SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2731 (Misses' Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1540 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
Germany
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews: 100 (patterns: 76)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/03 5:28 PM
Last Updated:2/18/04 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said... (8/20/04 7:15 PM) Reply
Your embroidery and vest overall are very handsome! Great job, and a nice thorough review.
PVA said... (4/6/04 0:04 AM) Reply
Beautiful result. I truly appreciate all the construction details, and problem solving included in this review. I'm new to PR and will do a review of my experience with the "B" view of this pattern. Thanks for all the helpful sharing. I will be looking for you other reviews!
Hilary said... (2/18/04 9:49 PM) Reply
Lori, your vest looks really great! I love the snowflake embroidery too~I have always wanted this pattern, its good to see it reviewed here!
Elona said... (2/18/04 3:38 PM) Reply
Lori, what a great-looking vest! Very professional.
Debbie Spriggs said... (2/13/03 1:06 PM) Reply
Thanks, Lori, I sent it to your website.
LoriB said... (2/13/03 12:47 PM) Reply
Debbie, I digitized the snowflake designs myself (there are 3 different ones) using clip art as a guide. Send me your email address and I can send them to you.
Debbie Spriggs said... (2/13/03 12:43 PM) Reply
wish I could edit comments--, I just noticed that you had included a thought about interfacing :) good thought!
LoriB said... (2/13/03 12:41 PM) Reply
I didn't have any trouble with the pocket zippers at all. I was also hesitant but I basted everything and that made it easy. Despite the basting and careful sewing, the lining did roll a bit into view, so I was really glad I chose to use black zippers because then the bit of lining doesn't show or looks like accent color.
Debbie Spriggs said... (2/13/03 12:40 PM) Reply
Beautiful vest, Lori! I really like the addition of embroidery, and your choice of fabric/zipper colors. Where is that embroidery design available? Your zippered pockets look spectacular! The wave in the front zipper is barely noticable, but I have two thoughts, and you may have already included these. You could stay-stitch the front opening before applying the zipper, and you could add a narrow strip of lightweight interfacing to the fabric edge, also before applying the zipper. Beautiful work, thanks for the pictures!
Lisa B said... (2/13/03 12:35 PM) Reply
Looks great, Lori! Nice job. I like your choice of fabric and color. It's perfect for this vest.
a. sHEWAN said... (2/13/03 11:01 AM) Reply
Lori: Looks like you did a great job! Any problems with the pocket zippers? I haven't put in that type of zipper yet and I am woundering how difficult it is.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
The Whimsy Bag Paper Pattern

The Whimsy Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2014-113

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review