Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8196 (Romantic Retro Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2111 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:ladybegood
photo
Friend of PR
About ladybegoodstarstar
Member since: 5/19/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/07 0:59 AM
Last Updated:8/1/07 11:32 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Love that black top! It reminds me of a favorite blouse I used to have. Thanks for your review! I must pull this pattern out and look it over while keeping your sleeve changes in mind :) I also have to add that I bought black and silver stripe fabric for this and chickened out... now that I think about it... I LOVE your black top... can you tell? hehe.
6/27/07 1:17 AM
Leora said...
One more thought before I drive you crazy LOL. Checkout foodnetwork.com on Giada's weekend getaway page. Her aqua outfit is basically this bodice with a cut-on cap sleeve but extended into a dress, don't you think? Just thought you would be interested ~:) You can see the full view of the dress in the slideshow.
6/27/07 1:28 AM
Lunar_C said...
I wouldn't have looked twice at the vogue version. But both your versions are stunning. One for day, one for night. I like your sleeves far better. Well done.
6/27/07 3:37 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice shirts! Maybe your fitting issue is a forward shoulder. This makes the sleeve tight. This is pretty common these days with everyone at computers so much. I really like your design changes, especially the peplum in the striped shirt.
6/27/07 7:23 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful blouses
6/27/07 9:42 AM
cindy-lou said...
Inspiring! I love both of these. I agree with you-- I prefer the pleated peplum to the gathered one. Love your bias binding. As for teh forward shoulder... I find myself sitting taller in my chair after reading NancyK's comments (ahem). This is one of Tim Gunn's soapbox topics in his book, too.
6/27/07 9:44 AM
latebloomer said...
Both your tops are so pretty! I have this pattern but haven't decided on fabric yet. I might have to copy your sleeve changes, since the ones in the pattern seem a bit poufy for me, too.
6/27/07 9:48 AM
Re Becca said...
This is so cute. I tried this pattern, but didn't like it on me, you have the waist to carry it very well. Nice blouse.
6/27/07 10:21 AM
nicegirl said...
I love this pattern, too. I think you've just bumped it closer to the top of my list for making again. It looks great in black, and love your use of stripes.
6/27/07 12:43 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh my, they're gorgeous!
6/27/07 1:10 PM
lmg said...
Lovely variations on this blouse, both the gingham and stripes. I think I may need to make this again with your inspiration.
6/27/07 1:12 PM
mendospot said...
I really like the gingham-like fabric top (the other is nice too!) I'm sitting straight as I write this! Ah, if only it would last.
6/27/07 1:36 PM
ryan's mom said...
Cute, cute, cute!!! I love this look on you.
6/27/07 4:47 PM
ryan's mom said...
Cute, cute, cute!!! I love this look on you.
6/27/07 4:47 PM
bunz said...
You really managed to achieve a great fit on this -- looks very good on you.
6/27/07 6:46 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Really really cute!
6/27/07 9:24 PM
Nancywin said...
Nice job on the tops - and good review. Thanks
6/28/07 4:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job on both versions.
6/28/07 5:31 AM
elanor said...
Lovely and a really great review. I am cutting this shirt tonight and am altering the sleeves, too. This is review couldn't be more helpful. Thanks a lot.
6/28/07 5:41 PM
morzel said...
I like your three versions of this top alot! Especially the idea of turning it into a dress is great and looks good!
8/1/07 2:25 AM
Kim Winson said...
Very cute shirts! The pleats look great, I'll have to copy your idea... I've had my eye on this pattern but I've shied away because of the button loops. Did you follow the pattern or did you use a different technique for making the button loops? thanks!
8/1/07 5:19 AM
MissCelie said...
What fun, cool variations. You make it look so simple to just vary your pattern a little to change things up. I am in love with the red gingham!
8/1/07 6:32 AM
mahalosu said...
This pattern is half done and sitting in a wad in my sewing pile. I am going to dig it back out. I love what you did to the sleeves. Great improvement. And I like the dress idea.
8/1/07 9:05 AM
Tez said...
Wow! All of these look great. I love the bias midriff inset. Very pretty.
8/1/07 3:17 PM
nicegirl said...
That is great as a dress! I may have to pull my copy of the pattern back out. I love it as a blouse.
8/1/07 3:20 PM
Birdie757 said...
I love the fact that you used pleats instead of gathers on the black top...I was just in Banana Republic today and a lot the tops had scoop neck lines with pleats instead of gathers...I really love the clean look the pleats give the top.
8/3/07 4:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Kwik Sew 2521
photo
Review by Kayseri on 4/24/09
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 11-2007-11 Broek (pants)
photo
Review by LeahT on 9/25/09
Read Review

Petite Plus 203 Pattern
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7188 Pattern
Burda 7188 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us