Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2007-104 (Jacket) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1486 times
Review rated Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/07 11:40 AM
Last Updated:6/30/07 11:46 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
62 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSY said...
Fabulous look!
6/30/07 11:59 AM
Miss Adrienne said...
Oh, Cidell, another stunning creation. This looks fabulous on you. Thanks for the review. I need a summer jacket too, and hadn't considered this one until I read your review!
6/30/07 12:00 PM
Sigrid. said...
Cidell, this is a wonderful jacket. I will browse through my BWOF issue tonight, as I didn't notice this before! Beautiful done.
6/30/07 12:07 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Ohhhh, this is so perfect on you. I love the whole shape, but the pointed placket is what takes it over the top. It's wonderful!
6/30/07 12:08 PM
Annika said...
Whoa! Utterly fantastic! It looks great on you. I wouldn't have done bound buttonholes or lining as I am the laziest woman in the world. This jacket doesn't need them.
6/30/07 12:17 PM
sewbehind said...
That is wonderful. Great job. I love the stripe placement.
6/30/07 12:54 PM
Erica B. said...
I absolutely love this jacket... It looks fab on you!
6/30/07 1:19 PM
jlg said...
Such a cute jacket. Fantastic job.
6/30/07 1:24 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Too cute!
6/30/07 1:24 PM
Enid E said...
What A nice jacket and it looks wonderful on you!
6/30/07 1:28 PM
Diane E said...
Your new jacket is beautiful and so well-fitted. Love it!
6/30/07 2:05 PM
Linda G said...
I love your jacket...I have fabric in my stash for it....but by the time I get around to it ...three more patterns will be out that I like too...You did a great job on it....I love the seersucker.
6/30/07 2:06 PM
SansSouci572 said...
It took longer to take the pictures! All the stripes make it look complicated! It looks like a Hurley jacket I had my eye on.
6/30/07 2:20 PM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket!! Yours looks a lot better than the one in Burda.
6/30/07 2:35 PM
cindy-lou said...
To quote Ronald Reagan, 'Well, Cidell, there you go again.' You are awesome! I do love the stripes and the nouveau cut. So Hip!
6/30/07 3:07 PM
rosannec said...
Awesome jacket, Cidell! Another winner, but of course. It looked way too mod for me on the model, but your version makes one reconsider. I keep saying to myself that I will make something out of seersucker and your jacket continues to inspire!
6/30/07 3:39 PM
carolynw said...
Wow and then Wow again!! Absolutely stunning
6/30/07 4:07 PM
Sheila457 said...
Gorgeous jacket and looks versatile.
6/30/07 4:34 PM
SandraB said...
This jacket looks great. I never even considered making this one until I saw your pictures. Great job.
6/30/07 4:54 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking jacket. You have added some wonderful pieces to your wardrobe.
6/30/07 5:30 PM
lmg said...
Love it, Love it! I have some striped linen/hemp I was considering for this pattern but cut out another from April's issue. Now I am kicking myself!! Are you switching from dresses to jackets...??
6/30/07 5:40 PM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely jacket, thank you for the review another to add to the must make list :-)
6/30/07 5:48 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous jacket Cidell!!!
6/30/07 7:10 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jacket, love the stripe design. Another winner!
6/30/07 7:14 PM
Nancywin said...
Wow! You finished it - and it looks GOOD! Great job!
6/30/07 7:20 PM
megp47 said...
It looks incredible! I want one.
6/30/07 7:51 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful match of fabric to pattern to a style that looks great on you...I really enjoy your reviews.
6/30/07 8:17 PM
Ann Smith said...
Adorable. It looks like it took a lot of time to make.
6/30/07 8:33 PM
Beve said...
You not only have an eye for fabric with pattern but the technique to make it all work. I so enjoy your reviews. This is wonderful on you..
6/30/07 9:24 PM
PhyllisC said...
I love seersucker - this is great!
6/30/07 9:47 PM
BettyMike said...
Holy Cow! You and your jacket are fabulous! What a fantastic job!
6/30/07 11:02 PM
EveS said...
