCelie said...
Your FIRST sewing project? I have this magazine and have been sewing for 15 years and am at a complete and total loss. You are amazing.
6/3/07 7:34 PM
Re Becca said...
wow, your first project! This is great. My first project was a pillow. You did pick a challenge to start with, but it looks great.
6/3/07 7:55 PM
Liana said...
Very nice, and I will echo others who have similarly been amazed that this is your first project. What a challenge, and you met it beautifully.
6/3/07 8:02 PM
Seaspur said...
You deserve a standng ovation! Fabulous job on your first project, I'm impressed.
6/3/07 8:10 PM
EveS said...
Daaaang! Wonderful work...I appreciate your guts!
6/3/07 8:51 PM
poplin said...
Fabulous! I'm glad that you were able to work through the drafting process: from sloper to pattern. This gives me hope as I am drafting my summer dress from MSB #142 (am taking a little break at the moment). Thanks for the review!
6/3/07 8:58 PM
kiddo said...
Beautiful!
6/3/07 10:56 PM
Lori V said...
Very impressive first project, it looks fantastic.
6/3/07 10:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations on your first review ! You definitely jumped in the deep end, with a great result. This is a challenging project. I'm looking forward to more of your reviews, I can see you will have a very rewarding sewing life ahead.
6/4/07 2:11 AM
KrazyKat said...
Thanks all for the encouragement ... yes sometimes you just need to take a deep breath and dive. You never know what you'll get at the end! I am glad that there are other Mrs Style Book readers out there. I was hoping that this review would be useful to someone.
6/4/07 7:34 AM
JeanetteE said...
Thats a great dress. Love the collar.
6/4/07 7:38 AM
Erica B. said...
First sewing project?!?! Wow! You should really be proud of yourself... you did a fabulous job!
6/4/07 11:17 AM
Nancy K said...
Your first sewing project? Amazing. Those curved seams are called princess by the way. Great dress, congratulations.
6/4/07 12:10 PM
Mufffet said...
KrazyKat, FANTASTIC!! To do this as a first project is completely unbelievable! You are obviously talented! I wonder if you didn't absorb a lot from your Mom back in the day! :) You give today's sewing a terrific impetus. Thanks for a good review!
6/4/07 12:58 PM
Nancywin said...
Wonderful job. I have never heard of this magazine. Where do you get it?
6/5/07 0:34 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Nice job! Congrats on yr first project & review. Look forward to seeing more from you.
6/5/07 1:29 AM
KrazyKat said...
Nancywin, Mrs. Stylebook is an import from Japan. You can find it in a Japanese bookstore if there is one near you. I got mine from Kinokuniya, which is a chain with locations in major US cities. Do not be intimidated even if you do not read Japanese. The figures are quite self-explanatory. There is also an ongoing discussion over at the Stitchers' Guild forum where some kind soul has put up some translations. Even if you do not end up making anything from the magazine, the pictures are very pretty to look at!
6/5/07 7:27 AM
carlton said...
thank you ,will try to find the mag here in england you have done wonderful work jane
6/5/07 9:09 AM
AnneM said...
Um, yes, you probably did pick a difficult project. It came out very nicely!
6/5/07 5:16 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I'm a little behind on reading reviews, but your dress is magnificent! I can't believe that tackling a Mrs. Stylebook design was your first sewing project ever - wow!!!!
6/6/07 8:52 AM
buki said...
Very good, i have been using Mrs stylebook patterns as well and i found that once you have managed to get you block (sloper for Americans!) done, the rest is easy. But for a first project you definitely did a brilliant job.
6/8/07 9:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 12/27/07
Read Review

McCalls 6731 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6731 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Patterns 1002 Ava
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 1/8/12
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us