SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1923 times 
Reviewed by:Melody
photo

 
 
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/07 5:27 PM
Last Updated:6/7/07 5:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
You did a fabulous job fitting this dress! But I understand the comfort thing...doesn't matter how great it looks, if you don't *feel* comfortable, it hangs in the closet... Still, great job!
6/7/07 5:35 PM
said...
I enjoyed your review and I absolutely love the fabric.
6/7/07 5:45 PM
Eia said...
This dress looks wonderful on you. Excellent job of fitting.
6/7/07 6:21 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Lovely dress! I don't think at all that it looks too rectangular on you. Quite the contrary. You look shapely and sexy - enough so that you might bear some discomfort now and then to look so fabulous!
6/7/07 6:24 PM
purpleseamstress said...
This dress looks awesome of you!
6/7/07 6:28 PM
causticmuse said...
I have this pattern, too, and plan on making it sometime this summer. Thanks for writing such a thorough review. I hope mine comes out half as well as yours!
6/7/07 6:47 PM
carolynw said...
Nice dress - love the idea of additional "core" support - think I need that for sure!
6/7/07 7:08 PM
PegL said...
I commented on your blog but I'll say again here -- your dress looks wonderful!
6/7/07 7:11 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Melody :)))
6/7/07 7:37 PM
KiwiWendy said...
gorgeous dress, and you look great!
6/7/07 7:50 PM
zinnia said...
Beautiful dress!
6/7/07 7:54 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress! I like your idea of using powernet for the midriff section.
6/7/07 7:57 PM
Lynnelle said...
Melody you did an awesome job. That dress looks fabulous on you. You sew girl!
6/7/07 9:14 PM
Soliel said...
Thank you for the excellent review. I am glad you have such a loving husband.
6/7/07 9:31 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Melody, the dress looks GREAT! Don't be uncomfortable, wear it and look fabulous!
6/7/07 11:54 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Good idea on the powernet, and you did improve it a lot by taking it in. Wait a bit, I think this one will grow on you because you do look fabulous in it :-).
6/8/07 3:21 AM
Suesews said...
Absolutely fantastic!
6/8/07 3:56 AM
Lovestosew said...
Thanks for the review. I was planning on making this dress, but after seeing it done, I'm not so sure. I think the whole thing would have worked if the skirt had more volume. Just a thought. Thanks again.
6/8/07 6:47 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress and fabric. Beautiful fabrics, BTW......I checked out your site. :-).
6/8/07 9:49 AM
Beve said...
Great looking dress. Wonderful match of pattern and fabric and very becoming to you!
6/8/07 9:56 AM
artist1lisa said...
This dress is fantastic.You did a wonderful job with the fitting.The fabric chioce is very flattering.You go ,girl.
6/8/07 9:59 AM
coolobreeze said...
Very pretty, Melody. Do you know whether Fashionista Fabrics will be re-stocking this fabric?
6/8/07 10:05 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You absolutely ROCK that dress!
6/8/07 10:35 AM
angie.a said...
Love it! "I left off the sleeve, because it's hot outside." Hehe...that cracked me up ;) I have this pattern too...now I'm more motivated to sew it up! Looks great!
6/8/07 10:43 AM
crisford said...
Beautiful! Love the print and it looks comfortable... I hope you will decide to wear it-- you look wonderful!
6/8/07 3:06 PM
nicegirl said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself here. You look fantastic!
6/8/07 6:55 PM
Melody said...
You guys are so nice, I like the dress, I'll give it a shot, I have a party to go to next week and this is the top contender. Coolobreeze, unfortunately that fabric is completely unavailable but there's good stuff coming in all the time and who knows it may pop up again.
6/8/07 9:32 PM
maryfrana said...
This looks fabulous. Love the fabric.
6/9/07 10:40 AM
Charlene McGill said...
You did an excellent job fitting yourself. The dress is cut and fits you well. I'm a FF girl and always been afraid to wear my arms out.
6/9/07 1:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
First look, wow.....you're a knockout! You look fabulous in your new dress! Nice colors and super fit! Wow again!
6/10/07 11:12 AM
CynthiaSue said...
You did a great job. Looks beautiful! Very nice fit.
6/14/07 10:38 PM
SewTwin said...
Whoa, wait! How can you have be that small from the waist down, and that "well endowed" from the waist up..Sorry, as md DS said, I was at the end of the line on boobs. This is def a "Parrty Envy Dress". I like your idea on powernet, support without the girdle!,.I will try that on some of mine!Oh, the shoes are a great match..
6/27/07 2:51 AM
AnneM said...
Hey, I have this pattern! Great job, again, on fit. I think the shirring if flatering on you. Great shoes for the dress, also.
7/6/07 7:46 PM
ariesluv4u said...
This looks great on you. I love the print. I reminds me of fall and the leaves getting ready to fall.
10/10/07 9:31 PM
Legal.Dealer said...

8/6/08 2:40 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Everybody and their sister seems to have drawn a lot of inspiration from your coverage of what all you did for the dress pattern. Please count me as one of them. I've bought my "muslin" poly knit and with your experience/encouragement - I['m going to try it!
8/8/08 3:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review