Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6487 (Misses Lined Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 708 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/07 0:59 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jeanbluecat said...
Sorry that it didn't work out for you. It looks like you did a good job on it though.
6/11/07 7:40 AM
Siriusmom said...
I had all the same problems with this pattern. I thought maybe it was just me having fitting problems with New Look (again), but apparently not. I recut the lining, making a facing instead of a yoke, and put in a pleat for wearing ease but it is still not very comfortable.
6/11/07 9:16 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for sharing your results. I think the jacket looks cute in your picture. I haven't used New Look and will be wary. I look forward to watching your SWAP come together.
6/11/07 9:47 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Sorry it didnt come thru for you...sure love the sunny fabric and braid trim though!
6/11/07 12:00 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the review of this pattern. You may have saved many of us a lot a grief! Your jacket sure looks nice on the hanger. The braid is a nice touch, even if not originally intended.
6/12/07 9:26 AM
Jane S said...
Boy, do I understand your frustration. I love New Look pics but have had no success fitting them on my body. Too much effort when there are so many other patterns out there!
6/12/07 11:05 AM
Nancy K said...
It does look cute on the envelope. The princess seams make me think that it will be at least semi fitted. As for the lining pattern, I always just make one following my pattern after I make my alterations. Much easier than altering the lining pattern too. I use Cecelia Podolok's instructions in her Guide to easy Jackets book. It looks pretty on the hanger!
6/12/07 12:50 PM
Sewingmi said...
Well, it sure looks cute and nicely sewn! Sorry you didn't like it, but it really looks nice.
6/12/07 7:15 PM
AnneM said...
Well, it looks cute. The pattern line drawing does show some shaping, so I can see why you expected that. I've not had much luck w/ New Look patterns for me either.
6/17/07 8:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Butterick 5421 MISSES' SKIRT
photo
Review by tiadia on 9/24/10
Read Review

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8546
photo
Review by Janiki on 3/20/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7183 Pattern
Burda 7183 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us