SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8275 

1 more reviews
Viewed 2600 times 
Reviewed by:Tom P
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tom Pstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/07 5:21 PM
Last Updated:6/23/07 1:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 40 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mc Donna said...
Stellar! Thank you for your very helpful review.
8/24/11 7:06 PM
Michelle L said...
Thank you for the great review. I am considering taking on a similar project and I have already printed out your review to keep close at hand!
4/16/08 2:13 PM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
Wow, quite impressive! Re: back diagonal wrinkles, the back shoulder is too high. Trim it down. The sportcoat underneath confirms it; the added hgt of that shoulder pad smooths the wrinkles out.
11/26/07 11:01 AM
SandraB said...
Great looking coat. You did a wonderful job.
8/15/07 6:08 PM
prickly said...
I just looked at the picture again. You can't see a collar. You can't see a button. You can't see anything but a black blob with a handkerchief and sleeves that are too long. How are people deciding to vote for THIS....IT'S ABSOLUTELY CRAZY.
7/29/07 11:01 PM
prickly said...
I really can not understand all of the rave reviews. It is completely impossible from the picture submitted to see ANY details whatsoever of this coat. This man could literally be wearing any topcoat from anywhere and submitting it for a contest. Not to say that that is what he did. But, I find that his long, long discourse about making the coat makes the whole thing less, not more, believable. How is it possible to actually fairly judge this submission for a contest, based on this picture. It just isn't. It isn't possible to really judge the proficiency of any sewing from a single picture submitted online. But, when it comes to submitting a dark picture of a dark coat, it's completely ridiculous. Let me add---a dark, BLURRY picture of a dark coat.
7/29/07 10:52 PM
schmelkincat said...
Wow - I don't leave comments often - but what an undertaking. Absolutely fabulous! I want to see more of your talented sewing and tailoring!
7/26/07 1:48 PM
Marji said...
Very impressive coat. So wonderful that you went well above and beyond the pattern to create a timeless piece that is truly high quality. Enjoy wearing it.
7/5/07 5:15 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Your patience and attention to detail really show in this coat. Love the upgrading too. You have made a handsome, and very high quality coat...and well-written review!
7/4/07 10:03 PM
Donna H said...
What can I say?? Awesome coat!
7/4/07 2:25 PM
AnneM said...
Great coat, the fabric looks spectacular even in the pictures. (My 2 cents, which is all it's worth, is yes, either thicker shoulder pads or tapering the shoulder slope slightly would help. If you taper, you'll want to reduce the height of the sleeve cap slightly as well.) I love seeing reviews for men's clothing, particularly more complex pieces like this one.
7/1/07 12:03 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I was tired just after reading about all your work. Totally wonderful job. I think you need to bless us all with another coat just to be worn over your shirts and sweators - takes care of that little wrinkle problem and we get to see another of your works!
6/30/07 5:24 PM
LauraM62 said...
Tom this is wonderful work !! If my DH seen this I know he'd be dropping hints like crazy! My little 2 cents - you say the wrinkles disappear with a sport coat? This type of coat my DH wears with his suits and/or sport coats, this isn't the type of coat he wears with just a shirt or sweater. Hence, I would assume that the extra arm & shoulder room is coverage of the extra jacket that generally is worn under these types of coats. Hence why the wrinkles disappear with your sport coat.
6/29/07 11:10 AM
solosmocker said...
Very informative review and your coat looks great.
6/28/07 10:00 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Whoa: this coat is great looking--wonderful job. Time to move out of intermediate to advanced??? Thanks for terrific review.
6/25/07 3:39 PM
Nancywin said...
Tom, as others have already stated, this is very impressive work. It is beautifully done and you should be very proud of it. I am especially impressed with all the little details on top of the somewhat difficult fabrics that you chose. It's absolutely beautiful.
6/24/07 1:08 AM
PegL said...
Absolutely beautiful coat!! Great review too.
6/23/07 8:33 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful work, gorgeous coat!!!
6/23/07 5:46 PM
Birgitte said...
Fantastic! And an excellent review, thanks!
6/23/07 5:00 PM
Erica B. said...
Tom, that's one great looking coat!
6/23/07 3:33 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh my, what a LUSH combination of fabrics you have here, and it SHOWS, too. This is just beautiful. I'd like to put it on myself, just to see what it feels like. :o)
6/23/07 2:46 PM
merry-one said...
Beautiful coat! Impressive work.
6/23/07 1:36 PM
Tom P said...
Thanks so much for the feedback. You should all have a chance to feel it :). I've thought about thicker shoulder pads, and may try that if I need to open the lining. The problem is that the wrinkles are much smaller over a sport jacket, and in that case disappear if I just lift my shoulders a fraction of an inch. In future patterns, should I taper the shoulder seam on both front and back, or just in back?
6/23/07 1:20 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - I'm so impressed. This is grand. I love it and your tenacity in making something like this.
6/23/07 11:46 AM
cindy-lou said...
Yowzah! Amazing work. Proof that quality matters.
6/23/07 8:38 AM
PixieCat said...
Your coat is incredible! Thanks for all of the construction details. Excellent review!
6/23/07 6:56 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Absolutely fabulous overcoat Tom, impressive work. You put alot of care into this and it shows. Thanks for a very informative review, I am looking forward to seeing more of your work !
6/22/07 11:28 PM
Karen8320 said...
Tom, this is an exceptionally impressive piece of work! You have done such a great job and the finished garment looks magnificent. Your review is very comprehensive and you have added to my knowledge (alas not my ability!) about tailoring processes. I hope you receive many compliments on your coat.
6/22/07 11:12 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Your coat is SERIOUSLY IMPRESSIVE. IT is glorious.
6/22/07 10:37 PM
patma said...
Awesome!
6/22/07 10:15 PM
mastdenman said...
Definitely can't let DH see this. It's wonderful.
6/22/07 9:21 PM
LorelleD said...
Thankyou for your review, it was a terrific read. Your coat looks really good on you and you have done an awsome job of making your coat.
6/22/07 9:03 PM
Peggy L said...
Excellant! Great review - thanks for sharing!
6/22/07 8:45 PM
Immelu said...
Wow!!! You did an awesome job! Someday, I hope to be able to do that! :)
6/22/07 8:30 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow! I saw your book reviews, and I was really hoping that you would review this. You put a lot of work into this and it shows. BRAVO!
6/22/07 8:04 PM
Jill Giard said...
Great job. Thanks for the details.
6/22/07 8:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm speechless...completely lacking in superlatives. Not only did you tackle a daunting tailoring project, you used BLACK fabric. My eyes hurt thinking about it. Congratulations on your results. (Shame-facedly slinking back to my t-shirt project now....)
6/22/07 7:11 PM
said...
Great looking overcoat!!!
6/22/07 6:14 PM
carolynw said...
Excellent job and your coat looks very expensive RTW. Larger shoulder pads may help with the wrinkles if they bother you but I do think once you have a jacket under it will make the wrinkles disappear.
6/22/07 6:11 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very nicely done. It's a great coat!
6/22/07 5:48 PM
Vonnevo said...
A nice looking coat Tom ! Thanks for a V Helpful review :)
6/22/07 5:48 PM
jbrewer said...
Wow Tom! This is a very impressive coat. You should be very proud of your accomplishment. What do you think about thicker shoulder pads? I think that might help the diagonal wrinkles. If there is a "next time", you could sew the shoulder seam a little less square and slant downward at the top of the sleeve. That works for me. Again, great job!
6/22/07 5:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Enid Gilchrist

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now