SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6487 (Misses Lined Jackets)

2 more reviews
Viewed 709 times 
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo

 
 
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/07 0:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jeanbluecat said...
Sorry that it didn't work out for you. It looks like you did a good job on it though.
6/11/07 7:40 AM
Siriusmom said...
I had all the same problems with this pattern. I thought maybe it was just me having fitting problems with New Look (again), but apparently not. I recut the lining, making a facing instead of a yoke, and put in a pleat for wearing ease but it is still not very comfortable.
6/11/07 9:16 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for sharing your results. I think the jacket looks cute in your picture. I haven't used New Look and will be wary. I look forward to watching your SWAP come together.
6/11/07 9:47 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Sorry it didnt come thru for you...sure love the sunny fabric and braid trim though!
6/11/07 12:00 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the review of this pattern. You may have saved many of us a lot a grief! Your jacket sure looks nice on the hanger. The braid is a nice touch, even if not originally intended.
6/12/07 9:26 AM
Jane S said...
Boy, do I understand your frustration. I love New Look pics but have had no success fitting them on my body. Too much effort when there are so many other patterns out there!
6/12/07 11:05 AM
Nancy K said...
It does look cute on the envelope. The princess seams make me think that it will be at least semi fitted. As for the lining pattern, I always just make one following my pattern after I make my alterations. Much easier than altering the lining pattern too. I use Cecelia Podolok's instructions in her Guide to easy Jackets book. It looks pretty on the hanger!
6/12/07 12:50 PM
Sewingmi said...
Well, it sure looks cute and nicely sewn! Sorry you didn't like it, but it really looks nice.
6/12/07 7:15 PM
AnneM said...
Well, it looks cute. The pattern line drawing does show some shaping, so I can see why you expected that. I've not had much luck w/ New Look patterns for me either.
6/17/07 8:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3199

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-144

photo
by: AllNewtoMe

Review
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now