Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4112 (Built by Wendy shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2186 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 412 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/07 1:53 AM
Last Updated:7/5/07 0:10 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Erica !!!
7/4/07 3:21 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful top.
7/4/07 3:44 AM
Tany said...
Fabulous!
7/4/07 3:56 AM
Marji said...
That is really pretty in the sheer.
7/4/07 4:23 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great top. It looks wonderful in a sheer. I have the same top cut out awaiting sewing so thanks for the timely review!
7/4/07 6:51 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, I really like the sheer.
7/4/07 7:18 AM
Linda G said...
Wow that top looks great. You did a wonderful job on the construction.
7/4/07 7:35 AM
scrappycat said...
Very, very cute! Do you do anything different for buttonholes on sheer fabric?
7/4/07 7:41 AM
lmg said...
I love this top is a sheer. Elegant and very versatile as you say. Thanks for the tip on binding the armscye
7/4/07 8:08 AM
dbsewer said...
Lovely top, and your pose is great, too. ;-)
7/4/07 8:08 AM
Elaray said...
Beautiful ... as usual.
7/4/07 8:29 AM
Meredith P said...
Love your top, and your "art" shot. Totally cool, as usual...Very helpful review.
7/4/07 8:32 AM
carolynw said...
Nice !!
7/4/07 8:34 AM
jnamcd said...
OMGosh! I love this in a sheer --I think better than the pattern photo! Awesome job!
7/4/07 8:40 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely Erica. The georgette is the perfect fabric for this pattern.
7/4/07 9:17 AM
MissCelie said...
Honestly, I thought I was looking at a fashion editorial photo. I have a sheer to do soon. When are you flying up to help me with it?
7/4/07 9:39 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Gorgeous top. Don't you just love it when pattern alterations aren't needed!
7/4/07 11:32 AM
KarenP said...
Gorgeous! It looks lovely in that fabric.
7/4/07 6:46 PM
Boo97 said...
Beautiful Erica!!!!!
7/4/07 10:27 PM
marthamyers said...
I've looked at this pattern before, but your result is soooo much better than the pattern picture or line drawings. Beautiful on you too. Thanks for sharing.
7/4/07 10:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful top Erica!!
7/5/07 0:05 AM
EveS said...
Lovely top!!! Would never have picked it from the pattern photo!
7/5/07 0:43 AM
Leora said...
I just jumped over to your white Simplicity pants (they look great with this top BTW) and re-discovered the lining instructions you wrote! Forgot you did that and am in need of help over here... so THANK YOU!! :) Great top!
7/5/07 1:22 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Fantastic!
7/5/07 9:31 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done
7/5/07 11:28 AM
Sharon M said...
So beautiful! I wouldn't have thought to use a sheer and it so works well with this pattern
7/5/07 1:05 PM
nicegirl said...
So professional looking on such a difficult fabric! I love your artistic pose, too.
7/5/07 1:08 PM
Birgitte said...
So beautiful and feminine...
7/5/07 2:32 PM
slanden99 said...
Love it!
7/5/07 8:53 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Beautiful blouse. Was the georgette hard to sew?
7/6/07 3:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
gorgeous!
7/9/07 2:05 AM
Blooms said...
Wow, looks great...they should use you on the pattern cover
7/17/07 9:18 PM
prickly said...
Wow, between June 21, 06 and July 4, 07, you completed 44 garments. You only have 43 listed, but then there was the designer dress that you did twice for one review. So that's 44. That comes to one successful garment every 8 days for an entire year. Dresses, jackets, pants, jeans, shorts, skirts, bouses. Yep, I don't think there was a single garment type that you missed except for a coat. You sewed through every season, every holiday season. Nothing ever held you back from sewing, sewing sewing. And every single thing you made was a splash. It all went together beautifully. It all fit beautifully. Week by week you cranked out a stylish, well-fitting, well appointed garment, every 8 days throughout an entire year. Certainly quite phenominal based on every single other sewer I've seen on this entire site. No one even a very distant second place. No one even within waving distance. No one here even fit to hold your bodkin. I don't think I've even seen another sewer who has managed even a single item that both fit and looked attractive, and you've pulled that off 44 times in a year. But it's weird. I've looked at all of the dresses that have been completed several times over for the past few days and I've never seen your listings before. I went through every dress for a long time back. Pages and pages of completed dresses, but I never saw yours. I wonder why.
7/30/07 3:39 AM
prickly said...
Oh, and in addition to the 44 garments, Erica also creates a very sophisticated, one might almost say professional quality blog, in which she articulates, just as she does in each and every offering here, clearly, concisely and flawlessly, every important detail in the construction of every garment. And, in addition to this, she is the mother of three. Simply amazing.....
7/30/07 4:00 AM
prickly said...
Oh yea, then then you have to consider all of the posing and photographing of all of the pictures presented here and in her blog. In each and every single picture Erica is posed attractively, make up, hair, weird that she's wearing the same pair of shoes so many times though. And, most of the pictures have been photoshopped. All of these things take time. Then there's the time to come up with all the graphics for the blog. Whew...how does she do it....Wow
7/30/07 4:05 AM
Hilary said...
Very pretty! Yours is *so* much better than the pattern cover would indicate :oP
7/31/07 8:21 AM
GailMV said...
Really lovely, Erica! I'm looking forward to making this one!
8/1/07 7:56 PM
excentric said...
I will be buying this pattern,particularly as you found it needed no pattern adjustments at all. Loved your whole collection. Thanks for the great review.
8/26/07 1:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Liberated N103
photo
Review by gameCoder on 12/14/08
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 06-2011-06 Dress
photo
Review by treefrog on 7/19/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us