Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1213 (Mandarin Shirt Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 977 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Terri Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Smithstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/07 9:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
Very nice, lovely job!
6/27/07 10:05 PM
Tiner W said...
This jacket has such a lovely fit on you--I had thought it was too boxy until I saw yours. Beautiful!
6/27/07 10:52 PM
mClones said...
Very smart. Doesn't need the shoulder pads in my opinion.
6/28/07 0:12 AM
Liane M said...
I agree with Mclones on the shoulder pads. I have this pattern but thought it would be too box like. I guess I'll have to dig it out. Thanks for bringing this pattern back to my attention. Yours look great.
6/28/07 5:52 AM
Fran G said...
Really pretty jacket/shirt. I love the fabric; very classy!
6/28/07 6:41 AM
Linda G said...
Very nice looking jacket.
6/28/07 9:07 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - I guess for me the shoulder pads would have to be in - I am one with wimpy shoulders so... You do have nice shoulders so either with or without looks good on you.
6/28/07 9:13 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Your version is so lovely in linen!
6/28/07 9:44 AM
MissCelie said...
I like it! First you make that awesome shirt with the perfect design placement then you have this jacket too!
6/28/07 10:24 AM
Karine said...
I think your jacket is terrific! It looks great both with and without the shoulder pads. I have this pattern but haven't made it yet. You said you made the small. Just to get a sense of how it's sized, what size in a Vogue pattern would you typically use? Also, could you explain what happened to your buttons? I didn't understand why the four holes made the frong bulge?
6/28/07 7:02 PM
Birgitte said...
Your jacket looks great on you!
6/28/07 8:40 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Did you lengthen the sleeves, too? The pattern seems to show three-quarter length.
6/29/07 7:53 AM
Terri Smith said...
Karine: I ususally start with a size 12 in Vogue. Across my back at the shoulders is really closer to a 10, but my front is bigger, so I start at 12. My bust measurement is 36.5 to 37 and that matches the size for a small in this pattern. Because the button reguires thread to run vertically, the same direction as the buttonhole, and horizontally, it makes the button hole bulge because the stitching is wider than the buttonhole opening. If I do not button the jacket, no one is the wiser. Seamingly Simple: No, I did not lengthen the sleeves, I just have shorter arms. Thanks everyone for the kind words. Terri
6/29/07 6:00 PM
selvage said...
beautiful jacket on you; elegant and simple. looks great with your jeans.
5/23/09 10:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used grand-daughter quilt
photo
Review by lvs2sew on 12/26/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4055 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4055 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3130 Women's Shirt
photo
Review by 1SewSweet on 1/25/14
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us