SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1313 (1960s Nina Ricci Suit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1252 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/07 7:46 PM
Last Updated:6/5/07 12:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marji said...
Incredible! Thank you for the wondeful review of a great pattern, and great construction techniques. Isn't it just cliche to say "they don't make 'em like they used to" ? But it's true. Beautiful suit. I'm sure you've enjoyed wearing it.
12/18/07 9:07 AM
Granen said...
Beautifully constructed jacket! How long did it take to make? Much to learn from your comprehensive review. Many thanks for sharing your innovative techniques.
9/23/07 2:11 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Dress and jacket are spectacular.
6/12/07 7:02 PM
marthamyers said...
Wow! What a beautiful jacket & dress. I loved your slide show and the detailed description. Your sewing results are exquisite. Thanks for sharing.
6/11/07 9:43 AM
AnneM said...
Nice style, great details. You did a great job on it.
6/7/07 9:43 AM
KrazyKat said...
This is an amazing piece of work! Thank you for showing the details of the process.
6/6/07 7:02 AM
Sewliz said...
What a cool design, now wonder you had to have it! Wish more of today's patterns would do a great back to go with a great front. Really beautiful and such a great review to go with it, thanks for taking the time!
6/5/07 8:40 PM
Membear said...
Thankyou so much for the great review . I love sewing things like this . Its just a supurb design and your standard of construction is supurb to match .
6/5/07 8:28 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Thank you for the detailed review...I will likely use many of your tips.
6/5/07 8:09 PM
Jan B. said...
Gorgeous as always Kay. Your tailoring is so precise and exact, your reviews so thorough, it gives us a goal for which to reach. Awesome!
6/5/07 7:28 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Outstanding review and gorgeous jacket. You are an inspiration to anyone who aspires to fine sewing. Thanks you so much for review and the wonderful pictures.
6/5/07 3:03 PM
Carolyndh said...
This jacket has great style lines. Thanks for the great review.
6/5/07 3:02 PM
Sigrid. said...
So beautiful! Love all the details and your pictures of it.
6/5/07 1:57 PM
Lee-Lee said...
Amazing and beautiful! Thanks for such helpful information, detailed photos and a chance to admire the gorgeous results.
6/5/07 1:51 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I love those older single-size Vogue patterns. You can get a real sewing education using them. Wonderful jacket with incredible couture details - I'm in awe!
6/5/07 12:04 PM
poplin said...
Wow, Kay. It's gorgeous!
6/5/07 11:57 AM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous. I am envious of your interfacings, where do you order from?
6/5/07 10:00 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket. I love the style
6/5/07 9:38 AM
babydoll said...
this is lovely - please could you tell us whether the balancing the dart was in the enclosed instructions with the pattern or is this something that you, yourself, do independently?
6/5/07 9:08 AM
marjenann said...
Magnifico!!!
6/5/07 8:29 AM
Sic said...
Chic and very well constructed!
6/5/07 8:02 AM
carolynw said...
Wonderful jacket - your excellent work shows through. Oh for the days when Vogue was so much more haute than it is now!! Thanks for such a wonderful review.
6/5/07 7:57 AM
MarilynB said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful as is your work. It's too bad that Vogue doesn't devote as much detail in the instructions of their designer patterns today as they used to in the 1960s-1970s. I'm sure everyone has learned something from your detailed review. Thanks.
6/5/07 7:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
excellent job!
6/5/07 6:08 AM
FloraNature said...
Oh - I've got this in my pattern stash. I was in awe of it until I read your review. It looks fabulous on you!
6/5/07 4:45 AM
Margie T said...
Beautiful work. I am envious!
6/5/07 3:18 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Impeccable tailoring! Love all the pictures. Excellant review.
6/5/07 1:51 AM
KarmenG said...
WOWZZZAA!! Fabulous! What a fun adventure to read about. Congrats on the outstanding results. The jacket looks wonderful. Thanks for documenting the process.
6/5/07 0:25 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you for the wonderful sewing lesson.
6/4/07 11:41 PM
Annette1 said...
I just marvel at your workmanship. It's such a treat to learn from your reviews.
6/4/07 11:26 PM
sewsewboy said...
AMAZING!!!Great looking jacket.It looks very Haute Couture.What about a Chanel-like tweed or boucle?Imagine that.
6/4/07 11:02 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kay, you have always made very elegant clothes and so well!! this is no exeption, vintage patterns sometimes have the most beautiful details.Marita
6/4/07 10:28 PM
Englebert said...
Kay, this jacket is spectacular! I love it!!
6/4/07 9:16 PM
bunz said...
Wow - a real eye-opener on some of your techniques. Thanks for this review.
6/4/07 9:02 PM
susinok said...
That is a fabulous jacket. The detailing is amazing! Wonderful job!
6/4/07 8:04 PM
CarolynGM said...
As always, your tailoring, fit, and construction are all perfection. Thanks so much for the sewing lessons within the review. This seems like such a fun project.
6/4/07 8:03 PM
zinnia said...
Superior sewing, wonderful review with great pictures, and a fabulous vintage jacket! Wow!
6/4/07 7:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

More Info
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

More Info