SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1213 (Mandarin Shirt Jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 982 times 
Reviewed by:Terri Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Smithstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/07 9:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
Very nice, lovely job!
6/27/07 10:05 PM
Tiner W said...
This jacket has such a lovely fit on you--I had thought it was too boxy until I saw yours. Beautiful!
6/27/07 10:52 PM
mClones said...
Very smart. Doesn't need the shoulder pads in my opinion.
6/28/07 0:12 AM
Liane M said...
I agree with Mclones on the shoulder pads. I have this pattern but thought it would be too box like. I guess I'll have to dig it out. Thanks for bringing this pattern back to my attention. Yours look great.
6/28/07 5:52 AM
Fran G said...
Really pretty jacket/shirt. I love the fabric; very classy!
6/28/07 6:41 AM
Linda G said...
Very nice looking jacket.
6/28/07 9:07 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - I guess for me the shoulder pads would have to be in - I am one with wimpy shoulders so... You do have nice shoulders so either with or without looks good on you.
6/28/07 9:13 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Your version is so lovely in linen!
6/28/07 9:44 AM
MissCelie said...
I like it! First you make that awesome shirt with the perfect design placement then you have this jacket too!
6/28/07 10:24 AM
Karine said...
I think your jacket is terrific! It looks great both with and without the shoulder pads. I have this pattern but haven't made it yet. You said you made the small. Just to get a sense of how it's sized, what size in a Vogue pattern would you typically use? Also, could you explain what happened to your buttons? I didn't understand why the four holes made the frong bulge?
6/28/07 7:02 PM
Birgitte said...
Your jacket looks great on you!
6/28/07 8:40 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Did you lengthen the sleeves, too? The pattern seems to show three-quarter length.
6/29/07 7:53 AM
Terri Smith said...
Karine: I ususally start with a size 12 in Vogue. Across my back at the shoulders is really closer to a 10, but my front is bigger, so I start at 12. My bust measurement is 36.5 to 37 and that matches the size for a small in this pattern. Because the button reguires thread to run vertically, the same direction as the buttonhole, and horizontally, it makes the button hole bulge because the stitching is wider than the buttonhole opening. If I do not button the jacket, no one is the wiser. Seamingly Simple: No, I did not lengthen the sleeves, I just have shorter arms. Thanks everyone for the kind words. Terri
6/29/07 6:00 PM
selvage said...
beautiful jacket on you; elegant and simple. looks great with your jeans.
5/23/09 10:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1273

photo
by: ak165

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now