SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Islander Sewing Systems> Road Runner (Road Runner)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1596 times 
Reviewed by:Lee Ann Hawkins
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lee Ann Hawkinsstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/11/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/03 5:10 AM
Last Updated:2/13/03 5:00 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
I would love to see a more detailed photograph of the front, and larger. I have this pattern and have put off sewing it up as it seems too fussy with all those seams and the lining. How long did it take to sew up? Also, I heard Margaret talk about her sizing. She said people ask her why the sizes were so large, and she said, "because I always wanted to wear a medium, and when I made up the pattern, that's how I sized it. So I could wear a medium!" She has a great sense of humor.
2/10/03 8:53 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Sherril, I changed the photo to a front shot, but it is not much more detailed (I'm still learning about digital cameras and pixel resolutions!). It really is a great jacket to wear and deserves to be made up in a snappier fabric than I used first time around. I think I made it in two days, on a weekend, from start to finish--that's probably a total of about 3-4 hours I would guess. What takes me time is if the pattern doesn't go together well and then I have to rip out or figure out what to do. This pattern goes together like a dream, so don't worry about the seams. The collar and lapels are really easy. The lining is a snap. Thanks for that tidbit on Margaret! I love it!
2/13/03 5:07 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Quote Sherril,' "She said people ask her why the sizes were so large, and she said, "because I always wanted to wear a medium, and when I made up the pattern, that's how I sized it. So I could wear a medium!" ' That's great for Margaret, but those of us who normally wear smaller sizes are out of luck. I agree with Lee Ann -- this is a great jacket -- but it doesn't come small enough. Even my DH commented that it looked too big; but I like the jacket enough that I'm going to grade the shoulders down...someday!
2/13/03 10:54 AM
Tessa said...
I am disappointed that the Islander web site doesn't give measurements for the sizes. It's pretty vague to say if you wear size 8-10 make a small. Whose 8-10? Ready to wear? Vogue? Kwik Sew? It sounds as if even a small might be too big for me, so I wouldn't buy this pattern.
4/23/03 5:13 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Lee Ann, your jacket looks really pretty - much nicer than the pattern envelope! I too have learned lots from Margaret in classes and videos - she is a fountain of knowledge! I believe that an independent designer generally designs for his/her own figure, if your figure is different you will have to make more alterations. For instance, I'm not shaped like Loes Hinse but I love her patterns and happily alter them to fit my rounder figure. When I made a Cutting Line pattern I had to make the smallest size and grade it down from there - the extra fabric looks great on someone tall but is too much for me to carry off. Knowing what the designer looks like is pretty helpful.
4/23/03 7:51 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Dear Tessa, I am at work currently but will dig up the pattern at home and see if there are sizes on pattern envelope itself. Gigi, you are so right. I have found the same thing about the designers, esp in areas such as back waist length, bust fullness, shoulder width, waist. It is helpful to meet or see the pattern designers! Thanks for your comments. Do try this jacket if you have the pattern and time, it is very comfy.
4/24/03 10:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2008-104

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now