SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> Home Couture #13 (#13 - Home Couture)

Viewed 851 times 
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo

 
 
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/07 4:43 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissRita_ca said...
I like the dress on you, it really suits you. Is the book available in Canada?
7/1/07 5:40 PM
Birgitte said...
That's just a beautiful dress! I love it on you and I love how you composed the picture by the window... truly 'home couture'.
7/1/07 5:50 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - this looks great and I love black on you.
7/1/07 6:36 PM
Sport said...
Absolutely exquisite on you! Those buttons are fantastic! Have to love those flea market finds.
7/1/07 9:27 PM
Stitch Wench said...
I saw your blog, and I think the buttons look very lovely on this dress and you did a good job. If you work with a light batiste in the future, you may double the skirt if you want no see through.
7/1/07 9:44 PM
Vivienne said...
I love your choice of buttons and the contrast stitching! Miss Rita, I've seen the book in Vancouver.
7/2/07 3:24 AM
Marji said...
Lovely dress!
7/2/07 3:54 AM
Tany said...
Your dress is precious! Thank you for this very helpful review! (and I will try to find that book!)
7/2/07 4:08 AM
madhatter said...
Thank you, ladies! FYI: The book is available at yesasia.com or amazon.jp. Both sell and ship worldwide. Any Kinokuniya bookstores will have this or order it for you :) Stitch Wench - Thanks for the hint. Indeed I thought about doubling the skirt first, but then went with the "normal" lining fabric, as the outside fabric tends to "climb up" whatever you wear underneath ;)
7/2/07 6:05 AM
Hilary said...
Lovely!! Your dress is so cute, and looks great on you. I love the ruffles, they are just enough without being too frilly. Great review!
7/2/07 6:49 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
7/2/07 12:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress...very vintage and very nicely done. :)
7/2/07 4:47 PM
MissCelie said...
I need to get online and beat all the other PR people to this book. I've gots to get it. This dress is wonderful!
7/2/07 11:28 PM
jhansby said...
I live in Japan and have just discovered other books by this author....I'm going to start buying them up!! Gorgeous dress!! Do you have any problems adjusting the patterns to fit "non-Japanese" sized bodies?
7/3/07 6:48 AM
madhatter said...
very kind of you all :) jhansby - i don't need to adjust the patterns. i'm very small and relatively "flat", so i don't have issues with the fitting. for everyone taller than me (5'3"), with more bust than "barely a B-cup" etc. a lot of alteration will be needed. anyways - it's do-able!
7/3/07 4:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8749

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
New Look 6557

photo
by: Home Grown...

Review

Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now