Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3416 (Misses Dresses and Swimsuits) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1026 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/07 9:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Looking at the design I think it's astonishing that they didn't include instructions for making the swim dress with the body suit pattern attached as you suggest, at least as an option. I presume the bodice pieces are the same? Enjoy your new suit.
6/30/07 10:10 PM
LauraAnn12 said...
KathleenS, yes, the bodice for view B is the same, so it can be done easily...but incredibly, they don't even mention it! Ha!
6/30/07 11:38 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful - I, too, prefer color to black
7/1/07 0:25 AM
MareeAlison said...
I really like your suit and the colour is much nicer than black. I use clear elastic on swimmers and I can offer some ideas if you like. You can use a teflon based foot - it won't stick then. The Threads website suggests you put the elastic under the fabric to sew, this could possibly work. I used Jeans needles when I sewed my swimmers (this was suggested by the people who taught us). They use Jeans needles all the time and hardly ever change them regardless of what they're sewing. I did try ball point but they didn't work as well for me.
7/1/07 3:56 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Mm.. clear elastic doesn't stick to my machine, and I just pin lightly through it at long intervals, stretch between pins as I sew. Maybe you need a teflon foot? However, it does stretch much more than 'regular', so you have to watch those measures. Plus it doesn't recover entirely - you have to stretch it one good time before you go, or it'll never go back to the size you started with. I still think it's the best, because it's so light and won't make a big lump on the edge of your swimsuit. Apart from all those technical things, your suit is great, I -adore- the fabric. Never an excuse to have anything boring if you make it yourself :-).
7/1/07 4:06 AM
valerie sews said...
Love the dress and the material. I have this pattern and an going to attempt to make a swimsuit for the next Aussie summer...thaks for your review.
7/1/07 5:10 AM
Sewliz said...
How beautiful, you look like a sea goddess! You will catch Neptune's eye so be careful. I don't like working with clear elastic either and always used the generic elastic which seemed to hold up well.
7/1/07 7:36 AM
zora said...
Very cute, the style and the colour suit you. There are several types of chlor resistant elastic. I have one that looks just like normal elastic but is chlor and salt water resistant. Don't regular elastic, some regular stuff breaks down after the first bath (don't ask how I know ;) )
7/1/07 9:14 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous suit and wonderful colors on you. Bravo!
7/1/07 1:13 PM
moss said...
I think this suit looks extremely hot on you and I love the fabric! It really looks fantastic and I hope you enjoy wearing it! :)
7/2/07 9:04 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Great suit - maybe keep the pattern to remake again in a few years as it suits you so well.
7/2/07 5:33 PM
mClones said...
looks very cute!
10/31/07 7:30 AM
Brillig said...
Good for you on going with a bold print. It looks fun, stylish and very "current". I get so tired of the "solid and dark colors are best" rule for curvy women. I like prints. Big and bold prints even, so you go girl! Your swimmer turned out well, looks nice, and suits you.
5/5/08 5:20 PM
ClaireSky said...
I love the fabric. It looks very nice on you too!
9/2/09 6:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Self Drafted Pattern 29655-1000
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 8/5/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30 Groovy skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/3/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us