SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3416 (Misses Dresses and Swimsuits)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1034 times 
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo

 
 
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/07 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireSky said...
I love the fabric. It looks very nice on you too!
9/2/09 6:05 AM
Brillig said...
Good for you on going with a bold print. It looks fun, stylish and very "current". I get so tired of the "solid and dark colors are best" rule for curvy women. I like prints. Big and bold prints even, so you go girl! Your swimmer turned out well, looks nice, and suits you.
5/5/08 5:20 PM
mClones said...
looks very cute!
10/31/07 7:30 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Great suit - maybe keep the pattern to remake again in a few years as it suits you so well.
7/2/07 5:33 PM
moss said...
I think this suit looks extremely hot on you and I love the fabric! It really looks fantastic and I hope you enjoy wearing it! :)
7/2/07 9:04 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous suit and wonderful colors on you. Bravo!
7/1/07 1:13 PM
zora said...
Very cute, the style and the colour suit you. There are several types of chlor resistant elastic. I have one that looks just like normal elastic but is chlor and salt water resistant. Don't regular elastic, some regular stuff breaks down after the first bath (don't ask how I know ;) )
7/1/07 9:14 AM
Sewliz said...
How beautiful, you look like a sea goddess! You will catch Neptune's eye so be careful. I don't like working with clear elastic either and always used the generic elastic which seemed to hold up well.
7/1/07 7:36 AM
valerie sews said...
Love the dress and the material. I have this pattern and an going to attempt to make a swimsuit for the next Aussie summer...thaks for your review.
7/1/07 5:10 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Mm.. clear elastic doesn't stick to my machine, and I just pin lightly through it at long intervals, stretch between pins as I sew. Maybe you need a teflon foot? However, it does stretch much more than 'regular', so you have to watch those measures. Plus it doesn't recover entirely - you have to stretch it one good time before you go, or it'll never go back to the size you started with. I still think it's the best, because it's so light and won't make a big lump on the edge of your swimsuit. Apart from all those technical things, your suit is great, I -adore- the fabric. Never an excuse to have anything boring if you make it yourself :-).
7/1/07 4:06 AM
MareeAlison said...
I really like your suit and the colour is much nicer than black. I use clear elastic on swimmers and I can offer some ideas if you like. You can use a teflon based foot - it won't stick then. The Threads website suggests you put the elastic under the fabric to sew, this could possibly work. I used Jeans needles when I sewed my swimmers (this was suggested by the people who taught us). They use Jeans needles all the time and hardly ever change them regardless of what they're sewing. I did try ball point but they didn't work as well for me.
7/1/07 3:56 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful - I, too, prefer color to black
7/1/07 0:25 AM
LauraAnn12 said...
KathleenS, yes, the bodice for view B is the same, so it can be done easily...but incredibly, they don't even mention it! Ha!
6/30/07 11:38 PM
KathleenS said...
Looking at the design I think it's astonishing that they didn't include instructions for making the swim dress with the body suit pattern attached as you suggest, at least as an option. I presume the bodice pieces are the same? Enjoy your new suit.
6/30/07 10:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-119

photo
by: Janiki

Review
Vogue Patterns V8151

photo
by: Austragirl

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

More Info
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

More Info