SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4848 (Swimsuits and Sarong)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1353 times 
Reviewed by:PatCSM
photo

 
 
About PatCSMstar
MS USA
Member since: 5/8/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/07 5:28 AM
Last Updated:6/10/07 5:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deedaloos said...
i recently purchased this pattern and was thrilled to see a few reviews. i am glad you noted changing the elastic in the waist as I had thought that might be a good idea as well as widening the straps as i have a large bust so i like to have a little support there! thanks! great job!! i love sewing w/ the knits on my serger!!
7/27/08 9:50 PM
PatCSM said...
Thanks for your words of encouragement and advice. I've been looking at Kwik Sew 3072 but think it would take a lot of courage to wear it the first time in public! Touran, do you have a pattern number I can look at that is a 40's style?
6/12/07 7:44 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Love the blowing wind, probably looks just that dashing in the water :-). Sounds awfully complicated though - 34 steps!! I second the suggestion to look to KwikSew, they fit nicely and are much more straightforward. Still, this is a great suit and I hope you're very proud of yourself.
6/11/07 5:02 PM
Suesews said...
Beautiful blue and great review. Thanks!
6/11/07 4:40 AM
touran said...
Great job. I've learnt not to wear looser skirts on suits in aqua classes. They will always float up. Maybe a 40's style bottom would be more helpful - provide modesty and stay in place.
6/10/07 2:01 PM
Irene Q said...
Congratulations on your first review! It's a cute suit, although it sounds like it should be more snug for exercising - fabric can really stretch when you get in the water!
6/10/07 11:51 AM
sewbehind said...
Cute suit! Swimsuits are not always the easiest project. For aquasize, I would recommend a regular styled suit. Try Kwik Sew patterns as they have many styles. There is a swimwear book that is just fantastic, you can try many different variables. Thanks for the review.
6/10/07 10:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Made By Rae Washi Dress

photo
by: meleliza

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

More Info