Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2007-110 (Princess-Seam Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1158 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/07 5:58 PM
Last Updated:8/26/07 6:11 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
busy91 said...
I really like the fabric. It came out great.
8/26/07 7:37 PM
brrmm said...
Thanks for your very helpful review. May give this one a go with your sleeve option too. Your top looks fabulous, great work.
8/26/07 7:39 PM
AngieC said...
I absolutely love your shirt! Love the fabric too... just perfect.
8/26/07 8:56 PM
Immelu said...
That fabric is fantastic! Great job of showing it off!
8/26/07 9:35 PM
Linda G said...
I have traced that pattern but never sewn it....thanks for the info on the neckline...I think I may have already raised it...I will have to look and see how much. I like your sleeve idea. Yes I was also surprised when I realized that the back wrapped around into the front. Your fabric is absolutely wonderful.
8/26/07 11:37 PM
Marilyn N. said...
I love your fabric & the finished tee shirt looks great!
8/27/07 2:28 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I think you could start riots with this one anyway! it's gorgeous and thankyou for an excellent review. I have just spent the past 1/2 hour trawling through Spandex House's website.
8/27/07 4:05 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Loved your fabric choice - and great idea about the sleeves! I made it in stretch lace and in hindsight no sleeve seam would have made a nicer finish....
8/27/07 5:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this fabric!!!! Made into a great looking T, sort of Chico style. Love the look of the scoop neck, who would have thought it would be so low!
8/27/07 5:28 AM
MissCelie said...
Lovely fabric, beautiful top and look at your perfectly flat neck binding. Love it.
8/27/07 8:18 AM
Marji said...
Very cute fabric for that top. Congrats on conquering the issues and getting it finished up.
8/27/07 9:08 AM
Levone said...
Nice tee!
8/27/07 10:14 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Gorgeous tee - I adore your fabric, drool, drool.
8/27/07 11:23 AM
slanden99 said...
Love your top! nice job on it
8/27/07 12:18 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, I love this top! The fabric is fabulous too.
8/27/07 5:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice tee, nice fabric and thanks for all the detailed info on the pattern.
8/27/07 7:34 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, you're doing the sleeves the way the Textile Studio madison top is for instance, raglans with a shoulder dart. I agree that's much better. Thanks for the description of pattern pieces, it makes more sense!
8/29/07 8:28 AM
Isabella Julia said...
I love your top. Thanks for the very helpful advice about the sleeves. Am puzzled as to why Burda WOF tops are all so low in the neck?
8/29/07 6:47 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for an extremely useful review. Your top looks great and was obviously worth the extra time it took to figure out how to achieve the fit and comfort you want.
8/30/07 11:55 AM
Deepika said...
Karen, I am about to make this pattern so your sleeve adjustment tips are a real help. Thanks for the review.
2/19/08 1:41 PM
Athene said...
This is a gorgeous top - I love the fabric. Thank you for the very helpful review.
7/15/08 1:17 AM
oceandaughter said...
I am grateful for this detailed review; I have just bought Burda 7832, which is the same design, and I'm hoping to make it work for me!
11/7/09 9:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

New Look 6190
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 5/12/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3504 Men's Jeans
photo
Review by becca a on 5/4/09
Read Review

McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size 12-14 )
McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size 12-14 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3989 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3989 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us