Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8275 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2589 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 40 people   
Reviewed by:Tom P
photo
Friend of PR
About Tom Pstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/07 5:21 PM
Last Updated:6/23/07 1:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jbrewer said...
Wow Tom! This is a very impressive coat. You should be very proud of your accomplishment. What do you think about thicker shoulder pads? I think that might help the diagonal wrinkles. If there is a "next time", you could sew the shoulder seam a little less square and slant downward at the top of the sleeve. That works for me. Again, great job!
6/22/07 5:37 PM
Vonnevo said...
A nice looking coat Tom ! Thanks for a V Helpful review :)
6/22/07 5:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very nicely done. It's a great coat!
6/22/07 5:48 PM
carolynw said...
Excellent job and your coat looks very expensive RTW. Larger shoulder pads may help with the wrinkles if they bother you but I do think once you have a jacket under it will make the wrinkles disappear.
6/22/07 6:11 PM
said...
Great looking overcoat!!!
6/22/07 6:14 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm speechless...completely lacking in superlatives. Not only did you tackle a daunting tailoring project, you used BLACK fabric. My eyes hurt thinking about it. Congratulations on your results. (Shame-facedly slinking back to my t-shirt project now....)
6/22/07 7:11 PM
Jill Giard said...
Great job. Thanks for the details.
6/22/07 8:02 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow! I saw your book reviews, and I was really hoping that you would review this. You put a lot of work into this and it shows. BRAVO!
6/22/07 8:04 PM
Immelu said...
Wow!!! You did an awesome job! Someday, I hope to be able to do that! :)
6/22/07 8:30 PM
Peggy L said...
Excellant! Great review - thanks for sharing!
6/22/07 8:45 PM
LorelleD said...
Thankyou for your review, it was a terrific read. Your coat looks really good on you and you have done an awsome job of making your coat.
6/22/07 9:03 PM
mastdenman said...
Definitely can't let DH see this. It's wonderful.
6/22/07 9:21 PM
patma said...
Awesome!
6/22/07 10:15 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Your coat is SERIOUSLY IMPRESSIVE. IT is glorious.
6/22/07 10:37 PM
Karen8320 said...
Tom, this is an exceptionally impressive piece of work! You have done such a great job and the finished garment looks magnificent. Your review is very comprehensive and you have added to my knowledge (alas not my ability!) about tailoring processes. I hope you receive many compliments on your coat.
6/22/07 11:12 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Absolutely fabulous overcoat Tom, impressive work. You put alot of care into this and it shows. Thanks for a very informative review, I am looking forward to seeing more of your work !
6/22/07 11:28 PM
PixieCat said...
Your coat is incredible! Thanks for all of the construction details. Excellent review!
6/23/07 6:56 AM
cindy-lou said...
Yowzah! Amazing work. Proof that quality matters.
6/23/07 8:38 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - I'm so impressed. This is grand. I love it and your tenacity in making something like this.
6/23/07 11:46 AM
Tom P said...
Thanks so much for the feedback. You should all have a chance to feel it :). I've thought about thicker shoulder pads, and may try that if I need to open the lining. The problem is that the wrinkles are much smaller over a sport jacket, and in that case disappear if I just lift my shoulders a fraction of an inch. In future patterns, should I taper the shoulder seam on both front and back, or just in back?
6/23/07 1:20 PM
merry-one said...
Beautiful coat! Impressive work.
6/23/07 1:36 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh my, what a LUSH combination of fabrics you have here, and it SHOWS, too. This is just beautiful. I'd like to put it on myself, just to see what it feels like. :o)
6/23/07 2:46 PM
Erica B. said...
Tom, that's one great looking coat!
6/23/07 3:33 PM
Birgitte said...
Fantastic! And an excellent review, thanks!
6/23/07 5:00 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful work, gorgeous coat!!!
6/23/07 5:46 PM
PegL said...
Absolutely beautiful coat!! Great review too.
6/23/07 8:33 PM
Nancywin said...
Tom, as others have already stated, this is very impressive work. It is beautifully done and you should be very proud of it. I am especially impressed with all the little details on top of the somewhat difficult fabrics that you chose. It's absolutely beautiful.
6/24/07 1:08 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Whoa: this coat is great looking--wonderful job. Time to move out of intermediate to advanced??? Thanks for terrific review.
6/25/07 3:39 PM
solosmocker said...
Very informative review and your coat looks great.
6/28/07 10:00 PM
LauraM62 said...
Tom this is wonderful work !! If my DH seen this I know he'd be dropping hints like crazy! My little 2 cents - you say the wrinkles disappear with a sport coat? This type of coat my DH wears with his suits and/or sport coats, this isn't the type of coat he wears with just a shirt or sweater. Hence, I would assume that the extra arm & shoulder room is coverage of the extra jacket that generally is worn under these types of coats. Hence why the wrinkles disappear with your sport coat.
6/29/07 11:10 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I was tired just after reading about all your work. Totally wonderful job. I think you need to bless us all with another coat just to be worn over your shirts and sweators - takes care of that little wrinkle problem and we get to see another of your works!
6/30/07 5:24 PM
AnneM said...
Great coat, the fabric looks spectacular even in the pictures. (My 2 cents, which is all it's worth, is yes, either thicker shoulder pads or tapering the shoulder slope slightly would help. If you taper, you'll want to reduce the height of the sleeve cap slightly as well.) I love seeing reviews for men's clothing, particularly more complex pieces like this one.
7/1/07 12:03 PM
Donna H said...
What can I say?? Awesome coat!
7/4/07 2:25 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Your patience and attention to detail really show in this coat. Love the upgrading too. You have made a handsome, and very high quality coat...and well-written review!
7/4/07 10:03 PM
Marji said...
Very impressive coat. So wonderful that you went well above and beyond the pattern to create a timeless piece that is truly high quality. Enjoy wearing it.
7/5/07 5:15 AM
schmelkincat said...
Wow - I don't leave comments often - but what an undertaking. Absolutely fabulous! I want to see more of your talented sewing and tailoring!
7/26/07 1:48 PM
prickly said...
I really can not understand all of the rave reviews. It is completely impossible from the picture submitted to see ANY details whatsoever of this coat. This man could literally be wearing any topcoat from anywhere and submitting it for a contest. Not to say that that is what he did. But, I find that his long, long discourse about making the coat makes the whole thing less, not more, believable. How is it possible to actually fairly judge this submission for a contest, based on this picture. It just isn't. It isn't possible to really judge the proficiency of any sewing from a single picture submitted online. But, when it comes to submitting a dark picture of a dark coat, it's completely ridiculous. Let me add---a dark, BLURRY picture of a dark coat.
7/29/07 10:52 PM
prickly said...
I just looked at the picture again. You can't see a collar. You can't see a button. You can't see anything but a black blob with a handkerchief and sleeves that are too long. How are people deciding to vote for THIS....IT'S ABSOLUTELY CRAZY.
7/29/07 11:01 PM
SandraB said...
Great looking coat. You did a wonderful job.
8/15/07 6:08 PM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
Wow, quite impressive! Re: back diagonal wrinkles, the back shoulder is too high. Trim it down. The sportcoat underneath confirms it; the added hgt of that shoulder pad smooths the wrinkles out.
11/26/07 11:01 AM
Michelle L said...
Thank you for the great review. I am considering taking on a similar project and I have already printed out your review to keep close at hand!
4/16/08 2:13 PM
Mc Donna said...
Stellar! Thank you for your very helpful review.
8/24/11 7:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5214
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 7/28/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1406 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1406 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M4550 Men's Costumes
photo
Review by canadianri... on 4/27/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us