Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Suitability: 5500 (Womans Collarless Show Jacket) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 2127 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:PrairieTides
photo
About PrairieTidesstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 1/25/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:08 AM
Last Updated:2/3/03 2:56 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kitty said...
How marvelous !! My family in Devonshire keeps horses, and my cousins are both equestrians. I never knew these patterns were available !!
2/1/03 4:13 AM
kerina said...
Your jacket is really lovely, and the fabric you used works so well. I can't wait to have the skill to do stuff like this. I also love the idea that there is an equestrian pattern company out there. Thanks for the review!
2/1/03 9:28 AM
mudcat said...
The jacket looks great and it goes so well with your horse. :)
2/1/03 1:30 PM
Diane E said...
WS, this is a beautiful jacket and is so well-made! You and your horse are beautiful, too. Thanks for the detailed review and thanks for pointing out this pattern line (which I do not need, but maybe I'll just go take a little look-see anyway......)
2/1/03 2:26 PM
Mel.J said...
I can see the picture now, sometimes the online photo albums are unavailable for maintenance.
2/1/03 8:19 PM
Teri said...
Thanks for the review. I have this pattern in my stash, but I haven't made it up yet. I can't see your picture so I will check back later. Nice to know that there is another horsey person at PR!
2/1/03 10:52 PM
PrairieTides said...
I get the "this page is not available" message sometimes too. If I refresh, it shows up. Thanks for all the nice comments!
2/1/03 11:48 PM
Teri said...
Still no luck with the picture :-(
2/2/03 1:26 PM
http mom said...
Thank You so much for this review! My daughter is an avid rider and it costs me a small fortune to keep her in proper riding attire. I was always worried to make one of these patterns. Now I think I may give it a try. Have you made any of the breeches from this company? Are they difficult? Many Thanks!
2/2/03 7:04 PM
http mom said...
PS Oh yes, I forgot! I can not see you picture if you have time...please email it to me. My addy is: chaven@attbi.com Thanks!
2/2/03 7:09 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Beautiful Jacket, thanks for the alt. pics so we could see it!!
2/3/03 2:45 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Very nice jacket. I really liked the picture of you and your horse.
2/3/03 7:23 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh, I love it! What a classic jacket, even for those of us who don't ride!
2/3/03 10:03 AM
Teri said...
Thanks for fixing the picture link. I love your jacket. I have made the chaps from this pattern company. They turned out great!
2/3/03 1:19 PM
Mary Vogt said...
It looks great! I'm curious, what makes it specifically equestrian?
2/3/03 6:47 PM
PrairieTides said...
On what makes Suitability's patterns specifically equestrian from their website: "It's not the sewing - it's the fitting. Many of today's fashions are loose-fitting and nonconstructed. Most riding apparel, especially show apparel, is close-fitting and has very rigid requirements for sleeve length, hem length, etc." When you are showing, you want to judge to be able to see your body position, so you need close fitting clothes that look good while sitting, allow your arms and shoulders to move freely, and are comfortable. You don't want a jacket to ride up and show your back, or be so long that you end up sitting on it. The front on these jackets is raised just enough to give a peek at your belt buckle, and the back covers the belt loops. Hope that explains it a little! I'm not making show clothes, I just like the style (western stores charge $80-$200 for a jacket like this). Jean Hardy also has equestrian patterns.
2/3/03 10:53 PM
Charmaine said...
Lots of personality - you, your horse and your jacket. The pictures are lovely. Thanks for sharing the information on what makes these patterns equestrian. That makes good sense and is interesting know.
2/4/03 0:48 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Your jacket is beautiful and you look so beautiful in it! I don't think I'll ever have the need for equestrian clothing but I have enjoyed seeing yours and reading your review. How lucky that you have your own horse. :-)
2/4/03 8:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 3906
photo
Review by jessika on 6/22/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5661
photo
Review by JenYard on 1/1/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7966 Pattern
Burda 7966 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3807 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3807 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us