Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4032 (Misses Jacket and Vest) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1450 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/07 9:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lunar_C said...
It still looks like a lovely jacket so even though you wouldn't recommend....I've got this one already : ( I'll take your alteration advice onboard when I attempt my jacket. Thanks
6/7/07 10:00 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful. I like your overlocked edges.
6/7/07 10:13 PM
creative1 said...
Thanks, Belinda, for your review! Love your jacket. I've been eyeing this pattern for quiet a while. There is a Simplicity pattern sale at Spotlight at the moment. I'm off to the shop.
6/7/07 10:24 PM
Lori V said...
Once again a beautiful garment, Belinda. Thanks for the very helpful review.
6/7/07 11:07 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Fabtabulous jacket!! I've been looking forward to seeing it finished and you don't disappoint (as usual).
6/7/07 11:55 PM
jewelea said...
An excellent review and a very attractive jacket.
6/8/07 0:34 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Gorgeous! Much nicer than the Woolies polar fleece jacket I have on at the moment to keep me warm!
6/8/07 0:36 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very beautiful end result. Too bad it takes so much to get there sometimes but we will all benefit from your experience. Great review.
6/8/07 0:48 AM
Zaneta said...
Wow..this is a gorgeous jacket!
6/8/07 1:59 AM
Vonnevo said...
Superb in every way Belinda ! It reminds me of a similar imported from Germany, jacket, I spotted while snoop shopping in Noosa.
6/8/07 3:05 AM
brrmm said...
Looks fabulous and well worth all the effort.
6/8/07 6:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket.
6/8/07 6:58 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! A beautiful jacket and much better than the pattern photos too. Your jacket is so impressive, but those pattern photos are a snooze. Time for a photo swap on that pattern :) .
6/8/07 7:05 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, I think it's wonderful. Love the color.
6/8/07 8:50 AM
Beve said...
Beautiful job! Lovely jacket--and better than RTW!
6/8/07 9:51 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful jacket Belinda!
6/8/07 10:51 AM
Erica B. said...
Great looking jacket! I love how you did the edges with the Madeira thread.
6/8/07 11:35 AM
moss said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this! I have the pattern but I don't really want to sew it in fleece and I am not sure what else to sew it in (I don't have serger).. So it is nice to see ideas. :)
6/8/07 12:47 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your jacket is beautiful! I love the details you added with the new collar shape and how you molded the fabric so-to-speak to take the curves of the flounce. The color of the fabric is beautiful as well.
6/8/07 1:42 PM
Nancywin said...
WOW! Great looking jacket. It is so frustrating to have to make that many alterations. Also, I have found that with Simplicity, I'm often better off to go by my underbust measurement and the do the FBA. Thanks for the warning - but you got great results.
6/8/07 8:54 PM
2BSewing said...
What a beautiful jacket. Love the color and the overlocking around the edge. Nice review.
6/8/07 9:08 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, this jacket looks wonderful. Thanks for such a useful review. I've loved the lines and that flounce but I think I'm better off redrafting a TNT fited jacket pattern with these elemens than tackling this pattern after all. I admire our perserverance as well as that great result.
6/9/07 9:30 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Your jacket is beauty, inside and out. Gorgeous. I love the collar.
6/10/07 5:21 PM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous jacket Belinda!
6/10/07 7:21 PM
Karine said...
I'm glad you perservered in spite of your dislikes with the pattern - your end product is lovely. I love the overlocked edges. Nice touch!
6/11/07 10:48 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Great jacket - love the colour!
6/12/07 0:52 AM
LiZ said...
Belinda, your jacket turned out lovely after all your alteratins.
6/12/07 5:44 PM
MareeAlison said...
Great review and jacket Belinda.
6/13/07 4:27 AM
AnneM said...
I'm looking at that picture thinking, that can't be polarfleece! And it isn't. Beautiful. Great job on your alterations.
7/6/07 7:53 PM
fran mc said...
I appreciate the amount of detail about everything that needed to be altered and how it was done.
11/13/07 1:36 AM
Hilary said...
I LOVE your jacket!! Great fabric choice, it looks wonderful. Thanks for all the tips!
11/21/10 5:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Downloadable 08-2012 109 Printed Blouse
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 1/14/14
Read Review

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6843
photo
Review by BettyMike on 7/13/06
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0129 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0129 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2662 Pattern
Burda 2662 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us