SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8185 (Strapless Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1002 times 
Reviewed by:FuzzyNavelPeach
photo

 
 
About FuzzyNavelPeachstar
Member since: 11/29/06
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/07 11:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Lovely dress and very becoming. Good job meeting the fitting challenges; the end product looks great on you.
6/19/07 11:31 PM
eibhlin said...
Wow!! Your dress is absolutely beautiful on you! So feminine, and I love your choice of fabric!
6/19/07 11:55 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress and it looks great on you. I LOVE your fabric.
6/20/07 0:27 AM
ladykicks said...
There are no mistakes......just opportunities for a creative design challenge! Good save on the dress--it looks great.
6/20/07 0:32 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Don't leave out the ribbon - it has an important stabilizing function! But satin ribbon isn't really strong enough in this case - gros-grain is much more stable and doesn't roll. Check out upholstery departments next time you're in the same tight spot, they may well have something usable.
More importantly, from the picture it looks like you're... way more than a B cup :-). This means for the big 4 patterns you'll have to go by your under-bust measurement to pick a size, and do a full-bust alteration, which you'll find here referred to as FBA. Check out this excellent page http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?t=9531 for all you could possibly know, and like most of us you'll end up using Debbie Cook's pages over and over, as she shows very clearly what to do in most situations.
That said, your dress is great and you look fabulous in it, which is the essential :-).
6/20/07 2:11 AM
MissCelie said...
Way to save! You look stellar.
6/20/07 7:00 AM
Bonnie O said...
This is only your 4th garment? Excellent job! It looks wonderful on you - that fabric is beautiful against our skin. It sounds like you were able to alter it to fit you correctly and fuzzygalore's comments should help you in future alternations.
6/20/07 7:47 AM
carolynw said...
You look wonderful in the dress - well done!
6/20/07 8:43 AM
cindy-lou said...
AWESOME dress! I think your save was made easier by the fact that this is strapless. I made several things that didn't fit before I figured out what 'FBA' meant, and that I needed to go by my high-bust measurement. They all were too big in the sleeves and shoulders. I was cutting 16's according to my bust, when what I needed was a 12 with an FBA. Learning the FBA changed life as I know it. --THIS IS A GREAT DRESS! Wear the heck out of it.
6/20/07 8:58 AM
coolobreeze said...
I like that dress!
6/20/07 9:23 AM
moss said...
Oh my gosh, it looks AMAZING on you!!! Really fabulous!!
6/20/07 10:13 AM
FuzzyNavelPeach said...
Thank you everyone! FuzzyGalore thanks a million for those links and tips. I had no idea what a Full Bust Adjustment is, but now that I'm reading about it I definitely see why I have fitting problems. I ♥ this site!
6/20/07 11:48 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I hope you do some serious strutting around in that dress, because it looks *fierce*! Gorgeous color for your skin and that ribbon is the perfect touch. The whole effect is feminine without being overly girly.
6/20/07 11:54 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, trust me, this site will change your life :-). Or at least your sewing life...
6/20/07 1:00 PM
Nancy K said...
The dress looks lovely on you, but you definitely need to choose your pattern by your upper bust measurement and do an FBA. This measurement is taken snugly above the bust and up against the underarm and around the back at your upper shoulder blades. As for the hip, make sure that you are measuring about 8 or 9 " down from your waist. You can put narrow elastic around your waist and measure down and mark the spot with tape. Also, make sure that you are taking this measurement over underwear, not outerwear. In the future if you need ribbon try M and J Trim on line. Or if you want petersham, try thesewingplace.com
6/20/07 3:11 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Very pretty dress and you look pretty in it.
6/20/07 3:22 PM
lisaquilts said...
Excellent work, great fabric choices, and a good save. Considering that this is your 4th garment, you're well on your way to becoming an excellent sewist.
6/20/07 10:08 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I can't believe this is only your 4th garment! It's stunning and well done for having the patience to make all those fitting alterations - the fit looks fantastic.
6/20/07 11:04 PM
EveS said...
Despite whatever issues you had, the final product is killer!
6/21/07 11:42 PM
AnneM said...
Great job, and a great style for you. Congrats on fixing the size. (It's always a good idea to measure the pattern first; I'm learning to do that myself.)
6/23/07 6:07 PM
Sheila457 said...
Fantastic dress and love the fabric and ruffuled bottom.
6/30/07 4:40 PM
Hilary said...
Oh my, you look *gorgeous* in your dress!! I never would've guessed you had such trials to finish it-kudos for your perseverance-it certainly paid off!! I too can't believe this is only your fourth garment-well done!
7/3/07 9:59 PM
Catrinm said...
Does the pattern tell you how to do the boning, I love this dress of yours, and want to try one too, as a bridesmaid dress, but I definately need boning!
10/14/07 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern n/k

photo
by: MissFuqua

Review
New Look 6723

photo
by: Chickey17

Review
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now