SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2777 (Men's Shirts)

16 more reviews
Viewed 2059 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews: 126 (patterns: 121)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/03 7:49 PM
Last Updated:2/9/03 7:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jay Cadiramen said... (7/11/04 7:45 PM) Reply
I've used this pattern a number of times for my dad, who likes baggier clothing, and he especially likes the four shirts I made with this pattern because it does tend to run a little large. I would probably go down a size for myself... or maybe even more!
Jay Cadiramen said... (7/27/03 9:25 PM) Reply
I agree with you about this pattern being a bit misleading with regards to sizing... it did look a bit bigger than the pattern artwork led me to believe. Also, it IS nothing special... I jazzed up the shirt (view B) by putting a band (10cm) of contrast fabric horizontally across the right chest piece, in line with the top of the pocket, only, and then running a similar band of contrast fabric down the middle of the left sleeve. Think creative with this pattern because it is pretty basic.
Gigi Louis said... (2/10/03 10:52 AM) Reply
What a great looking shirt! What I really like about this pattern is that it's possible to use any neck size with any body size for a truly custom fit.
Rustybobn said... (2/10/03 10:42 AM) Reply
Thanks! Elona, I just happen to have that book out of the library right now. I'll have a look and see what I can do!
Marita Kinnula said... (2/10/03 3:27 AM) Reply
Very stylish, what a lucky husband you have.
kerina said... (2/9/03 8:36 PM) Reply
That shirt looks excellent. I don't feel ready myself to tackle something like this yet for my own DH but I'm going to buy that pattern for the day I do. It looks pretty timeless to me. Thanks for the great review.
Elona said... (2/9/03 8:29 PM) Reply
What a great-looking, finely-executed shirt, Rusty! That muscle up there is the trapezius, and having a big one is the mark of a weightlifter, and can also produce that fold you mention. In her book, "Fitting & Pattern Alteration," Judith Rasband calls it "High neck base at sides," and has a segment on how to correct a woman's pattern for it. It basically involves enlarging the neck circumference, all right, but also adding a bit of extra length at the center back, and a little at the inner edge of each shoulder seam. All this lets the shirt drop just a bit in the center, and removes those folds.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

No Pattern Used 001

photo
by: nothy lane

Review
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern 280868-1002

photo
by: EmeraldEri...

Review