SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4976 (Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2346 times 
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/07 7:28 PM
Last Updated:6/10/07 7:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 41 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
65 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSM--Carla said...
Thank you Karla for this thorough and entertaining review! I bought this pattern immediately from your description on the boards. Love the idea of skipping the zipper again--(I took your advice in this regard with the Soho pants also). Darling dress with the color combo! Thanks again. Carla
6/10/07 7:38 PM
BjP said...
Wow....great looking dress in wonderful colors! And, loved your label! Nice to see a review from you again! :)
6/10/07 7:39 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a rare treat indeed -- a review from Karla Kizer! Clever idea to make your own elasticized piping -- I'll try that next time I make anything with a wrap or crossover front. Funny and informative review.
6/10/07 7:40 PM
Zaneta said...
LOVE, LOVE everything about this dress..colour/style/piping just beautiful!
6/10/07 7:42 PM
causticmuse said...
Love the dress and the review! And I think the colors are perfect. (Hurray for $1 bargain fabrics that look like a million bucks when you are done!)
6/10/07 7:51 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful dress - and of course, wonderful review!
6/10/07 7:55 PM
SandraB said...
Karla, I almost fell off the bed laughing. Thanks for a great review. The dress looks lovely.
6/10/07 7:55 PM
ndesimon said...
whoop whoop whoooooop! AB FAB!
6/10/07 7:59 PM
touran said...
Karla - that's beautiful. Lucky DD. I'm really happy to see reviews from you! And it's a great review to boot.
6/10/07 8:17 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress! Great score on the fabric.
6/10/07 8:23 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Jeepers!! I'm even laughing with your Pattern Review!! Can I be adopted?? Your DD is l-u-c-k-y!! Make one fer yerself, 2 eh!!
6/10/07 8:28 PM
EveS said...
I NEEEED this pattern, esp now that I've seen yours made up. Rockin' good dress!!! Thanks for the usual review fun! I gotta get some of those itchy tags...they're PERFECT! :)
6/10/07 8:31 PM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful dress!
6/10/07 8:33 PM
mochalover said...
Love the dress and your review! Thanks Karla.
6/10/07 8:34 PM
Enid E said...
Very nice....nice color combinations...
6/10/07 8:46 PM
beangirl said...
wow, it's so CUTE! I just picked this up to send to the lovely Katharine in Belgium and had some sort of seizure while at the store and bought one for myself too. Er. So I'm so glad to see it on a normal sized person before I destroy mine with multiple cuts and slashes in an attempt to make it magically look like yours when I put in on my DTD. Oh yeah, ETA that I definitnely need some of those tags.
6/10/07 8:46 PM
Melody said...
Wow a Karla review! How fun is that? I love the dress it's absolutely beautiful and it's on my cutting table for immediate consideration. I love your review, pure Karla through and through.
6/10/07 8:51 PM
cboots said...
Great dress; hilarious review, especially the part about the label. Lucky DD!
6/10/07 8:56 PM
MissCelie said...
Ok. This is about the funniest thing I've read on patternreview and just an adorable dress.
6/10/07 9:10 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Love the dress, got a giggle out of the review, thanks Karla, brilliant and entertaining!
6/10/07 9:15 PM
coolobreeze said...
Just beautiful! ... and what a brilliantly written review.
6/10/07 9:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress. Loved the review, but was a wee bit confused about the part where it said, "...the darts were perfectly positioned and sized for my DD." I thought, Whoa, don't have to do a FBA, when it finally dawned on me. Oh well... The review was a hoot.
6/10/07 9:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous everything Karla ! Loved seeing a review from you - and a great one too !
6/10/07 9:26 PM
BeckyC said...
Thank you for the entertaining review Karla! Your DD dress is beautiful, I love the color combination and your label!
6/10/07 9:30 PM
KitnRose said...
Hot! Yeah, those gentlement better worry when your DD comes around ... ah, well, they'll die happy. :)
6/10/07 9:32 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
OMG Karla, that dress is gorgeous and your review a hoot. "So Last Year" or no, I love the color combo and the piping is the *perfect* touch. And that label!! WAH!!!!
6/10/07 9:34 PM
Kay Y said...
What more can I say? I agree with all the others and would love to see more of your sliced-n-diced reviews, because you are funny! You could make $$ selling us those labels too.
6/10/07 11:10 PM
angie.a said...
Bwahahaha...Great dress, but SUPER review!
6/10/07 11:11 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress, I can see why your dd was so impressed. Thanks for the entertaining review.
6/10/07 11:19 PM
cmarie12 said...
Great dress and great review!
6/10/07 11:44 PM
Maychi said...
Wonderful dress! Your DD is very lucky. Thanks for a wonderful and entertaining review!
6/10/07 11:56 PM
gaby said...
WOW, that's so pretty!! Love the color contrast.