I want it. End of story.
7/1/07 0:09 AM
Betsybobbin said...
So cute! You've inspired me!
7/1/07 0:17 AM
pterion said...
Sublime. I want it too. The styling of this pattern is really wonderful, but as always, your fabric choice takes it further than the magazine photos.
7/1/07 0:27 AM
Powergirl said...
Wow Cidell - that's a fantastic looking jacket. Thanks for sharing.
7/1/07 0:51 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Excellent. your figure and talent make everything look perfect!
7/1/07 2:51 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Ooh, this looks -much- better than any seersucker jacket I've ever seen :-). And it's great for the Maryland steambath, you were right not to line it. Really smashing!
7/1/07 4:13 AM
scrappycat said...
Absolutely fabulous. You are so talented. Will you please come sew for me?
7/1/07 6:57 AM
blue mooney said...
Cidell, you make the CUTEST things! Isn't seersucker a breeze to work with?
7/1/07 8:12 AM
nimble said...
I don't know if it is your fabulous sewing or the way you look in what you sew but I always get excited when I see a review from you!!!
7/1/07 8:17 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/1/07 8:23 AM
nicegirl said...
I can't believe that was fast to make. It looks intricate and I really love the way the stripes worked out. Very jealous of your lovely summer jacket!
7/1/07 9:23 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is the cutest jacket Cidell - you did an awesome job!!!!
7/1/07 10:42 AM
Sharon M said...
This is so cute! It looks like it took much longer than you said it did. This is the one issue of BWOF I was able to find at the bookstore so I *must* pull it out and get busy.
7/1/07 11:56 AM
Heatherrique said...
Cidell, that's so eyecatching! Gorgeous!
7/1/07 12:34 PM
Karen6790 said...
I didn't buy this issue because nothing caught my eye. Why didn't this jacket get me? It's fabulous, and I love how it looks on you. Great job, and I'm looking forward to seeing the matching pants.
7/1/07 12:37 PM
Jane S said...
Spectacular jacket, bravo again!
7/1/07 1:03 PM
washer_woman said...
Too cute -- I love it!
7/1/07 4:01 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Very very cool jacket. Looks awesome!!
7/1/07 5:44 PM
Sewing Chick said...
What a great jacket! It fits you so well. I can't believe you didn't have to make any alterations. Don't you love it when you can buy fabric for dirt cheap and make something that looks sooooo expensive?
7/1/07 11:10 PM
Marji said...
This is a great look on you
7/2/07 4:01 AM
squirrellypoo said...
That's so fab! I didn't even look twice at that jacket in the magazine, what with all the pretty dresses, but I may just need to make that now...
7/2/07 7:55 AM
katyusha said...
Awesome!
7/2/07 12:35 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell--I am waiting for you to make something that I DON'T love!! This is an awesome jacket, and of course, I want to make it. I haven't figured out the Burda thing yet, though. you did a beautiful job, it doesn't look like it would come together fast. Awesome!
7/2/07 3:13 PM
Terri Smith said...
You are my sewing idol!
7/2/07 8:49 PM
Kiro said...
I have to say, I get very excited when I see there is a review from you, I love reading them. Everything is always so well done. Beautiful jacket.
7/5/07 2:48 PM
ChristineX said...
This is a beautiful jacket! Bravo!! =)
7/15/07 9:20 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I am awestuck: this is a GREAT jacket! Did you ever get a nice fit, too.
7/15/07 9:48 PM
Simka72 said...
gorgeous jacket, looks great on you!
8/4/07 11:59 AM
Nancy K said...
don't know how I missed this review. It looks terrific on you.
8/15/07 3:15 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful jacket on you Cidell! I'm not long a member of SPR but already loving your reviews and beautiful wardrobe..... all I have to do now is actually get working a lot harder to sew a few more pieces!
9/12/07 8:51 AM
Sunny_D said...
Beautiful!
10/15/07 6:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4386
photo
Review by HelenM01 on 6/19/13
Read Review

Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7102 Pattern
Burda 7102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6440 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 1/29/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us