SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Mrs. Stylebook Magazine> 03-2007-p17 (sleeveless dress)

Viewed 1113 times 
Reviewed by:KrazyKat
photo

 
 
About KrazyKat
NY USA
Member since: 4/15/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/07 6:39 PM
Last Updated:6/3/07 6:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
buki said...
Very good, i have been using Mrs stylebook patterns as well and i found that once you have managed to get you block (sloper for Americans!) done, the rest is easy. But for a first project you definitely did a brilliant job.
6/8/07 9:55 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I'm a little behind on reading reviews, but your dress is magnificent! I can't believe that tackling a Mrs. Stylebook design was your first sewing project ever - wow!!!!
6/6/07 8:52 AM
AnneM said...
Um, yes, you probably did pick a difficult project. It came out very nicely!
6/5/07 5:16 PM
carlton said...
thank you ,will try to find the mag here in england you have done wonderful work jane
6/5/07 9:09 AM
KrazyKat said...
Nancywin, Mrs. Stylebook is an import from Japan. You can find it in a Japanese bookstore if there is one near you. I got mine from Kinokuniya, which is a chain with locations in major US cities. Do not be intimidated even if you do not read Japanese. The figures are quite self-explanatory. There is also an ongoing discussion over at the Stitchers' Guild forum where some kind soul has put up some translations. Even if you do not end up making anything from the magazine, the pictures are very pretty to look at!
6/5/07 7:27 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Nice job! Congrats on yr first project & review. Look forward to seeing more from you.
6/5/07 1:29 AM
Nancywin said...
Wonderful job. I have never heard of this magazine. Where do you get it?
6/5/07 0:34 AM
Mufffet said...
KrazyKat, FANTASTIC!! To do this as a first project is completely unbelievable! You are obviously talented! I wonder if you didn't absorb a lot from your Mom back in the day! :) You give today's sewing a terrific impetus. Thanks for a good review!
6/4/07 12:58 PM
Nancy K said...
Your first sewing project? Amazing. Those curved seams are called princess by the way. Great dress, congratulations.
6/4/07 12:10 PM
Erica B. said...
First sewing project?!?! Wow! You should really be proud of yourself... you did a fabulous job!
6/4/07 11:17 AM
JeanetteE said...
Thats a great dress. Love the collar.
6/4/07 7:38 AM
KrazyKat said...
Thanks all for the encouragement ... yes sometimes you just need to take a deep breath and dive. You never know what you'll get at the end! I am glad that there are other Mrs Style Book readers out there. I was hoping that this review would be useful to someone.
6/4/07 7:34 AM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations on your first review ! You definitely jumped in the deep end, with a great result. This is a challenging project. I'm looking forward to more of your reviews, I can see you will have a very rewarding sewing life ahead.
6/4/07 2:11 AM
Lori V said...
Very impressive first project, it looks fantastic.
6/3/07 10:59 PM
kiddo said...
Beautiful!
6/3/07 10:56 PM
poplin said...
Fabulous! I'm glad that you were able to work through the drafting process: from sloper to pattern. This gives me hope as I am drafting my summer dress from MSB #142 (am taking a little break at the moment). Thanks for the review!
6/3/07 8:58 PM
EveS said...
Daaaang! Wonderful work...I appreciate your guts!
6/3/07 8:51 PM
Seaspur said...
You deserve a standng ovation! Fabulous job on your first project, I'm impressed.
6/3/07 8:10 PM
Liana said...
Very nice, and I will echo others who have similarly been amazed that this is your first project. What a challenge, and you met it beautifully.
6/3/07 8:02 PM
Re Becca said...
wow, your first project! This is great. My first project was a pillow. You did pick a challenge to start with, but it looks great.
6/3/07 7:55 PM
MissCelie said...
Your FIRST sewing project? I have this magazine and have been sewing for 15 years and am at a complete and total loss. You are amazing.
6/3/07 7:34 PM
coolobreeze said...
Impressive!
6/3/07 7:19 PM
SarahWeb said...
You said FIRST sewing project? I think you have a great sewing future to look forward to. Many experienced sewers shy away from projects with drafting to be done and sewing methods to be worked out. You have a lovely dress there to enjoy and be proud of.
6/3/07 7:09 PM
ndesimon said...
Holy COW, congratulations on a really great first project and review. Looking forward to more!
6/3/07 6:56 PM
Kay Y said...
WOW - is this really your very first sewing project?? You sure do jump right into the deep end! Not so much the design per se, but the fact you had to draft the pattern, and then sew it up with basically no instructions. Congratulations - You have done wonderful work on this. Don't worry about the ripping - I have been sewing for 30+ years and my seam ripper and I have a close relationship...
6/3/07 6:51 PM
slanden99 said...
I'm really impressed that this is your first sewing project. The dress looks beautiful.
6/3/07 6:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2952

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 37509-1005

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

More Info