Online Sewing Class: More Knits
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Stretch & Sew> 704 (Quick'n Easy Pants and Shorts)

1 more reviews
Viewed 3863 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 373
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 310 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/02 3:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PamJr said... (11/19/03 9:57 AM) Reply
BTW, I did not mean to imply that the crotch is too short. It is not. It just pulls a bit, and I don't really know why.
PamJr said... (11/19/03 9:10 AM) Reply
Because of the many positive reviews of Burda 3216 on this site, I decided to try it. The crotch measurement was the same as mine, so I did not change anything, but the pants pull a bit at the crotch, and I probably would not make them again. Based on this review, I decided to try Stretch & Sew 704. They fit perfectly, and I will definitely make them again. The pockets are nice too. I used a 38 in both patterns and had to shorten the legs a bit as usual. I think it is an individual matter, as to which pattern fits better. My thighs stick out a bit, and I find the 704 more flatterning, The 704 pants are roomier at the hips and hide the thighs better. I used corduroy for the Burda pants and a cotton French terry for the Stretch and Sew.
Lisa Laree said... (11/1/03 1:31 PM) Reply
I just picked up this pattern today and found the review when I added it to my catalog (what a great tool! ). I bought it for the pockets, too...I'm thinking I might just morph them onto the Brussels skirt....
Tessa said... (4/29/03 12:58 PM) Reply
I bought this pattern because of the pockets. Like you, I'd never thought of putting pockets in one-seam pants, but I like pockets! Thanks for pointing it out. I was going to make it, but decided Burda 3216 would probably fit me better, so I just used the pocket, which worked fine. I cut the pocket double on the fold, so that I have loose pockets hanging inside, as I didn't want the topstitched outline to show. I'm pleased with it.
said... (1/13/02 3:17 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for comparing the S&S and the Burda!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (1/12/02 11:13 PM) Reply
Gosh, that pocket really does look nice! I want to make these now too!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (1/12/02 8:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I bought it yesterday, and was trying to decide whether to include the pocket. You have convinced me to try it.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (1/12/02 5:48 PM) Reply
They look great! That is the pocket from Stretch & Sew's book, it gives such a nice finished look.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (1/12/02 5:48 PM) Reply
Love those new pants, soon you will not be able to call yourself a beginner. I've had this pattern for quite some time, but now will have to get it made. YOU GO GIRL!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
StyleArc Tamara Knit Top

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review