SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4848 (Swimsuits and Sarong)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1366 times 
Reviewed by:PatCSM
photo

 
 
About PatCSMstar
Member since: 5/8/07
Reviews: 47 (patterns: 36)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/07 5:28 AM
Last Updated:6/10/07 5:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Deedaloos said... (7/27/08 9:50 PM) Reply
i recently purchased this pattern and was thrilled to see a few reviews. i am glad you noted changing the elastic in the waist as I had thought that might be a good idea as well as widening the straps as i have a large bust so i like to have a little support there! thanks! great job!! i love sewing w/ the knits on my serger!!
PatCSM said... (6/12/07 7:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for your words of encouragement and advice. I've been looking at Kwik Sew 3072 but think it would take a lot of courage to wear it the first time in public! Touran, do you have a pattern number I can look at that is a 40's style?
fuzzygalore said... (6/11/07 5:02 PM) Reply
Love the blowing wind, probably looks just that dashing in the water :-). Sounds awfully complicated though - 34 steps!! I second the suggestion to look to KwikSew, they fit nicely and are much more straightforward. Still, this is a great suit and I hope you're very proud of yourself.
Suesews said... (6/11/07 4:40 AM) Reply
Beautiful blue and great review. Thanks!
touran said... (6/10/07 2:01 PM) Reply
Great job. I've learnt not to wear looser skirts on suits in aqua classes. They will always float up. Maybe a 40's style bottom would be more helpful - provide modesty and stay in place.
Irene Q said... (6/10/07 11:51 AM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review! It's a cute suit, although it sounds like it should be more snug for exercising - fabric can really stretch when you get in the water!
sewbehind said... (6/10/07 10:10 AM) Reply
Cute suit! Swimsuits are not always the easiest project. For aquasize, I would recommend a regular styled suit. Try Kwik Sew patterns as they have many styles. There is a swimwear book that is just fantastic, you can try many different variables. Thanks for the review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Sew Beautiful Magazine 00-0000-00

photo
by: goosegirl

Review
Simplicity 2652

photo
by: Decophile

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Pattern Details