Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3417 (Bikini w/ no sew option) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1257 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/07 8:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mendospot said...
Oh, there was a time when I would have worn that. Soooo cute!
6/9/07 1:46 AM
Cristina_TC said...
How beautiful! Compliments!
6/9/07 2:55 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very cute, and you're right it's an excellent option to have a practically no-sew version to encourage the young :-). Swimsuits are almost always cut 'sideways' since stretch usually is along the length, and stretch in this case must go around the body. It's ok, it usually saves fabric :-). And you really should use a ballpoint needle with these fabrics - I can testify that if you don't you'll pretty quickly get runs in the fabric everywhere it's been punctured by the needle :-(. But don't worry, it'll last long enough for her to want another and get to it..
6/9/07 3:45 AM
LauraAnn12 said...
hiya fuzzy~ I did use a ball point needle! I used the appropriate needles in both my serger and my regular machine. I wasn't sure how the needle would work with the weird elastic, but it did just fine. Maybe clear elastic isn't meant to be sewn at all, just encased? I tested it afterwards, and she practicaly hasn't even taken it off....the elastic didn't rip where it was sewn! Mysteries.... :)
6/9/07 11:58 AM
jessika said...
Very cute and what a great style. She looks very pleased. Wow mom you pleased a teen.
6/9/07 1:22 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
What a great swim suit. I have a teenage daughter also, but have been intimidated by swim suit patterns. This one looks doable, though. Thanks for the review.
6/9/07 5:12 PM
KaraKai said...
I never noticed this pattern before and will have to pick it up. My DD is bugging me to make her a swimsuit, but honestly, I'm slightly intimidated. This sounds like a great place to start. Thanks for the review. The suit is adorable.
6/9/07 5:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Paco Peralta Draped Top Draped Top
photo
Review by SewRuth on 11/15/11
Read Review

Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9446 Pattern
Burda 9446 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Art-on-the-Go Kit
photo
Review by khurtdvm on 1/19/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us