Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8386 (Misses' dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1477 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:7/7/07 11:50 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Stacy you too look adorable in this - not at all Maternity/Motherhood. This style is allthe rage now and people with nice figures like yours can go for it!!
7/7/07 12:11 PM
Ann Smith said...
The front view looks wonderful.
7/7/07 12:36 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I think it's cute. But only you can tell how you feel wearing it.
7/7/07 12:39 PM
Karla Kizer said...
It's a beautiful dress in a wonderful color. (I don't think my Hancock's ever had anything that nice. No wonder they're gone.) If you're unhappy with the side seams, is it too late to take them in a little? I'd hate to see such a pretty dress go unworn. Good review.
7/7/07 12:50 PM
Debbie Cook said...
This is Sexy Woman, not Motherhood Maternity!! It looks great on you.
7/7/07 12:53 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That's funny: there must have been three of us sewing this same dress yesterday (we're waiting for your review, Melissa.....). I think the style is adorable on you, but yeah, I know exactly what you mean about it feeling a little maternity. It's not too late to take the sides and CB seam in even more to help minimize that. Your review further convinces me that this dress requires a really really thin knit to drape properly.
7/7/07 12:57 PM
Soliel said...
We live and learn don't we? Of course, it looks glamorous to us...but only we know if we like it. I guess we know now that this dress works the best with a thinner knit. Remember all your other wonderful successes.
7/7/07 12:59 PM
Birgitte said...
It looks very good in the picture. If you like it enough, I'd agree with Leslie in Austin, and also use small SA, 1/4-3/8".
7/7/07 1:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
It looks adorable in the picture. I agree with those who suggest that it's not too late to take in the side seams -- go for it if it will help you like the dress better.
7/7/07 1:28 PM
Erica B. said...
The dress is great, not maternity-ish at all... looks wonderful on you!
7/7/07 1:29 PM
Meredith P said...
Sure doesn't look "maternity" from where I'm standing. Looks great.
7/7/07 1:58 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress.
7/7/07 9:38 PM
Sharon M said...
It looks wonderful on you Stacy!
7/7/07 9:53 PM
Hilary said...
You look gorgeous in this-definitely NOT maternity at all from here! ;o)
7/7/07 10:14 PM
lmg said...
It is a cute dress, and no, it is not maternity-like on you. This color suits you well.
7/7/07 10:53 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is beautiful on you, Stacy! The color is just stunning. Thanks for the review.
7/7/07 11:53 PM
Lou05 said...
Stacy, This is a knockout on you! It looks like the flair was intended and should be fun to dance in. Nice job. Can't tell about the seams but have you tried steaming and hitting with a clapper to flatten them?
7/8/07 0:13 AM
EveS said...
Omg, where you and Leslie racing?? Too funny! I think this looks great on you, and everyone's right...the color is super! Taking in the waist really did help mine..give that a shot. This style seems to require very careful fabric selection, doesn't it. I found that the slinky worked really well, too. I think its the combination of weight and stretch...it actually helps the dress hug the body just a bit more. But really, I think this looks AWESOME on you!!!
7/8/07 0:24 AM
Lori V said...
Stacy, I think this dress looks fantastic on you.
7/8/07 0:26 AM
Lori V said...
Stacy, I think this dress looks fantastic on you.
7/8/07 0:26 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Adorable. Luv this dress-I agree, I too will take mine in more next time.
7/8/07 0:51 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Everyone has said it for me - this is fantastic.
7/8/07 1:24 AM
LorelleD said...
The dress looks lovely on you.
7/8/07 1:49 AM
MissCelie said...
Nope. Not Motherhood Maternity. The color is amazing with your skin tone too. I think you look stellar.
7/8/07 7:28 AM
Heatherrique said...
Hotter than Heather Locklear!
7/8/07 8:12 AM
ribbit2jen said...
It looks really pretty, I don't think it looks maternity, but I think you're right that it needs a knit on the thinner side to get the gathers to look the most flattering. Thanks for the review. I've been planning on making this one but wasnt' sure yet which fabric to pull out of my stash for it. This info will help a lot, thanks!!
7/8/07 10:17 AM
OP Gal said...
The dress is beautiful and you look lovely in it. Of course, I can't see the seams, but it otherwise looks like a very professionally sewn garment.
7/8/07 10:33 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Well that is so not "Motherhood Maternity" Stacy - you look fantastic! Wear your dress with pride girl, you're so instyle! :-)
7/8/07 1:13 PM
Skymom said...
I totally have to get this pattern. You, Leslie, and Melissa all look great in it, and I have a very similar body type. I think missed the Joann's sale on Vogue this weekend, though. But thanks to you and the other ladies for your insights on suitable fabrics. I can at least be shopping (in my stash, to start with) for the right fabric.
7/8/07 6:16 PM
Leora said...
I love the neckline on this dress! You look just gorgeous, Stacy!!
7/8/07 6:54 PM
Frozzy said...
My first reaction when I saw the picture was "Wow, that looks great!" Then I read the review. Wear this dress, you look spectacular!
7/8/07 7:27 PM
Annette1 said...
You are BEAUTY-MOUS in this dress! I love the color, too.
7/9/07 2:19 AM
jnamcd said...
This dress looks great on you--and I think most of all --the color is awesome on you! Wear it with pride!
7/9/07 5:19 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
Your dress looks awesome and I adore the colour. It looks just fabulous
8/5/07 2:03 AM
greenandlilac said...
You're too critical, it's really cute on you
2/22/08 1:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-112 B
photo
Review by Birgitte on 1/10/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5858
photo
Review by optimistic on 1/16/10
Read Review

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse City Dress
Loes Hinse City Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us