SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7488 (Waistcoat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1575 times 
Reviewed by:Philip Kime
photo

 
 
About Philip Kimestar
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/03 9:10 PM
Last Updated:2/4/03 7:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seanmt97 said...
H. I just want to say, very nice job on the vest. I started making this same vest the other day, but I am stuck on the lapel bit. Vogue patterns are notorious for not being very clear/leaving things out. I was hoping that I could get some help?
11/14/11 5:08 PM
Kaolyn said...
I also found that the instructions for the lapel and collar on the waistcoat (B) were not clear. I have made many garments with lapels too so this should not have given me so much trouble. I found that not all areas of the pattern were trued up either, but was able to work with it. The result was really beautiful. I made this vest for my daughter's boyfriend who is a violist in an orchestra. Hope he likes it!
11/6/09 0:11 AM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Another fantastic vest/waistcoat!
7/11/04 7:47 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Philip hi! I like this very much, and since I don't do much sewing for my brother or any other male, I was wondering would you be interested to have two Burda specials for men? If I can find them, I know they are Somewhere! LOL!!!
2/5/03 1:43 PM
Skymom said...
I wonder if you could change that collar from a notched collar to a shawl collar? That would solve the problem of the tricky points in a heavy fabric, perhaps. Nice work--I love the look!
2/5/03 12:17 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wonderful work, Philip! I love the buttons. Bravo! -Ann
2/4/03 8:04 PM
kittykate said...
Wonderful work Philip, I'm going to pick up this pattern the next time Vogue goes on sale based on this review
2/3/03 2:22 AM
Julia Graham said...
Philip, my husband loves vests and I don't have much information about men's vest patterns. I'm really enjoying your reviews! Heavy old brown silk brocade from Edinburgh... how romantic! :-)
2/2/03 9:21 PM
http mom said...
Wow! These are both so very handsome! They look exactly period authentic as well. My daughter and I just rewatched the BBC/ A&E production of "Pride and Predjuice" and this reminds me again of the wonderful costume design in this series. You have done a beautiful job with these vests. Bravo!
2/2/03 7:15 PM
Capri said...
Nice cut to the pattern- glad you posted a photo. If you sew up any high fashion or unusual men's patterns, I hope you post the reviews!
2/2/03 4:32 PM
AnneM said...
Very sharp. Vogue pattern instructions do not seem very good to me; they assume you know a lot of steps, even in their easier patterns. (I have not tried very many of them, though.)
2/2/03 12:44 PM
Philip Kime said...
There should be a picture there now ...
2/2/03 12:02 PM
Teri said...
Philip, thanks for the review. It is so nice to get info on mens patterns.
2/1/03 11:00 PM
Georgene said...
Sounds great! I hope you will post a photo.
2/1/03 10:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

New Look 6779

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

More Info