SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3417 (Bikini w/ no sew option)

Viewed 1265 times 
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo

 
 
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/07 8:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mendospot said...
Oh, there was a time when I would have worn that. Soooo cute!
6/9/07 1:46 AM
Cristina_TC said...
How beautiful! Compliments!
6/9/07 2:55 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very cute, and you're right it's an excellent option to have a practically no-sew version to encourage the young :-). Swimsuits are almost always cut 'sideways' since stretch usually is along the length, and stretch in this case must go around the body. It's ok, it usually saves fabric :-). And you really should use a ballpoint needle with these fabrics - I can testify that if you don't you'll pretty quickly get runs in the fabric everywhere it's been punctured by the needle :-(. But don't worry, it'll last long enough for her to want another and get to it..
6/9/07 3:45 AM
LauraAnn12 said...
hiya fuzzy~ I did use a ball point needle! I used the appropriate needles in both my serger and my regular machine. I wasn't sure how the needle would work with the weird elastic, but it did just fine. Maybe clear elastic isn't meant to be sewn at all, just encased? I tested it afterwards, and she practicaly hasn't even taken it off....the elastic didn't rip where it was sewn! Mysteries.... :)
6/9/07 11:58 AM
jessika said...
Very cute and what a great style. She looks very pleased. Wow mom you pleased a teen.
6/9/07 1:22 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
What a great swim suit. I have a teenage daughter also, but have been intimidated by swim suit patterns. This one looks doable, though. Thanks for the review.
6/9/07 5:12 PM
KaraKai said...
I never noticed this pattern before and will have to pick it up. My DD is bugging me to make her a swimsuit, but honestly, I'm slightly intimidated. This sounds like a great place to start. Thanks for the review. The suit is adorable.
6/9/07 5:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2010-01

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Simplicity 2400

photo
by: collister4...

Review
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now