Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4792 (Retro 1957 Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1971 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/07 9:19 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty dress. I always love the things you sew. You have a wonderful flare for colour.
6/5/07 9:35 PM
Linda G said...
CUTE!!!
6/5/07 9:37 PM
JuliaS said...
I like your zipper method here. Do you do this a lot? I hate hand stitching down a lining or facing to a zipper tape inside a garment.
6/5/07 11:13 PM
Sharon M said...
This think it is very cute on you! I thought I recognized that fabric. And that's so funny about the pin! Maybe they thought it was a design element.
6/5/07 11:16 PM
cindy-lou said...
Man, I love what this fabric looks like in a vintage style! AND-- I am bookmarking this so I can pull up your zipper method. I sure could have used this earlier today when I made the inside sipper of my latest Cabo look like s@#* . You do such nice work!
6/6/07 0:22 AM
Tez said...
Gorgeous! I always love your dresses. Thanks for the zip tip. It makes a really nice finish.
6/6/07 1:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely! Really like the dress, great fabric.
6/6/07 6:03 AM
MissCelie said...
I quite like the dress, but agree with the bra issue. I am a little upset that you continue to churn things out as I putter through one project at a time.
6/6/07 7:11 AM
KrystalL said...
Very colorful and fun!
6/6/07 8:41 AM
carolynw said...
Another lovely dress for you - I do hope you can solve the bra issue - this dress deserves to be worn a lot!!
6/6/07 9:10 AM
moss said...
That dress is really cute but I think the front neckline overwhelms you a little. It is too high or something, in my opinion.
6/6/07 9:17 AM
Tiner W said...
Sweet! I've been trying to justify ordering that fabric. The dress is adorable--thanks for the warning about the low back!
6/6/07 9:34 AM
Hilary said...
Well, its a cute dress, and I think it looks nice on you! And that is so funny about the pin!! ROFLOL-at least you didn't stick yourself with it! :o)
6/6/07 12:02 PM
slanden99 said...
It's a cute dress. I think most of the shape-problem you mentioned is because of the sash around the waist (sashes and belts are for the lucky few that have tiny waists). Try taking off the sash to see if that flatters you better. The colors are great on you and the dress looks very well made.
6/6/07 5:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Your dress reviews are all so inspiring. I really like your zipper tip, too. I'm going to give that a try. Thanks!
6/6/07 6:29 PM
EveS said...
Seriously cute dress and great fabric!! I've paused over it on their site several times. I wonder if any of your fashion forward friends will show up with strategically placed pins at the next party...
6/6/07 8:26 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks all! EveS--roflol. That is such a funny image. Slanden--the sash is there to give me any shape at all. Without it the waist looks so bad I couldn't even bear to take any pics to demonstrate.
6/6/07 9:03 PM
candyo said...
RE: bra issue: maybe you could try that new 100 ways bra from Victoria's Secret?
6/7/07 0:25 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, NiceGirl! How could have I missed this breathtaking dress (I had to click on the thumbnail in the margin!)? You're a living doll! This dress seems so hip this season! You convinced me to take a look at this pattern!
4/2/08 11:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 9782 baby layette
photo
Review by mymehigan on 1/10/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2984 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 2984 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2685 Pattern( Size OneSize )
Simplicity 2685 Pattern( Size OneSize )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2659
photo
Review by josie e on 11/4/09
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us