Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7488 (Waistcoat) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 1569 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Philip Kime
photo
About Philip Kimestar
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/03 9:10 PM
Last Updated:2/4/03 7:40 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Sounds great! I hope you will post a photo.
2/1/03 10:59 PM
Teri said...
Philip, thanks for the review. It is so nice to get info on mens patterns.
2/1/03 11:00 PM
Philip Kime said...
There should be a picture there now ...
2/2/03 12:02 PM
AnneM said...
Very sharp. Vogue pattern instructions do not seem very good to me; they assume you know a lot of steps, even in their easier patterns. (I have not tried very many of them, though.)
2/2/03 12:44 PM
Capri said...
Nice cut to the pattern- glad you posted a photo. If you sew up any high fashion or unusual men's patterns, I hope you post the reviews!
2/2/03 4:32 PM
http mom said...
Wow! These are both so very handsome! They look exactly period authentic as well. My daughter and I just rewatched the BBC/ A&E production of "Pride and Predjuice" and this reminds me again of the wonderful costume design in this series. You have done a beautiful job with these vests. Bravo!
2/2/03 7:15 PM
Julia Graham said...
Philip, my husband loves vests and I don't have much information about men's vest patterns. I'm really enjoying your reviews! Heavy old brown silk brocade from Edinburgh... how romantic! :-)
2/2/03 9:21 PM
kittykate said...
Wonderful work Philip, I'm going to pick up this pattern the next time Vogue goes on sale based on this review
2/3/03 2:22 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wonderful work, Philip! I love the buttons. Bravo! -Ann
2/4/03 8:04 PM
Skymom said...
I wonder if you could change that collar from a notched collar to a shawl collar? That would solve the problem of the tricky points in a heavy fabric, perhaps. Nice work--I love the look!
2/5/03 12:17 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Philip hi! I like this very much, and since I don't do much sewing for my brother or any other male, I was wondering would you be interested to have two Burda specials for men? If I can find them, I know they are Somewhere! LOL!!!
2/5/03 1:43 PM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Another fantastic vest/waistcoat!
7/11/04 7:47 PM
Kaolyn said...
I also found that the instructions for the lapel and collar on the waistcoat (B) were not clear. I have made many garments with lapels too so this should not have given me so much trouble. I found that not all areas of the pattern were trued up either, but was able to work with it. The result was really beautiful. I made this vest for my daughter's boyfriend who is a violist in an orchestra. Hope he likes it!
11/6/09 0:11 AM
Seanmt97 said...
H. I just want to say, very nice job on the vest. I started making this same vest the other day, but I am stuck on the lapel bit. Vogue patterns are notorious for not being very clear/leaving things out. I was hoping that I could get some help?
11/14/11 5:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 2370
photo
Review by marec on 8/17/12
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

La Mia Boutique Magazine 02-2009-3
photo
Review by Twinset on 11/29/09
Read Review

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1611 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1611 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7234 Pattern
Burda 7234 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us