SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 115 (Inset Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1279 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/07 4:52 PM
Last Updated:6/5/07 4:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
edube said...
Beautiful..and inspiring. I've got to get going on my own now!
6/5/07 4:58 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely fabric. This is a muslin?! It looks very very nice on you. Definitely wearable.
6/5/07 5:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, boy, you have a new career: fashion model! This top looks REALLY nice on you, and it REALLY ticks me off, because I made this for myself and ended up throwing it out (I think). :o) I made mine out of a black horizontal ribbed (very small ribs) silk and tied it with a black/white polka dot ribbon. Mine just looked awful on me ... droopy, shapeless ... but yours (even your muslin) is a definite keeper. Maybe I'll try again -- ha! -- in a smaller size. :o) Thanks for the inspiring review!
6/5/07 5:32 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is so beautiful.
6/5/07 5:41 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
This is really pretty. I cant believe it's a muslin, I love the fabric.
6/5/07 6:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
I would have never guessed that this is a muslin. It looks great. Wear it! Can't wait to see the next one.
6/5/07 6:35 PM
hildy said...
I think you guys read her comment in correctly. I believe she said that she made this out of polyester and also bought inexpensive muslin. The muslin probably was for the test run. Am I right Clin?
6/5/07 7:03 PM
Englebert said...
Beautiful!
6/5/07 8:04 PM
jlongo said...
I have been eyeing this pattern...looks great on you, nicely sewn and so glad you put a shot of the back up...it makes the jacket...PS your backside isn't ample!
6/5/07 8:22 PM
nicegirl said...
I love your jazz hands in the back pic. `-) I think this style is really nice on you.
6/5/07 9:29 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful top! I think your fabric really makes it.
6/5/07 9:31 PM
sewbehind said...
That is so pretty on you. A keeper for sure.
6/5/07 10:44 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I love what you've done with this pattern, clin; it looks great - front AND back!
6/6/07 3:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
My first reaction to the pattern was "bleh". But seeing your jacket made up in it as opened my mind to rethink this as a potentially nice pattern. Perhaps it is the fabric but this is very nice. Lovely fabric, so summery looking. Looks good on you.
6/6/07 5:58 AM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, this really is lovely. I think the fabric you've chosen gives the garment a floaty, feminine look that will be perfect for summer. You have nothing to worry about with your back view - there is nothing ample there at all! Your review is very helpful and has certainly given me some inspiration. Yes, I also think this pattern has possibilities for being creative and I can't wait to see what else you do with it!
6/6/07 6:37 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow...beautiful! Your muslin turned out great. Love the fabric. :)
6/6/07 8:47 AM
xela said...
Very smart looking-cool and flowy. Just what I'm looking for for summer. Thanks for a great review.
6/6/07 9:15 AM
moss said...
wow! that looks really fantastic! Front and back are both very flattering!
6/6/07 9:20 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
this looks great on you. very very nice. I see what you mean though, it definitely lets the fabric choice shine. For the fall, you would definitely want to increase the fabric wt.
6/6/07 10:03 AM
carolynw said...
Hildy this is the muslin - the fabric I picked up for next to nothing and decided to use for a test run on this pattern - it worked out well enough so it is a "wearable muslin" Annette I will bet anything you cut yours in L or XL making it way too big for you and resulting in the shapeless thing you say you got. Am not kidding this is loose - I can overlap the CF by at least 4" before it even starts to touch my waist - I think I could cut a S and get away with it. Hope you can find your pattern and try again.
6/6/07 2:27 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is very lovely and feminine. It looks great on you.
6/6/07 6:45 PM
jhansby said...
I love your jacket! Looking at the pattern I wouldn't have expected your result, but the fabric choice is great and it looks absolutely lovely!! Nice job!!
6/7/07 7:38 AM
AnneM said...
I've not particularly liked that style, but I guess I was wrong. It looks very nice. Great job.
6/7/07 11:06 AM
Frozzy said...
This looks like it came out of an expensive RTW catalog - great paired with pretty top underneath. Beautiful!
6/7/07 11:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
Contest 509-1015

photo
by: Miss Fairc...

Review