Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 115 (Inset Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1273 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/07 4:52 PM
Last Updated:6/5/07 4:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
edube said...
Beautiful..and inspiring. I've got to get going on my own now!
6/5/07 4:58 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely fabric. This is a muslin?! It looks very very nice on you. Definitely wearable.
6/5/07 5:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, boy, you have a new career: fashion model! This top looks REALLY nice on you, and it REALLY ticks me off, because I made this for myself and ended up throwing it out (I think). :o) I made mine out of a black horizontal ribbed (very small ribs) silk and tied it with a black/white polka dot ribbon. Mine just looked awful on me ... droopy, shapeless ... but yours (even your muslin) is a definite keeper. Maybe I'll try again -- ha! -- in a smaller size. :o) Thanks for the inspiring review!
6/5/07 5:32 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is so beautiful.
6/5/07 5:41 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
This is really pretty. I cant believe it's a muslin, I love the fabric.
6/5/07 6:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
I would have never guessed that this is a muslin. It looks great. Wear it! Can't wait to see the next one.
6/5/07 6:35 PM
hildy said...
I think you guys read her comment in correctly. I believe she said that she made this out of polyester and also bought inexpensive muslin. The muslin probably was for the test run. Am I right Clin?
6/5/07 7:03 PM
Englebert said...
Beautiful!
6/5/07 8:04 PM
jlongo said...
I have been eyeing this pattern...looks great on you, nicely sewn and so glad you put a shot of the back up...it makes the jacket...PS your backside isn't ample!
6/5/07 8:22 PM
nicegirl said...
I love your jazz hands in the back pic. `-) I think this style is really nice on you.
6/5/07 9:29 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful top! I think your fabric really makes it.
6/5/07 9:31 PM
sewbehind said...
That is so pretty on you. A keeper for sure.
6/5/07 10:44 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I love what you've done with this pattern, clin; it looks great - front AND back!
6/6/07 3:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
My first reaction to the pattern was "bleh". But seeing your jacket made up in it as opened my mind to rethink this as a potentially nice pattern. Perhaps it is the fabric but this is very nice. Lovely fabric, so summery looking. Looks good on you.
6/6/07 5:58 AM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, this really is lovely. I think the fabric you've chosen gives the garment a floaty, feminine look that will be perfect for summer. You have nothing to worry about with your back view - there is nothing ample there at all! Your review is very helpful and has certainly given me some inspiration. Yes, I also think this pattern has possibilities for being creative and I can't wait to see what else you do with it!
6/6/07 6:37 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow...beautiful! Your muslin turned out great. Love the fabric. :)
6/6/07 8:47 AM
xela said...
Very smart looking-cool and flowy. Just what I'm looking for for summer. Thanks for a great review.
6/6/07 9:15 AM
moss said...
wow! that looks really fantastic! Front and back are both very flattering!
6/6/07 9:20 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
this looks great on you. very very nice. I see what you mean though, it definitely lets the fabric choice shine. For the fall, you would definitely want to increase the fabric wt.
6/6/07 10:03 AM
carolynw said...
Hildy this is the muslin - the fabric I picked up for next to nothing and decided to use for a test run on this pattern - it worked out well enough so it is a "wearable muslin" Annette I will bet anything you cut yours in L or XL making it way too big for you and resulting in the shapeless thing you say you got. Am not kidding this is loose - I can overlap the CF by at least 4" before it even starts to touch my waist - I think I could cut a S and get away with it. Hope you can find your pattern and try again.
6/6/07 2:27 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is very lovely and feminine. It looks great on you.
6/6/07 6:45 PM
jhansby said...
I love your jacket! Looking at the pattern I wouldn't have expected your result, but the fabric choice is great and it looks absolutely lovely!! Nice job!!
6/7/07 7:38 AM
AnneM said...
I've not particularly liked that style, but I guess I was wrong. It looks very nice. Great job.
6/7/07 11:06 AM
Frozzy said...
This looks like it came out of an expensive RTW catalog - great paired with pretty top underneath. Beautiful!
6/7/07 11:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5756 Misses Skirt
photo
Review by mimi g. on 3/9/12
Read Review

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1812
photo
Review by Sblk211 on 8/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us