6/11/07 1:04 AM
Leora said...
Beautiful dress!
6/11/07 1:19 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Hey Karla, great review,lucky DD.Love the color combo too. What a great person the entertainmet world has missed with you, you always make me crack, LOL!!!! Marita
6/11/07 1:46 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Karla, nice dress. I love this pattern so I wish it would hurry up and hit the pattern books here so I can buy it. It's also nice to see you write a review. It's been a while been reviews!
6/11/07 2:57 AM
Mel.J said...
I love this dress!
6/11/07 3:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This review has made my day! Love your humour. Great looking dress.
6/11/07 6:34 AM
Peggy L said...
After all the other comments - what can I say? Ditto, Ditto! I'll have to get this pattern for my DD.
6/11/07 7:14 AM
LauraM62 said...
Cute dress, great review! Definately have to add this pattern to my wish list!
6/11/07 7:33 AM
AnneM said...
If she gets tired of it, I'm certain you would have some takers on PR for other versions. Great dress. Love the label.
6/11/07 8:04 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That looks fabulous! Very Kara Janx. And hey, cheap fabric isn't necessarily expensive, and I've seen lots of expensive fabrics that are cheap! :) -Ann
6/11/07 8:31 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh Karla, your review is a hoot! I absolutely LOVE the dress! The color combination is so striking and your DD is one lucky gal - will you adopt me???? This looks like an awesome pattern!
6/11/07 8:35 AM
cindyann said...
I love the color combination. I'm sure your daughter is thrilled. Thanks for the wonderfully written review.
6/11/07 9:03 AM
Hilary said...
LOL-What a *great* review Karla!! I love the "generic designer label" ROFLOL!! You did a BEAUTIFUL job on this!! Lovely dress, and very entertaining review :o)
6/11/07 9:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
Stunning dress! Great job, Karla!
6/11/07 12:08 PM
slanden99 said...
Very sharp-looking dress! I love the contrast piping.
6/11/07 12:18 PM
Luckylibbet said...
You get the Oscar for funniest review! Great job on the dress. Do you make DD reciprocate with favors for you?
6/11/07 12:50 PM
Linda G said...
Great dress and wonderful review.
6/11/07 12:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
What an absolutely lovely (although I hope not heartstopping :) ) dress!!!
6/11/07 2:29 PM
Birgitte said...
Fabulous! And funny... and informative! I love the piping, time and effort well spent.
6/11/07 3:12 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Yowza! An outrageous success, it's gorgeous, fabulous... The color combo is killer. Last year? Say it ain't so! It's a classic combo. What a fab pattern too for fitting so well OOTB (envelope) and resuscitating long-lost stash.
6/11/07 4:03 PM
carolynw said...
Love your review - you havesuch a way with words I was laughing. The dress looks wonderful and I am sure DD loves it - now hope not to read of an Angel of Death nurse!!
6/11/07 4:56 PM
Vivienne said...
I'm sure that pretty dress will be well worth a few racing hearts, even to the elderly gents at the hospital!
6/11/07 5:13 PM
Deepika said...
Lovely dress and awesome review (as always!)
6/11/07 7:47 PM
Karla Kizer said...
You have me feeling overwhelmed by all your nice comments. Thank you for the positive feedback; I had forgotten how much fun it is to get "atta-boys" for doing something I love to do.
6/11/07 8:16 PM
Tesla121 said...
great review and the dress is lovely!
6/11/07 9:53 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty dress! I love the color combination. It's so nice to see a review from you Karla (hint, hint!!).
6/12/07 10:09 AM
candyo said...
You are a riot!! We need to hang out sometime! That was so entertaining, and your label had me laughing out loud. thank you! Oh and I love the dress!
6/14/07 9:40 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Love the color combo and your wonderful job on construction. Please post you extremely modified patterns for review. I bet we would all learn a lot from them.
6/23/07 1:27 PM
PhyllisC said...
Karla - you understand surrealism as well as Elsa Schiaparelli! I think this review qualities as performance art. And the dress is stunning too!
6/23/07 1:38 PM
potter said...
This couldn't be any cuter! Great job - wonderful review. (pssssst....who doesn't like a quickie now and then?)
6/23/07 9:26 PM
sherri2sew said...
Not sure I've heard of that designer - Generic? Is she French?
6/24/07 4:41 PM
Meredith P said...
Love your review and the dress! Putting it on my wishlist...
6/24/07 8:06 PM
newlywedws said...
I cracked up at your "generic designer label" too cute! Gorgeous dress
9/17/08 1:01 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Okay, just saw your award for "Funniest Reviews" (or something like that), and although I'm sure I've read review by you before, I'll have to remember to read one every time I need a good laugh. Thaks Carla! Oh, and cute dress too! I also have a 20-something dd.
11/30/08 1:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

No Pattern Used self

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now