SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Petite Plus Patterns> 601 (Flat Front Pant)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1587 times 
Reviewed by:Julie Culshaw
photo

 
 
About Julie Culshawstar
Member since: 1/2/02
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/03 9:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $21.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $21.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alex said...
I'm sure you're just as pretty as themodel. Keep in mind that she has a hair and makeup artist to go with those pants! Thanks for the review, your tips are helpful even for those with different fitting problems.
2/9/03 10:39 PM
AnneM said...
Thank you for the detailed review. As you said, no pants pattern is going to fit everyone just right, but starting with one that is close will make fitting a lot easier! I just made the PP straight skirt for my mother; I don't know how it fits her yet. If it fits her, I will try these pants.
2/10/03 9:52 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Good review. I think this pattern might work for me except for the wide legs. I don't understand why a pattern meant for short people have such a wide leg. Sixteen inches is just about as wide as I can get away with. Are these pants also loose fitting in the thigh?
2/10/03 9:03 PM
Julie Culshaw said...
No, the pants aren't wide in the hips. The back hip fits pretty close and the front hip has a little bit of ease. There is a new style in pants, described as "they hang from the hips" and I think these pants might fall into this category. Remember the sailor pants of the navy? That's the look. Loes Hinse has these in her Euro Pants and Louise Cutting has a version of them in her One Seams. Perhaps Kathleen is simply going with the fashion trend and doing the same thing. If this is the case, that would explain the wide legs. To taper the legs, I cut the pattern up from the hem in the middle and overlapped it half the amount I wanted to remove. This tapers out to nothing by the hip level. I agree with you, that wide legged pants don't look too good on short "chubby" women. They are okay on short, tiny women but even then there is a limit. The proportion just doesn't look right. Julie
2/10/03 9:31 PM
Terry McCormick said...
I have this pattern and am very pleased to tread a review of it before cutting into my fabric - although I bought a very inexpensive one to try it out on - since the pattern description says "straight leg pants" I'm a bit surprised that the legs are wide - however, will definitely look out for that. Thanks for a great review
2/15/03 2:41 AM
Julie Culshaw said...
If you are unsure of the fit of this pattern, I would suggest making it up first in a cheap fabric, and eliminate the pockets entirely. Then baste on the waistband, baste in the zipper and then you can really fit it. Because of the way the zip goes up into the waistband, the band must be on the pants before the zipper is put in. Now, none of like to undo things that aren't right, so what I'm going to do to get it right is the following: make the pants without pockets, so I know exactly if I want any more ease at the hips and also to taper the legs to the width I want. Then I will baste in the zipper, try on the pants, tie an elastic around my waist and mark the placement for the waistband. I now know that it needs to dip quite a bit lower at center back. I will mark this, then take out the zipper, put the waistband on the marked line, put in the zipper and then it should be right. This is a bit of work, but pants are definitely worth it. It is so awful to wear pants that don't feel just right. Then when the pattern is just so, it will be very easy to make up many pairs quickly with very little fitting involved. Only the fabric choice will affect that slightly. Julie
2/15/03 11:25 AM
kittykate said...
I made up this pattern for a pair of shorts, and I also had to adjust the pattern for my own figure. I changed the back curve to more of an L, it was sticking in where it shouldn't belong if you get my drift, and I also added to the front inseam leg (the adjustment just recently described in SewNews) because they were riding up on my thighs. I need more of a crotch shelf but do not need a longer crotch if you can understand that. I always have to cut the front down for a tilted waist, this pattern was no exception. Other than all that, the pattern fit well, the waist and high hip were perfect. I made my shorts with the elastic waist option and left out the pockets entirely since it was a muslin - somewhat wearable.
6/5/03 0:44 AM
BSYMPLS said...
I've considered trying this pattern and am now looking forward to it. Thanks for the detailed info.
9/5/03 4:21 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I just learned that for $2 Kathleen has an add-on pattern for these pants to make the legs tapered.
11/18/03 10:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 3673

photo
by: Sunkissedj...

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now