SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2777 (Men's Shirts)

16 more reviews
Viewed 2060 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews: 126 (patterns: 121)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/03 7:49 PM
Last Updated:2/9/03 7:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jay Cadiramen said... (7/11/04 7:45 PM) Reply
I've used this pattern a number of times for my dad, who likes baggier clothing, and he especially likes the four shirts I made with this pattern because it does tend to run a little large. I would probably go down a size for myself... or maybe even more!
Jay Cadiramen said... (7/27/03 9:25 PM) Reply
I agree with you about this pattern being a bit misleading with regards to sizing... it did look a bit bigger than the pattern artwork led me to believe. Also, it IS nothing special... I jazzed up the shirt (view B) by putting a band (10cm) of contrast fabric horizontally across the right chest piece, in line with the top of the pocket, only, and then running a similar band of contrast fabric down the middle of the left sleeve. Think creative with this pattern because it is pretty basic.
Gigi Louis said... (2/10/03 10:52 AM) Reply
What a great looking shirt! What I really like about this pattern is that it's possible to use any neck size with any body size for a truly custom fit.
Rustybobn said... (2/10/03 10:42 AM) Reply
Thanks! Elona, I just happen to have that book out of the library right now. I'll have a look and see what I can do!
Marita Kinnula said... (2/10/03 3:27 AM) Reply
Very stylish, what a lucky husband you have.
kerina said... (2/9/03 8:36 PM) Reply
That shirt looks excellent. I don't feel ready myself to tackle something like this yet for my own DH but I'm going to buy that pattern for the day I do. It looks pretty timeless to me. Thanks for the great review.
Elona said... (2/9/03 8:29 PM) Reply
What a great-looking, finely-executed shirt, Rusty! That muscle up there is the trapezius, and having a big one is the mark of a weightlifter, and can also produce that fold you mention. In her book, "Fitting & Pattern Alteration," Judith Rasband calls it "High neck base at sides," and has a segment on how to correct a woman's pattern for it. It basically involves enlarging the neck circumference, all right, but also adding a bit of extra length at the center back, and a little at the inner edge of each shoulder seam. All this lets the shirt drop just a bit in the center, and removes those folds.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Kitschy Coo Lady Skater Dress

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
Silhouette Patterns #3400

photo
by: Sew Passio...

Review
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Pattern Details