SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8196 (Romantic Retro Blouse)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2112 times 
Reviewed by:ladybegood
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ladybegoodstarstar
Member since: 5/19/03
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/07 0:59 AM
Last Updated:8/1/07 11:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birdie757 said...
I love the fact that you used pleats instead of gathers on the black top...I was just in Banana Republic today and a lot the tops had scoop neck lines with pleats instead of gathers...I really love the clean look the pleats give the top.
8/3/07 4:24 PM
nicegirl said...
That is great as a dress! I may have to pull my copy of the pattern back out. I love it as a blouse.
8/1/07 3:20 PM
Tez said...
Wow! All of these look great. I love the bias midriff inset. Very pretty.
8/1/07 3:17 PM
mahalosu said...
This pattern is half done and sitting in a wad in my sewing pile. I am going to dig it back out. I love what you did to the sleeves. Great improvement. And I like the dress idea.
8/1/07 9:05 AM
MissCelie said...
What fun, cool variations. You make it look so simple to just vary your pattern a little to change things up. I am in love with the red gingham!
8/1/07 6:32 AM
Kim Winson said...
Very cute shirts! The pleats look great, I'll have to copy your idea... I've had my eye on this pattern but I've shied away because of the button loops. Did you follow the pattern or did you use a different technique for making the button loops? thanks!
8/1/07 5:19 AM
morzel said...
I like your three versions of this top alot! Especially the idea of turning it into a dress is great and looks good!
8/1/07 2:25 AM
elanor said...
Lovely and a really great review. I am cutting this shirt tonight and am altering the sleeves, too. This is review couldn't be more helpful. Thanks a lot.
6/28/07 5:41 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job on both versions.
6/28/07 5:31 AM
Nancywin said...
Nice job on the tops - and good review. Thanks
6/28/07 4:49 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Really really cute!
6/27/07 9:24 PM
bunz said...
You really managed to achieve a great fit on this -- looks very good on you.
6/27/07 6:46 PM
ryan's mom said...
Cute, cute, cute!!! I love this look on you.
6/27/07 4:47 PM
ryan's mom said...
Cute, cute, cute!!! I love this look on you.
6/27/07 4:47 PM
mendospot said...
I really like the gingham-like fabric top (the other is nice too!) I'm sitting straight as I write this! Ah, if only it would last.
6/27/07 1:36 PM
lmg said...
Lovely variations on this blouse, both the gingham and stripes. I think I may need to make this again with your inspiration.
6/27/07 1:12 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh my, they're gorgeous!
6/27/07 1:10 PM
nicegirl said...
I love this pattern, too. I think you've just bumped it closer to the top of my list for making again. It looks great in black, and love your use of stripes.
6/27/07 12:43 PM
Re Becca said...
This is so cute. I tried this pattern, but didn't like it on me, you have the waist to carry it very well. Nice blouse.
6/27/07 10:21 AM
latebloomer said...
Both your tops are so pretty! I have this pattern but haven't decided on fabric yet. I might have to copy your sleeve changes, since the ones in the pattern seem a bit poufy for me, too.
6/27/07 9:48 AM
cindy-lou said...
Inspiring! I love both of these. I agree with you-- I prefer the pleated peplum to the gathered one. Love your bias binding. As for teh forward shoulder... I find myself sitting taller in my chair after reading NancyK's comments (ahem). This is one of Tim Gunn's soapbox topics in his book, too.
6/27/07 9:44 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful blouses
6/27/07 9:42 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice shirts! Maybe your fitting issue is a forward shoulder. This makes the sleeve tight. This is pretty common these days with everyone at computers so much. I really like your design changes, especially the peplum in the striped shirt.
6/27/07 7:23 AM
Lunar_C said...
I wouldn't have looked twice at the vogue version. But both your versions are stunning. One for day, one for night. I like your sleeves far better. Well done.
6/27/07 3:37 AM
Leora said...
One more thought before I drive you crazy LOL. Checkout foodnetwork.com on Giada's weekend getaway page. Her aqua outfit is basically this bodice with a cut-on cap sleeve but extended into a dress, don't you think? Just thought you would be interested ~:) You can see the full view of the dress in the slideshow.
6/27/07 1:28 AM
Leora said...
Love that black top! It reminds me of a favorite blouse I used to have. Thanks for your review! I must pull this pattern out and look it over while keeping your sleeve changes in mind :) I also have to add that I bought black and silver stripe fabric for this and chickened out... now that I think about it... I LOVE your black top... can you tell? hehe.
6/27/07 1:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1323

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info