SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Patrones Magazine> 252-53 (Calvin Klein Dress)

Viewed 2068 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/07 9:34 PM
Last Updated:7/24/07 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Ummm, I hope you'll translate my blouse for me. Si? Maybe I need to throw a dress-up party, you can schlep to Baltimore and wear your amazing dress. Or, you can *give* me your dress and I'll wear it all over town. Even to Giant.
6/6/07 9:55 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab dress! You looked a million dollars all dolled up. :)
6/6/07 11:18 PM
Seaspur said...
Gorgeous dress, fantastic review!
6/7/07 0:34 AM
Lisa Merry said...
Wow, your dress is so pretty and ethereal and the comparison shot is great! Haha, I think you succeeded in making your singleness a great mystery!!
6/7/07 0:52 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, what a wonderful dress. Thanks for the very thorough review. Your dress looks absolutely gorgeous on you, love the colour.
6/7/07 3:26 AM
HenriettenDK said...
I doubt you'll be able to stay single for long with that dress and that sense of humor...Love the pic, you look better than the original!
6/7/07 4:43 AM
Sic said...
Nice work! The color is stunning on you!
6/7/07 7:47 AM
EveS said...
Good grief, I sometimes have a hard time deciphering ENGLISH directions!!! Very breezy, pretty...and mysterious!! ;)
6/7/07 8:21 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I love reading your reviews! The dress is gorgeous and your comparison picture was so fun - great modeling job! ;-) You're not going to be single for long wearing that "million dollar" dress - thanks for the fun and informative review! :-)
6/7/07 8:31 AM
JuliaS said...
LOL! I love your shot with the magazine picture. :) This turned out really fantastic.
6/7/07 8:32 AM
cindy-lou said...
Now, THAT'S a dress! Wowsie-wow. Part of its beauty is that it looks deceptively simple-- but it's not (as your review illustrates beautifully). Yes, you've gotta wear that one again. And again. (BTW, I bet at the party, single YOU walked in and all the married guys stared, mouths agape, and all their wives got secretly pi**ed that you looked so hot...) ;)
6/7/07 8:56 AM
AnneM said...
You really are too cute. Great job on your review! Great finished outfit for the party. You definitely live a different lifestyle than I do; people I know wear jeans to birthday parties. I like your outfit much better.
6/7/07 9:42 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress and great review!
6/7/07 10:06 AM
OP Gal said...
Wonderful review. Thanks for all the details. You look as fabulous as the model in your dress. Your "perpetual singleness" is truly a mystery. With your sense of humor, sense of style and beauty, you're sure to be stitching up that wedding dress soon!
6/7/07 10:52 AM
mochalover said...
Nicegirl I'm sure you felt like a million bucks because you definitely looked like it. Your dress is amazing!!!
6/7/07 11:38 AM
akazukinchan said...
I just love the comparison shot. Thanks to your review I want to check out these Patrones magazines.
6/7/07 1:49 PM
christine A said...
Wow how cute. It looks very comfortable too. You must have huge closets cause you sure sew up a storm! And everything is so cute!
6/7/07 3:36 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I love the dress and it looks a great deal like the one you were copying, except on her the straps are attached further back. When I saw it with the shrug, you look like a million bucks.
6/7/07 5:08 PM
bunz said...
Gor-jass!!
6/7/07 6:52 PM
carolynw said...
I love this dress and I can see it really took you some time to figure it out - but I would say it was well worth it!
6/7/07 7:16 PM
Soliel said...
Interesting....very chic!
6/7/07 9:35 PM
twistedangel said...
WOW!! That turned out great!!
6/7/07 11:02 PM
Karen6790 said...
You look fabulous in pink! This is such a fun dress, and a great result for having such inscrutable instructions.
6/7/07 11:12 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow! a fabulous copying job, a fabulous job putting it together (particularly like the lining the back), and fabulous results..
6/8/07 3:35 AM
dingyadi said...
that is lovely. You've done a fantastic job. You look fabulous in it. I've recently ordered my first Patrones magazine thru the internet so I'm interested in seeing what it is like.
6/26/07 1:13 PM
janella said...
i want to come to a Cidell/nicegirl burrito&fabric shopping meet!... Let's do one in London :)
7/5/07 4:09 PM
VtMartha said...
Wow! I like this one even better!
7/24/07 2:54 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
An old curtain!??! It is fab-u-lous!! You are going to be the best dressed girl in Greece!
7/24/07 2:59 PM
lisaquilts said...
Excellent! Just stunning!
7/24/07 4:48 PM
cindy-lou said...
OOOH! OOOH! two fab dresses. Gotta put 'em in the contest, girl!
7/24/07 4:52 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Like Cindy-Lou, my first reaction to your dress was oo oo oo oo OOOOO! How unfair that you got all the sewing-cleverness genes while the rest of us have to sit back in awe at your fabulosity.
7/24/07 5:03 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...another great dress...I love the print one in the pic and maybe like it better than the pink! Who knows - both are lovely.
7/24/07 5:04 PM
sewbehind said...
I love everything about this version. Cut, colour, fabric. It looks good on you!
7/24/07 6:18 PM
MissCelie said...
Wow. That's all I can say. Wow.
7/24/07 9:14 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Two great looking dresses.
7/24/07 10:22 PM
Karen6790 said...
Love the fabric combination on this one - this is definitely a great pattern, it works well in both fabrics, which to me is always the proof. You're going to get your Greek shipping heir yet on this vacation!
7/24/07 10:23 PM
greenmommie said...
Those colors just pop on you! Love the dress
7/24/07 11:19 PM
kiddo said...
Fab dress!!!
7/24/07 11:27 PM
MissCelie said...
double post
7/25/07 6:52 AM
megp47 said...
Fantastic fabric! What a find.
7/26/07 6:50 AM
aunt saidee said...
All I can add is: STUNNING!!!! Incredible work and wondrous results. You're having so much fun it ought to be illegal!
7/27/07 3:09 AM
Nancy K said...
I love seeing your adventurous style. I like this new version a lot. Great use of complimentary fabrics!
7/30/07 1:52 PM
Nancy K said...
I love seeing your adventurous style. I like this new version a lot. Great use of complimentary fabrics!
7/30/07 1:53 PM
megansimone said...
I want that magazine! I love both your dresses! Brilliant!
7/31/07 1:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

brerrabbit.com Mimi G

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1042

photo
by: jent

Review