SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Brown Paper Patterns> 1023 (Basic Shell)

Viewed 1830 times 
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo

 
 
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/07 10:28 AM
Last Updated:6/13/07 10:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sonerila said...
This is gorgeous! You're very talented and creative.
4/5/12 5:05 PM
SewTwin said...
***Worth 3 "stars". Def TNT, and unusual.Yes, you could morph this to a gypsy blouse, or organza, or whatever!We all need one of these sewing image bolsters every once in a while to survive the wadders. Very vintage, but new...
7/4/07 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
Pretty top. I agree - get a good base pattern & you can take it places. Congrats on the French Seams. Great use of your pretty fabric.
6/16/07 4:29 PM
LauraLo said...
Wow, thank you everybody for your awfully nice comments! It's impressive and very encouraging to receive such positive feedback. I think the sewing community is a very supportive and friendly one. My husband says it is because it's made up mostly of women :) He might have a point here. To answer some questions: PattiU - this blouse is a bit older, I made it in March I think for the TimmelFabrics SWAP. Membear: yes, the satin skirt is embroidered by hand. I don't have an embroidery machine, usually I use the decorative stitches on my brother nx-400, but this time I wanted to "revive" my embroidery knowledge... Thanks very much everybody, I feel really happy reading your comments. LauraLo
6/14/07 8:47 AM
Nancy K said...
I am continually impressed with your workmanship. This blouse is just beautiful. Thanks for the great review. It is great to see young women who sew and sew well.
6/14/07 7:25 AM
LauraM62 said...
You English is always fine! The blouse is just beautiful as all your work! Very, very pretty!
6/14/07 6:35 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I remember making a white long sleeve blouse with lace like yours way, way back.....in the 70's or 80's. Yours is much nicer!
6/14/07 6:31 AM
Tany said...
Lovely!
6/14/07 4:13 AM
Membear said...
lovely and I thought you were a native English speaker living in Romania so dont worry about that you are very good.Your blouse is lovely as are the other garments I was wondering did youdo the embroidery on the satin skirt by hand or on the machine?
6/13/07 8:12 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Very feminine.
6/13/07 6:46 PM
PattyU said...
Are you entering this into the one pattern different looks contest? You should. It's beautiful.
6/13/07 5:25 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a knockout of a blouse.
6/13/07 5:07 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
beautiful!!! I know you will enjoy wearing it again and again "for the very first time. thanks for sharing. lkl
6/13/07 5:04 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
6/13/07 3:53 PM
Nancywin said...
very, very pretty blouse. What a nice job you did!
6/13/07 3:33 PM
Sanibelle said...
I have this pattern, too, and I love it, but you really turned it into something very special. Brava!
6/13/07 1:46 PM
Linda G said...
You did an awesome job of fine heritage type sewing.
6/13/07 12:53 PM
Seaspur said...
Very pretty! I've had this pattern for years but never tried it. You've inspired me to dig it out, thanks.
6/13/07 12:39 PM
colormefun said...
wow.
6/13/07 12:33 PM
nicegirl said...
Very pretty and classic. I like the sleeve treatment. May need to, uh, "borrow" that.
6/13/07 12:24 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Lovely!
6/13/07 11:45 AM
Erica B. said...
Very pretty blouse!
6/13/07 11:42 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Really pretty top. Love the lace and trim.
6/13/07 11:29 AM
Puppy said...
Satin, lace and sheer fabric...very lovely and well done.
6/13/07 11:25 AM
bunz said...
Wowza!
6/13/07 11:11 AM
Rustybobn said...
So pretty! Thanks for the detailed review.
6/13/07 11:04 AM
Re Becca said...
You did a great job taking a simple design and making it WOW!
6/13/07 11:00 AM
cindyann said...
That is so lovely! I love heirloom sewing and I've always wanted to try it. Your blouse is inspiring.
6/13/07 10:51 AM
latebloomer said...
Very pretty. You are truly an accomplished sewer and I love all the embellishments and embroidery on your creations.
6/13/07 10:46 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! The lace is very pretty.
6/13/07 10:43 AM
RMJ said...
Very pretty.
6/13/07 10:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now