Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1013 (Plain & Simple Shirtdress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2358 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/07 11:19 PM
Last Updated:7/16/07 4:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - you painted your own fabric - Love it
7/2/07 11:48 PM
lmg said...
What beautiful details, I especially like the bubblegum for breakfast detail. Too cute. I can't help you with the dart issue, but I often sew mine up to the nipple.
7/3/07 0:03 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I just checked out your finished items....you are sooooo creative & talented!!! Thanks for the pics.
7/3/07 2:54 AM
So So said...
Great unique piece. sorry can't help about the dart.
7/3/07 4:36 AM
Karla Kizer said...
What a great shirt!
7/3/07 6:59 AM
Markie1 said...
I just love this! You have such a unique touch and creative eye. I would buy this top if i saw it in a boutique...Thanks for your review.
7/3/07 7:12 AM
marjenann said...
Positively the coolest top ever!!! And the fabric is to die for!!! Way to go!
7/3/07 8:42 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
very kewl!
7/3/07 12:24 PM
Levone said...
Such a cute, fun top!
7/3/07 12:26 PM
movac said...
wow, I love it!! what skirt pattern did you use in that pic that shows this blouse & skirt duo? Very cute
7/4/07 9:52 AM
Birgitte said...
inStitches, the skirt is a 'morfed' version of Vogue 8003, part of the "One pattern multiple looks" contest. And thanks to all of you for the nice comments!
7/4/07 12:42 PM
Marji said...
fabulous combination of fabrics and painting. Love the finished blouse, even if it was frustrating getting there.
7/5/07 12:08 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I Loooooove your label! How darling!
7/6/07 10:36 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I can honestly say that from Florida (3000 miles from CA) I can't see anything wrong with the darts; all I see is great graceful fit and fabulous fabric design. But I've had to do some serious futzing around with the darts and armhole and chest width to make some HP patterns work for me and my DD, so I know what you're talking about. However, I think the HP designs are worth the time and trouble and your dress is an example of why.
7/8/07 6:30 PM
bunz said...
Oh Birgitte - what a tremendous marriage of creativity and pattern sewing. Bravo!
7/8/07 6:38 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful. I have to re read this there is so much to absorb. I am very curious about the dying.
7/8/07 6:57 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is really a cute dress. I love it.
7/8/07 9:50 PM
dbsewer said...
OK, I'm impressed. You dyed your own fabric, altered the dress and came up with a really cute and unique outfit. Way to go.
7/12/07 4:04 PM
Lori V said...
Very impressive, love all of your garments.
7/12/07 10:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow and Wow and Wow again. These are all great and dying your own fabrics certainly makes them unique. Beautifully done.
7/13/07 0:26 AM
MissCelie said...
love, love, love those pint tucks. This is just an amazing looking shirt.
7/13/07 8:59 AM
lisaquilts said...
Beautiful shirts, the pin tucks are great!
7/13/07 1:01 PM
Marji said...
Well, I hadn't intended to look at the entries for this contest until they were all in, but, this latest caught my eye and I was partway through before realizing this was a OPML entry. Fabulous details! Wonderful pattern interpretations, this is a real winner in my eyes.
7/16/07 5:56 PM
sewfan said...
Stunning! Your garments are works of art!! What talent!!
7/16/07 7:05 PM
AnneM said...
It does look like you had fun with this. Nice versions. Good you worked through the instruction glitches to get your great garments.
7/27/07 5:18 PM
AnneM said...
P.S. You do some marvelous work.
8/2/07 9:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2004-12
photo
Review by 21wale on 1/6/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4136
photo
Review by DianaVodo on 4/20/11
Read Review

McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us