Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3072 (Women's Swimsuits Skirt & Wrap) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1659 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:kittykate
photo
About kittykatestar
Member since: 12/18/02
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 33
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/03 1:19 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
See other patterns in this category: Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Great review, and I'm impressed with all you did in 7 hrs! I paid big money for this exact same suit from Jantzen a couple of years ago. The elastic is tricky, and I'm not so sure that Jantzen did a great job. Sorry we don't get to see it on you, he he.
2/7/03 1:58 AM
PatM said...
What a great review, i have often wondered if swimwear patterns work. The alterations sound a little difficult but your review helps with these.
2/7/03 5:44 AM
Katie Pizzo said...
Cute suit, also a tall and large and find it easy to make a suit then buy. I like the way Stretch and Sew makes their lining and has good instructions for adding bra cups if needed. Amazing how much $$$ suits are and once you have your pattern they are pretty quick to make.
2/7/03 9:44 AM
Tonya said...
Isn't it amazing how much RTW swimsuits cost and how easy they are? My mom would *never* buy swimsuits for us (until she got too busy with other things, like more kids, lol) because she could whip them up so quickly and cheaply. Glad you had such great success!
2/7/03 11:02 AM
Sarah McC said...
what a great review. I have never sewn with lycra, but now I think I will try it. Never sewn a qucik sew pattern either. I need a new suit (and a new figure) and paying lots of money for a scrap of motification really goes agains the grain.
2/7/03 1:29 PM
Mbarkle said...
What a great review. I've made many kids suits and last summer a couple of KS ones for myself (w/attached skirt). I love them and saved so much $$$. Thinking of an excuse to make another. I tried making the one from the swimwear book and it is too long through the torso. The armholes are too high and uncomfortable. Next time I will check this before sewing in the elastic. It would have been easy to scoop them out at that point. Just a tip to check the fit of armholes and neckline before you attach the elastic.
2/7/03 2:15 PM
SouthernStitch said...
So nice to see a swimsuit review. My dd is going to have to have me make her some this year. She needs two for camp and is going to have a heck of a time finding one to fit right.
2/9/03 12:35 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kittykate, I'm stunned, it looks so good, you should be very proud of yourself. :-)
2/10/03 3:15 AM
Lou. said...
I'm so glad I saqw your review, I got the KS Swimwear book for Christmas and I've not yet been brave enough to give it a go. I will now though!!!!
2/21/03 3:55 PM
martha said...
Thanks for a great review. I have been debating getting this pattern and now I will!
3/7/03 9:40 AM
Doris Stewart said...
I just spied this pattern in the book today and was undecided. Presto, I found your reveiw - it is going on my wish list. Thanks :-)
3/27/04 6:10 PM
anandajan said...
I appreciated your ideas. I haven't sewed in many years except for curtains and now want to make myself swim suits. I can't find nice material in the stores. Can anyone tell me where I can look online. Thanks
1/11/06 2:24 PM
leesa said...
Wonderful review. After reading it, I believe that I may try to make a bathing suit for myself. Thanks!
6/30/06 11:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-23 Rousku
photo
Review by jorth on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3775
photo
Review by Ripple Dan... on 12/20/09
Read Review

Burda 9471 Pattern
Burda 9471 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6842 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6842 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us