SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-113 (Twist Top)

17 more reviews
Viewed 941 times 
Reviewed by:Meredith P
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Meredith Pstar
USA
Member since: 3/26/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/07 9:26 PM
Last Updated:7/27/07 10:56 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Meredith, what a pretty top. I love it and yours makes me want to dig out that untouched Burda WOF pattern, too! p.s. I love your helper!
6/8/07 9:28 PM
ryankckids said...
I double twisted frequently with this top....still don't know how I continue to screw it up! Yours looks fabulous. Re: my WOF "system": I photocopy the picture and line drawing/fabric requirements/instructions of the ones I like, then file the copies with the rest of my patterns. I browse each issue when it comes in, and choose only the ones I think I **really might** make someday.
6/8/07 10:08 PM
tomed said...
You look FAB in this top! I keep my traced WOF patterns in envelopes, labeled by date, pattern #, and size I traced. I'm thinking there may be a better way, but that's just how I started doing it.
6/8/07 10:18 PM
JEF said...
Love your review - your sense of humor is great and so is the top!
6/9/07 1:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely top Meredith. I store my traced patterns in a clear zip lock bag, similar size to the Big 4 envelopes. I print a photo of the garment & line drawing and arrange these on the front and back side of the zip lock bag. Sometimes I also include a scanned & printed instruction sheet and write notes on this same piece of paper.
6/9/07 2:32 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great top! Must Love Dogs is a fun movie, but that appellation went right by me! I have the DVD and will have to watch it again!
6/9/07 8:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your humouress review. I think the top looks great on you.
6/9/07 8:19 AM
QueenZ said...
Nice selection of pattern, style, color...it's you!
6/9/07 9:30 AM
Jane S said...
I too love all the twist tops available out there and this one looks wonderful on you.
6/9/07 9:49 AM
trinicity said...
very beautiful!
6/9/07 1:18 PM
SandraB said...
This top looks great on you. The colour suits you perfectly.
6/9/07 3:19 PM
SarahWeb said...
Meredith, you top looks great on you. By the way, I am about to turn 50, too, and I find myself worrying about the little lumps and rolls. But hey, just cause I don't look twenty, doesn't mean I don't look good. And you look great! Keep making those Burda WOF patterns!
6/10/07 0:38 AM
Karen6790 said...
Very empowering. Great top, great color on you. (It also looks good with your little helper! I have a few of those too). Nice job.
6/11/07 10:18 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Hi Meredith, loved your review, humour helps especially when trying to figure our a BWOF pattern! I too have a helper like yours, problem is Thomas the Tabbycat reclines over my ironing board watching me while I sew. Then I wonder why my ironing has little stripey hairs all over it when I iron..........!! Keep up the reviewing and sewing, I'll be taking notes from you in future. Julia
7/17/07 8:03 AM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for the great review, I love this top, too and have done several versions. I too have the back bulge problem and have a few suggestions: 1) Enlarge back a bit by the pivot and slide method 2) line back with a lightweight sheer stretch mesh or very fine power net (or even self-line if fabric is light enough) or 3) I wear one of those body-slimming camisoles with some of these tops.
7/27/07 3:15 PM
Mufffet said...
That is lovely! Great color on you and so well fitted! Kudos!
7/27/07 3:55 PM
Annette1 said...
You look MAAAAAAAAAAAAVELOUS, Dahling! This can be your va-va-voom top. :o) I swear, I love just about every pattern I see from the Burda World of Fashion magazine. If I thought they had plus sizes, too, I might even invest. Then it would be a question of, would I actually MAKE anything in there, or just enjoy the pictures? If they turned out like yours did here, I think it would be the former.
7/27/07 9:29 PM
ryan's mom said...
Fabulous! I just made the Simplicity twist top version and love mine too! Yep, definitely and empowering shirt :) .
7/28/07 3:52 PM
TalyQ said...
Wonderful top. I am one of those ladies, who couldn't wear this without some modesty panel though =(. As far as the traced patterns. I keep mine in A4 envelopes with Burda issues and model number written on them. Keeping them in the magazines is too risky, since many people thumb through mine frequently.
8/2/07 11:57 AM
QueenZ said...
You are gorgeous! Love that top!
11/17/07 2:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now