Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6621 (Misses Blouse)

12 more reviews
Viewed 843 times 
Reviewed by:scrappycat
photo

 
 
About scrappycatstar
TN USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews: 6 (patterns: 6)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/07 1:27 PM
Last Updated:6/29/07 1:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Helen near Sydney said... (7/12/07 6:41 PM) Reply
What a beautiful blouse you've made, a real credit to you.
AlexaNJ said... (7/6/07 11:11 AM) Reply
I love your combination of fabric choices! Looks great!
Deb Fox said... (6/30/07 10:03 AM) Reply
Another great top! Not only do we have the same taste in patterns, we're also the same age, and I too have that little "pooch"! You are doing a terrific job on your reviews, and I can't wait to see what you do next. You are inspiring me to sew up all those patterns I have been stashing. Love your mix of fabrics in this top.
So So said... (6/30/07 8:09 AM) Reply
It is a neat wee top! I made view D for my holiday, omited back darts- prevent FBA alteration . Thanks for the advice about the sleeve fit etc. Will bear that in mind when i do the short sleeve version. As was said above you might like it better ina few days. I also felt could be a bit longer. But feel sometimes that can make you look bigger if you try to cover it up. I thought considering my big tum it was reasonably slimming. Thanks for the review.
JenSews2 said... (6/29/07 5:27 PM) Reply
Love the colors! Very summery. I agree..cute top!
Judy Wentz said... (6/29/07 5:05 PM) Reply
I agree with all, it is very cute....wait a few days and try it on again. Maybe it will "grow" on you. You did a great job of sewing.
Lori V said... (6/29/07 4:54 PM) Reply
Cute blouse, and very cute fabric. I am sorry this didn't work out for you.
LoriB said... (6/29/07 3:51 PM) Reply
It looks very cute and you did a very nice job on the collar band. I also like the combination of the two fabrics. It looks great! I know how frustrating it is when you put so much time into something and it just doesn't look right on you. But no project is a failure. You learned how to sew some new design elements (good for you!) and you also know more about the right (or wrong) styles for you. Even if you don't wear it, it's a success, I think!
Lynnelle said... (6/29/07 3:20 PM) Reply
Well done. It looks great!
ladybegood said... (6/29/07 2:54 PM) Reply
I love your fabric choice. Maybe if you wear it with a cami it will be more flattering. Thanks for the fitting tips.
MissCelie said... (6/29/07 2:30 PM) Reply
It is really really cute. I'm sorry you don't like it on yourself. Maybe it just takes some getting used to? It's adorable.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Pin-up Girls 1230

photo
by: InnerMuse

Review
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Pattern Details