SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6487 (Misses Lined Jackets)

2 more reviews
Viewed 709 times 
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo

 
 
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/07 0:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jeanbluecat said...
Sorry that it didn't work out for you. It looks like you did a good job on it though.
6/11/07 7:40 AM
Siriusmom said...
I had all the same problems with this pattern. I thought maybe it was just me having fitting problems with New Look (again), but apparently not. I recut the lining, making a facing instead of a yoke, and put in a pleat for wearing ease but it is still not very comfortable.
6/11/07 9:16 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for sharing your results. I think the jacket looks cute in your picture. I haven't used New Look and will be wary. I look forward to watching your SWAP come together.
6/11/07 9:47 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Sorry it didnt come thru for you...sure love the sunny fabric and braid trim though!
6/11/07 12:00 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the review of this pattern. You may have saved many of us a lot a grief! Your jacket sure looks nice on the hanger. The braid is a nice touch, even if not originally intended.
6/12/07 9:26 AM
Jane S said...
Boy, do I understand your frustration. I love New Look pics but have had no success fitting them on my body. Too much effort when there are so many other patterns out there!
6/12/07 11:05 AM
Nancy K said...
It does look cute on the envelope. The princess seams make me think that it will be at least semi fitted. As for the lining pattern, I always just make one following my pattern after I make my alterations. Much easier than altering the lining pattern too. I use Cecelia Podolok's instructions in her Guide to easy Jackets book. It looks pretty on the hanger!
6/12/07 12:50 PM
Sewingmi said...
Well, it sure looks cute and nicely sewn! Sorry you didn't like it, but it really looks nice.
6/12/07 7:15 PM
AnneM said...
Well, it looks cute. The pattern line drawing does show some shaping, so I can see why you expected that. I've not had much luck w/ New Look patterns for me either.
6/17/07 8:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-129

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now