SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1013 (Plain & Simple Shirtdress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2366 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/07 11:19 PM
Last Updated:7/16/07 4:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
P.S. You do some marvelous work.
8/2/07 9:00 AM
AnneM said...
It does look like you had fun with this. Nice versions. Good you worked through the instruction glitches to get your great garments.
7/27/07 5:18 PM
sewfan said...
Stunning! Your garments are works of art!! What talent!!
7/16/07 7:05 PM
Marji said...
Well, I hadn't intended to look at the entries for this contest until they were all in, but, this latest caught my eye and I was partway through before realizing this was a OPML entry. Fabulous details! Wonderful pattern interpretations, this is a real winner in my eyes.
7/16/07 5:56 PM
lisaquilts said...
Beautiful shirts, the pin tucks are great!
7/13/07 1:01 PM
MissCelie said...
love, love, love those pint tucks. This is just an amazing looking shirt.
7/13/07 8:59 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow and Wow and Wow again. These are all great and dying your own fabrics certainly makes them unique. Beautifully done.
7/13/07 0:26 AM
Lori V said...
Very impressive, love all of your garments.
7/12/07 10:28 PM
dbsewer said...
OK, I'm impressed. You dyed your own fabric, altered the dress and came up with a really cute and unique outfit. Way to go.
7/12/07 4:04 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is really a cute dress. I love it.
7/8/07 9:50 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful. I have to re read this there is so much to absorb. I am very curious about the dying.
7/8/07 6:57 PM
bunz said...
Oh Birgitte - what a tremendous marriage of creativity and pattern sewing. Bravo!
7/8/07 6:38 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I can honestly say that from Florida (3000 miles from CA) I can't see anything wrong with the darts; all I see is great graceful fit and fabulous fabric design. But I've had to do some serious futzing around with the darts and armhole and chest width to make some HP patterns work for me and my DD, so I know what you're talking about. However, I think the HP designs are worth the time and trouble and your dress is an example of why.
7/8/07 6:30 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I Loooooove your label! How darling!
7/6/07 10:36 AM
Marji said...
fabulous combination of fabrics and painting. Love the finished blouse, even if it was frustrating getting there.
7/5/07 12:08 PM
Birgitte said...
inStitches, the skirt is a 'morfed' version of Vogue 8003, part of the "One pattern multiple looks" contest. And thanks to all of you for the nice comments!
7/4/07 12:42 PM
movac said...
wow, I love it!! what skirt pattern did you use in that pic that shows this blouse & skirt duo? Very cute
7/4/07 9:52 AM
Levone said...
Such a cute, fun top!
7/3/07 12:26 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
very kewl!
7/3/07 12:24 PM
marjenann said...
Positively the coolest top ever!!! And the fabric is to die for!!! Way to go!
7/3/07 8:42 AM
Markie1 said...
I just love this! You have such a unique touch and creative eye. I would buy this top if i saw it in a boutique...Thanks for your review.
7/3/07 7:12 AM
Karla Kizer said...
What a great shirt!
7/3/07 6:59 AM
So So said...
Great unique piece. sorry can't help about the dart.
7/3/07 4:36 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I just checked out your finished items....you are sooooo creative & talented!!! Thanks for the pics.
7/3/07 2:54 AM
lmg said...
What beautiful details, I especially like the bubblegum for breakfast detail. Too cute. I can't help you with the dart issue, but I often sew mine up to the nipple.
7/3/07 0:03 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - you painted your own fabric - Love it
7/2/07 11:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

McCall's 3222

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
Butterick 5792

photo
by: princessju...

Review

Pattern

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

More Info
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

More Info