SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7488 (Waistcoat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1574 times 
Reviewed by:Philip Kime
photo

 
 
About Philip Kimestar
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/03 9:10 PM
Last Updated:2/4/03 7:40 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seanmt97 said...
H. I just want to say, very nice job on the vest. I started making this same vest the other day, but I am stuck on the lapel bit. Vogue patterns are notorious for not being very clear/leaving things out. I was hoping that I could get some help?
11/14/11 5:08 PM
Kaolyn said...
I also found that the instructions for the lapel and collar on the waistcoat (B) were not clear. I have made many garments with lapels too so this should not have given me so much trouble. I found that not all areas of the pattern were trued up either, but was able to work with it. The result was really beautiful. I made this vest for my daughter's boyfriend who is a violist in an orchestra. Hope he likes it!
11/6/09 0:11 AM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Another fantastic vest/waistcoat!
7/11/04 7:47 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Philip hi! I like this very much, and since I don't do much sewing for my brother or any other male, I was wondering would you be interested to have two Burda specials for men? If I can find them, I know they are Somewhere! LOL!!!
2/5/03 1:43 PM
Skymom said...
I wonder if you could change that collar from a notched collar to a shawl collar? That would solve the problem of the tricky points in a heavy fabric, perhaps. Nice work--I love the look!
2/5/03 12:17 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wonderful work, Philip! I love the buttons. Bravo! -Ann
2/4/03 8:04 PM
kittykate said...
Wonderful work Philip, I'm going to pick up this pattern the next time Vogue goes on sale based on this review
2/3/03 2:22 AM
Julia Graham said...
Philip, my husband loves vests and I don't have much information about men's vest patterns. I'm really enjoying your reviews! Heavy old brown silk brocade from Edinburgh... how romantic! :-)
2/2/03 9:21 PM
http mom said...
Wow! These are both so very handsome! They look exactly period authentic as well. My daughter and I just rewatched the BBC/ A&E production of "Pride and Predjuice" and this reminds me again of the wonderful costume design in this series. You have done a beautiful job with these vests. Bravo!
2/2/03 7:15 PM
Capri said...
Nice cut to the pattern- glad you posted a photo. If you sew up any high fashion or unusual men's patterns, I hope you post the reviews!
2/2/03 4:32 PM
AnneM said...
Very sharp. Vogue pattern instructions do not seem very good to me; they assume you know a lot of steps, even in their easier patterns. (I have not tried very many of them, though.)
2/2/03 12:44 PM
Philip Kime said...
There should be a picture there now ...
2/2/03 12:02 PM
Teri said...
Philip, thanks for the review. It is so nice to get info on mens patterns.
2/1/03 11:00 PM
Georgene said...
Sounds great! I hope you will post a photo.
2/1/03 10:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Butterick 5824

photo
by: Pamaro

Review
Butterick 5916

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

More Info
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info