SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3072 (Women's Swimsuits Skirt & Wrap)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1660 times 
Reviewed by:kittykate
photo

 
 
About kittykatestar
Member since: 12/18/02
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 33
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/03 1:19 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Great review, and I'm impressed with all you did in 7 hrs! I paid big money for this exact same suit from Jantzen a couple of years ago. The elastic is tricky, and I'm not so sure that Jantzen did a great job. Sorry we don't get to see it on you, he he.
2/7/03 1:58 AM
PatM said...
What a great review, i have often wondered if swimwear patterns work. The alterations sound a little difficult but your review helps with these.
2/7/03 5:44 AM
Katie Pizzo said...
Cute suit, also a tall and large and find it easy to make a suit then buy. I like the way Stretch and Sew makes their lining and has good instructions for adding bra cups if needed. Amazing how much $$$ suits are and once you have your pattern they are pretty quick to make.
2/7/03 9:44 AM
Tonya said...
Isn't it amazing how much RTW swimsuits cost and how easy they are? My mom would *never* buy swimsuits for us (until she got too busy with other things, like more kids, lol) because she could whip them up so quickly and cheaply. Glad you had such great success!
2/7/03 11:02 AM
Sarah McC said...
what a great review. I have never sewn with lycra, but now I think I will try it. Never sewn a qucik sew pattern either. I need a new suit (and a new figure) and paying lots of money for a scrap of motification really goes agains the grain.
2/7/03 1:29 PM
Mbarkle said...
What a great review. I've made many kids suits and last summer a couple of KS ones for myself (w/attached skirt). I love them and saved so much $$$. Thinking of an excuse to make another. I tried making the one from the swimwear book and it is too long through the torso. The armholes are too high and uncomfortable. Next time I will check this before sewing in the elastic. It would have been easy to scoop them out at that point. Just a tip to check the fit of armholes and neckline before you attach the elastic.
2/7/03 2:15 PM
SouthernStitch said...
So nice to see a swimsuit review. My dd is going to have to have me make her some this year. She needs two for camp and is going to have a heck of a time finding one to fit right.
2/9/03 12:35 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kittykate, I'm stunned, it looks so good, you should be very proud of yourself. :-)
2/10/03 3:15 AM
Lou. said...
I'm so glad I saqw your review, I got the KS Swimwear book for Christmas and I've not yet been brave enough to give it a go. I will now though!!!!
2/21/03 3:55 PM
martha said...
Thanks for a great review. I have been debating getting this pattern and now I will!
3/7/03 9:40 AM
Doris Stewart said...
I just spied this pattern in the book today and was undecided. Presto, I found your reveiw - it is going on my wish list. Thanks :-)
3/27/04 6:10 PM
anandajan said...
I appreciated your ideas. I haven't sewed in many years except for curtains and now want to make myself swim suits. I can't find nice material in the stores. Can anyone tell me where I can look online. Thanks
1/11/06 2:24 PM
leesa said...
Wonderful review. After reading it, I believe that I may try to make a bathing suit for myself. Thanks!
6/30/06 11:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6284

photo
by: Scheri

Review
McCall's 4440

photo
by: hairy stit...

Review
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now