Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2731 (Misses' Vest) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1539 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/03 5:28 PM
Last Updated:2/18/04 12:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a. sHEWAN said...
Lori: Looks like you did a great job! Any problems with the pocket zippers? I haven't put in that type of zipper yet and I am woundering how difficult it is.
2/13/03 11:01 AM
Lisa B said...
Looks great, Lori! Nice job. I like your choice of fabric and color. It's perfect for this vest.
2/13/03 12:35 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Beautiful vest, Lori! I really like the addition of embroidery, and your choice of fabric/zipper colors. Where is that embroidery design available? Your zippered pockets look spectacular! The wave in the front zipper is barely noticable, but I have two thoughts, and you may have already included these. You could stay-stitch the front opening before applying the zipper, and you could add a narrow strip of lightweight interfacing to the fabric edge, also before applying the zipper. Beautiful work, thanks for the pictures!
2/13/03 12:40 PM
LoriB said...
I didn't have any trouble with the pocket zippers at all. I was also hesitant but I basted everything and that made it easy. Despite the basting and careful sewing, the lining did roll a bit into view, so I was really glad I chose to use black zippers because then the bit of lining doesn't show or looks like accent color.
2/13/03 12:41 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
wish I could edit comments--, I just noticed that you had included a thought about interfacing :) good thought!
2/13/03 12:43 PM
LoriB said...
Debbie, I digitized the snowflake designs myself (there are 3 different ones) using clip art as a guide. Send me your email address and I can send them to you.
2/13/03 12:47 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Thanks, Lori, I sent it to your website.
2/13/03 1:06 PM
Elona said...
Lori, what a great-looking vest! Very professional.
2/18/04 3:38 PM
Hilary said...
Lori, your vest looks really great! I love the snowflake embroidery too~I have always wanted this pattern, its good to see it reviewed here!
2/18/04 9:49 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful result. I truly appreciate all the construction details, and problem solving included in this review. I'm new to PR and will do a review of my experience with the "B" view of this pattern. Thanks for all the helpful sharing. I will be looking for you other reviews!
4/6/04 0:04 AM
Julia Graham said...
Your embroidery and vest overall are very handsome! Great job, and a nice thorough review.
8/20/04 7:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-119 Blouse
photo
Review by MNBarb on 8/21/13
Read Review

Jalie 976 Pattern
Jalie 976 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )
McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1033 OOP
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 11/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us