SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1013 (Plain & Simple Shirtdress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2363 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/07 11:19 PM
Last Updated:7/16/07 4:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - you painted your own fabric - Love it
7/2/07 11:48 PM
lmg said...
What beautiful details, I especially like the bubblegum for breakfast detail. Too cute. I can't help you with the dart issue, but I often sew mine up to the nipple.
7/3/07 0:03 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I just checked out your finished items....you are sooooo creative & talented!!! Thanks for the pics.
7/3/07 2:54 AM
So So said...
Great unique piece. sorry can't help about the dart.
7/3/07 4:36 AM
Karla Kizer said...
What a great shirt!
7/3/07 6:59 AM
Markie1 said...
I just love this! You have such a unique touch and creative eye. I would buy this top if i saw it in a boutique...Thanks for your review.
7/3/07 7:12 AM
marjenann said...
Positively the coolest top ever!!! And the fabric is to die for!!! Way to go!
7/3/07 8:42 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
very kewl!
7/3/07 12:24 PM
Levone said...
Such a cute, fun top!
7/3/07 12:26 PM
movac said...
wow, I love it!! what skirt pattern did you use in that pic that shows this blouse & skirt duo? Very cute
7/4/07 9:52 AM
Birgitte said...
inStitches, the skirt is a 'morfed' version of Vogue 8003, part of the "One pattern multiple looks" contest. And thanks to all of you for the nice comments!
7/4/07 12:42 PM
Marji said...
fabulous combination of fabrics and painting. Love the finished blouse, even if it was frustrating getting there.
7/5/07 12:08 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I Loooooove your label! How darling!
7/6/07 10:36 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I can honestly say that from Florida (3000 miles from CA) I can't see anything wrong with the darts; all I see is great graceful fit and fabulous fabric design. But I've had to do some serious futzing around with the darts and armhole and chest width to make some HP patterns work for me and my DD, so I know what you're talking about. However, I think the HP designs are worth the time and trouble and your dress is an example of why.
7/8/07 6:30 PM
bunz said...
Oh Birgitte - what a tremendous marriage of creativity and pattern sewing. Bravo!
7/8/07 6:38 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful. I have to re read this there is so much to absorb. I am very curious about the dying.
7/8/07 6:57 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is really a cute dress. I love it.
7/8/07 9:50 PM
dbsewer said...
OK, I'm impressed. You dyed your own fabric, altered the dress and came up with a really cute and unique outfit. Way to go.
7/12/07 4:04 PM
Lori V said...
Very impressive, love all of your garments.
7/12/07 10:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow and Wow and Wow again. These are all great and dying your own fabrics certainly makes them unique. Beautifully done.
7/13/07 0:26 AM
MissCelie said...
love, love, love those pint tucks. This is just an amazing looking shirt.
7/13/07 8:59 AM
lisaquilts said...
Beautiful shirts, the pin tucks are great!
7/13/07 1:01 PM
Marji said...
Well, I hadn't intended to look at the entries for this contest until they were all in, but, this latest caught my eye and I was partway through before realizing this was a OPML entry. Fabulous details! Wonderful pattern interpretations, this is a real winner in my eyes.
7/16/07 5:56 PM
sewfan said...
Stunning! Your garments are works of art!! What talent!!
7/16/07 7:05 PM
AnneM said...
It does look like you had fun with this. Nice versions. Good you worked through the instruction glitches to get your great garments.
7/27/07 5:18 PM
AnneM said...
P.S. You do some marvelous work.
8/2/07 9:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Silhouette Patterns 115

photo
by: Ms. McCall

Review
Jalie 2682

photo
by: Quickie

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now