SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Park Bench patterns> 20 (Woodstock)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1660 times 
Reviewed by:Lee Ann Hawkins
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lee Ann Hawkinsstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/11/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/03 3:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PamJr said...
Thanks for the review, Lee Ann. I have a Park Bench pattern that I haven't used yet. I'm a little wary because I understand they're all just one size, and you have to downsize them to fit. Was it hard to fit?
2/11/03 3:37 AM
Ginger said...
I like the cut of the skirt. Is there a chance that it can be made without the strips of fabric?
2/11/03 9:00 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Ginger, I have this pattern but have not made it yet. Still assembling fabrics, I guess. The pattern pieces are designed to be used with various pieces of fabric. I suppose you could tape the pattern pieces together at the seamlines if you didn't want to deal with cutting so many narrow pieces of fabric, but it would be a lot of work. Also, you probably would want to use a 60" wide fabric as the skirt is pretty long and flared.
2/11/03 1:54 PM
Neefer said...
I have this pattern in my stash, too. Part of the point of this pattern is to cut a bias skirt on grain. That is, the panels are cut on grain and assembled so they hang on the bias. If you cut it from one fabric, then it turns into a wrap bias-cut skirt. Not a bad thing, but when I talked to Mary Lou Renton about this pattern, her big recommendation for it was that you didn't have to cut on the bias. Lee Ann - how tall are you? I'm assuming you don't have to make large bust alterations. I ask because I'm interested in the lengths of the top & bottom. You said the top was too short for you; this would be a concern for me (large bust & taller than average). But you think the skirt would look better on a taller person. Thanks for the review.
2/11/03 3:23 PM
Shona said...
I have only made the top (haven't found the perfect fabrics for the skirt yet) and found it quite awkward and not too much like the sketch. Also, although most PB patterns are generously sized, the top actually seemed small, and I'm a 12-14 on top in the big 4. I'll dig it out and do a review. I've been curious about the skirt so really appreciate the review.
2/11/03 5:19 PM
Ruth C said...
From your photo the skirt looks lovely.
2/11/03 7:57 PM
Deepika said...
Lee Ann lovely skirt in a lovely color! It suits you really. Thanks also for a very helpful review.
2/12/03 10:25 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Thanks, everyone, for your comments. Jennifer, I am 5' 6 1/2" tall, and no, I don't have a large bust, but I do have a broad back and shoulders--I wear a 38 B cup bra, if that helps (barely a B!!). My back neck to waist is about 16 3/4". The top is fun to flip the front panels over and change the look, but it is too short for me--I used a thin velour type fabric, stretchy. Pam, I haven't made any other PB pattern but I do have a couple I want to try. I think they are a bit on the roomy side, and not made for a close fit. Ginger, I think that the strips actually contribute to the way the skirt drapes and flares, Jennifer is correct in that the way they are sewn creates a bias drape. Shona, I agree the top is just generally a bit on the small side in width as well as length. Actually, I confess, when I tried this on again for the picture I really liked the skirt better than I remember! I think I need to make another top to go with it and I'll be happier. It really is fun to wear as it swirls.
2/13/03 4:32 AM
Yarni said...
thanks for the information about the cutting.
5/17/09 9:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

New Look 6915

photo
by: waikikimum

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now