SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8386 (Misses' dress)

22 more reviews
Viewed 1479 times 
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:7/7/07 11:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Stacy you too look adorable in this - not at all Maternity/Motherhood. This style is allthe rage now and people with nice figures like yours can go for it!!
7/7/07 12:11 PM
Ann Smith said...
The front view looks wonderful.
7/7/07 12:36 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I think it's cute. But only you can tell how you feel wearing it.
7/7/07 12:39 PM
Karla Kizer said...
It's a beautiful dress in a wonderful color. (I don't think my Hancock's ever had anything that nice. No wonder they're gone.) If you're unhappy with the side seams, is it too late to take them in a little? I'd hate to see such a pretty dress go unworn. Good review.
7/7/07 12:50 PM
Debbie Cook said...
This is Sexy Woman, not Motherhood Maternity!! It looks great on you.
7/7/07 12:53 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That's funny: there must have been three of us sewing this same dress yesterday (we're waiting for your review, Melissa.....). I think the style is adorable on you, but yeah, I know exactly what you mean about it feeling a little maternity. It's not too late to take the sides and CB seam in even more to help minimize that. Your review further convinces me that this dress requires a really really thin knit to drape properly.
7/7/07 12:57 PM
Soliel said...
We live and learn don't we? Of course, it looks glamorous to us...but only we know if we like it. I guess we know now that this dress works the best with a thinner knit. Remember all your other wonderful successes.
7/7/07 12:59 PM
Birgitte said...
It looks very good in the picture. If you like it enough, I'd agree with Leslie in Austin, and also use small SA, 1/4-3/8".
7/7/07 1:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
It looks adorable in the picture. I agree with those who suggest that it's not too late to take in the side seams -- go for it if it will help you like the dress better.
7/7/07 1:28 PM
Erica B. said...
The dress is great, not maternity-ish at all... looks wonderful on you!
7/7/07 1:29 PM
Meredith P said...
Sure doesn't look "maternity" from where I'm standing. Looks great.
7/7/07 1:58 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress.
7/7/07 9:38 PM
Sharon M said...
It looks wonderful on you Stacy!
7/7/07 9:53 PM
Hilary said...
You look gorgeous in this-definitely NOT maternity at all from here! ;o)
7/7/07 10:14 PM
lmg said...
It is a cute dress, and no, it is not maternity-like on you. This color suits you well.
7/7/07 10:53 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is beautiful on you, Stacy! The color is just stunning. Thanks for the review.
7/7/07 11:53 PM
Lou05 said...
Stacy, This is a knockout on you! It looks like the flair was intended and should be fun to dance in. Nice job. Can't tell about the seams but have you tried steaming and hitting with a clapper to flatten them?
7/8/07 0:13 AM
EveS said...
Omg, where you and Leslie racing?? Too funny! I think this looks great on you, and everyone's right...the color is super! Taking in the waist really did help mine..give that a shot. This style seems to require very careful fabric selection, doesn't it. I found that the slinky worked really well, too. I think its the combination of weight and stretch...it actually helps the dress hug the body just a bit more. But really, I think this looks AWESOME on you!!!
7/8/07 0:24 AM
Lori V said...
Stacy, I think this dress looks fantastic on you.
7/8/07 0:26 AM
Lori V said...
Stacy, I think this dress looks fantastic on you.
7/8/07 0:26 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Adorable. Luv this dress-I agree, I too will take mine in more next time.
7/8/07 0:51 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Everyone has said it for me - this is fantastic.
7/8/07 1:24 AM
LorelleD said...
The dress looks lovely on you.
7/8/07 1:49 AM
MissCelie said...
Nope. Not Motherhood Maternity. The color is amazing with your skin tone too. I think you look stellar.
7/8/07 7:28 AM
Heatherrique said...
Hotter than Heather Locklear!
7/8/07 8:12 AM
ribbit2jen said...
It looks really pretty, I don't think it looks maternity, but I think you're right that it needs a knit on the thinner side to get the gathers to look the most flattering. Thanks for the review. I've been planning on making this one but wasnt' sure yet which fabric to pull out of my stash for it. This info will help a lot, thanks!!
7/8/07 10:17 AM
OP Gal said...
The dress is beautiful and you look lovely in it. Of course, I can't see the seams, but it otherwise looks like a very professionally sewn garment.
7/8/07 10:33 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Well that is so not "Motherhood Maternity" Stacy - you look fantastic! Wear your dress with pride girl, you're so instyle! :-)
7/8/07 1:13 PM
Skymom said...
I totally have to get this pattern. You, Leslie, and Melissa all look great in it, and I have a very similar body type. I think missed the Joann's sale on Vogue this weekend, though. But thanks to you and the other ladies for your insights on suitable fabrics. I can at least be shopping (in my stash, to start with) for the right fabric.
7/8/07 6:16 PM
Leora said...
I love the neckline on this dress! You look just gorgeous, Stacy!!
7/8/07 6:54 PM
Frozzy said...
My first reaction when I saw the picture was "Wow, that looks great!" Then I read the review. Wear this dress, you look spectacular!
7/8/07 7:27 PM
Annette1 said...
You are BEAUTY-MOUS in this dress! I love the color, too.
7/9/07 2:19 AM
jnamcd said...
This dress looks great on you--and I think most of all --the color is awesome on you! Wear it with pride!
7/9/07 5:19 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
Your dress looks awesome and I adore the colour. It looks just fabulous
8/5/07 2:03 AM
greenandlilac said...
You're too critical, it's really cute on you
2/22/08 1:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 7387

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now