Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Park Bench patterns: 20 (Woodstock) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1658 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Lee Ann Hawkins
photo
Friend of PR
About Lee Ann Hawkinsstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/11/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/03 3:23 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PamJr said...
Thanks for the review, Lee Ann. I have a Park Bench pattern that I haven't used yet. I'm a little wary because I understand they're all just one size, and you have to downsize them to fit. Was it hard to fit?
2/11/03 3:37 AM
Ginger said...
I like the cut of the skirt. Is there a chance that it can be made without the strips of fabric?
2/11/03 9:00 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Ginger, I have this pattern but have not made it yet. Still assembling fabrics, I guess. The pattern pieces are designed to be used with various pieces of fabric. I suppose you could tape the pattern pieces together at the seamlines if you didn't want to deal with cutting so many narrow pieces of fabric, but it would be a lot of work. Also, you probably would want to use a 60" wide fabric as the skirt is pretty long and flared.
2/11/03 1:54 PM
Neefer said...
I have this pattern in my stash, too. Part of the point of this pattern is to cut a bias skirt on grain. That is, the panels are cut on grain and assembled so they hang on the bias. If you cut it from one fabric, then it turns into a wrap bias-cut skirt. Not a bad thing, but when I talked to Mary Lou Renton about this pattern, her big recommendation for it was that you didn't have to cut on the bias. Lee Ann - how tall are you? I'm assuming you don't have to make large bust alterations. I ask because I'm interested in the lengths of the top & bottom. You said the top was too short for you; this would be a concern for me (large bust & taller than average). But you think the skirt would look better on a taller person. Thanks for the review.
2/11/03 3:23 PM
Shona said...
I have only made the top (haven't found the perfect fabrics for the skirt yet) and found it quite awkward and not too much like the sketch. Also, although most PB patterns are generously sized, the top actually seemed small, and I'm a 12-14 on top in the big 4. I'll dig it out and do a review. I've been curious about the skirt so really appreciate the review.
2/11/03 5:19 PM
Ruth C said...
From your photo the skirt looks lovely.
2/11/03 7:57 PM
Deepika said...
Lee Ann lovely skirt in a lovely color! It suits you really. Thanks also for a very helpful review.
2/12/03 10:25 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Thanks, everyone, for your comments. Jennifer, I am 5' 6 1/2" tall, and no, I don't have a large bust, but I do have a broad back and shoulders--I wear a 38 B cup bra, if that helps (barely a B!!). My back neck to waist is about 16 3/4". The top is fun to flip the front panels over and change the look, but it is too short for me--I used a thin velour type fabric, stretchy. Pam, I haven't made any other PB pattern but I do have a couple I want to try. I think they are a bit on the roomy side, and not made for a close fit. Ginger, I think that the strips actually contribute to the way the skirt drapes and flares, Jennifer is correct in that the way they are sewn creates a bias drape. Shona, I agree the top is just generally a bit on the small side in width as well as length. Actually, I confess, when I tried this on again for the picture I really liked the skirt better than I remember! I think I need to make another top to go with it and I'll be happier. It really is fun to wear as it swirls.
2/13/03 4:32 AM
Yarni said...
thanks for the information about the cutting.
5/17/09 9:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Other Baby Couture - headband
photo
Review by Sandi S on 10/31/08
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7872
photo
Review by Lhan on 4/28/06
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5545 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5545 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7614 Pattern
Burda 7614 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us