Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Islander Sewing Systems: Road Runner (Road Runner) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1592 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Lee Ann Hawkins
photo
Friend of PR
About Lee Ann Hawkinsstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/11/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/03 5:10 AM
Last Updated:2/13/03 5:00 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
I would love to see a more detailed photograph of the front, and larger. I have this pattern and have put off sewing it up as it seems too fussy with all those seams and the lining. How long did it take to sew up? Also, I heard Margaret talk about her sizing. She said people ask her why the sizes were so large, and she said, "because I always wanted to wear a medium, and when I made up the pattern, that's how I sized it. So I could wear a medium!" She has a great sense of humor.
2/10/03 8:53 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Sherril, I changed the photo to a front shot, but it is not much more detailed (I'm still learning about digital cameras and pixel resolutions!). It really is a great jacket to wear and deserves to be made up in a snappier fabric than I used first time around. I think I made it in two days, on a weekend, from start to finish--that's probably a total of about 3-4 hours I would guess. What takes me time is if the pattern doesn't go together well and then I have to rip out or figure out what to do. This pattern goes together like a dream, so don't worry about the seams. The collar and lapels are really easy. The lining is a snap. Thanks for that tidbit on Margaret! I love it!
2/13/03 5:07 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Quote Sherril,' "She said people ask her why the sizes were so large, and she said, "because I always wanted to wear a medium, and when I made up the pattern, that's how I sized it. So I could wear a medium!" ' That's great for Margaret, but those of us who normally wear smaller sizes are out of luck. I agree with Lee Ann -- this is a great jacket -- but it doesn't come small enough. Even my DH commented that it looked too big; but I like the jacket enough that I'm going to grade the shoulders down...someday!
2/13/03 10:54 AM
Tessa said...
I am disappointed that the Islander web site doesn't give measurements for the sizes. It's pretty vague to say if you wear size 8-10 make a small. Whose 8-10? Ready to wear? Vogue? Kwik Sew? It sounds as if even a small might be too big for me, so I wouldn't buy this pattern.
4/23/03 5:13 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Lee Ann, your jacket looks really pretty - much nicer than the pattern envelope! I too have learned lots from Margaret in classes and videos - she is a fountain of knowledge! I believe that an independent designer generally designs for his/her own figure, if your figure is different you will have to make more alterations. For instance, I'm not shaped like Loes Hinse but I love her patterns and happily alter them to fit my rounder figure. When I made a Cutting Line pattern I had to make the smallest size and grade it down from there - the extra fabric looks great on someone tall but is too much for me to carry off. Knowing what the designer looks like is pretty helpful.
4/23/03 7:51 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Dear Tessa, I am at work currently but will dig up the pattern at home and see if there are sizes on pattern envelope itself. Gigi, you are so right. I have found the same thing about the designers, esp in areas such as back waist length, bust fullness, shoulder width, waist. It is helpful to meet or see the pattern designers! Thanks for your comments. Do try this jacket if you have the pattern and time, it is very comfy.
4/24/03 10:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Larisa on 6/26/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7364 COORDINATES
photo
Review by nickelc624 on 6/22/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us