SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Pamela's Patterns> 104 (the perfect t shirt)

35 more reviews
Viewed 1231 times 
Reviewed by:KathySews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathySewsstar
MI USA
Member since: 10/1/06
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/07 8:42 PM
Last Updated:6/9/07 5:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Welcome! What a great pattern to start knits on :-)
6/4/07 8:59 PM
pinemeadows said...
I agree that this is a great pattern! Glad you got over your fear of sewing knits..they are quite forgiving. Try making your binding a little shorter and it will "snug up" the neckline nicely.
6/4/07 10:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Kathy, you got the fit almost there. We are close to the same size. I sewed the smaller size and used the larger side seam lines. That way you get the depth but not the width so that the shoulders and neckline will fit better. Each time you sew with knits it gets easier.
6/5/07 3:25 AM
Annika said...
Cool! I am just starting on this pattern too!
6/5/07 2:21 PM
AnneM said...
congrats on the top! Yes, you could bring up the sleeve cap a bit, although the way you have it is certainly a typical RTW style. You'll have to get some fun knit fabrics and make a few others.
6/5/07 5:11 PM
KathySews said...
Thanks for the kind words of encouragement.
6/5/07 9:00 PM
martinanne said...
Great job! I have this pattern and like it a lot. You might try going down a size just in the neck and shoulders. I found a better fit when I did that. My previous version looks like yours which is plenty fine and I do wear it. But I like the later version even better where the neck and shoulders fit closer.
6/8/07 12:47 PM
cateyesmd said...
I enjoyed reading your review. I'm getting back into sewing and I'm in need of tops all the time so I'll have to give this a try. It's certainly a basic enough pattern to dress up or down depending on the fabric use.
6/9/07 6:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh great, now I have to get another pattern! :o) It's just hard to beat a really nice t-shirt pattern, and you've got one here. Really nice job!
6/12/07 3:50 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Wow -- you inspired me to get this pattern and try it, too. I'm returning to sewing after a long hiatus and am a little shy about knits, so thank you for your good example. Your shirt looks great on you, and I'm going to copy what you did with the smaller neck and shoulder, too. Thanks for your detailed review.
8/19/07 3:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Simplicity 2642

photo
by: anncie1

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now