Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2007-109 (Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1228 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
ROMANIA
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/07 5:44 AM
Last Updated:7/9/07 8:49 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Lovely top. I like the decorative and creative way you finished it.
7/9/07 6:35 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You are very talented. Keep up the great work.
7/9/07 7:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous ! Thanks for the extra photos and instructions for the decorative trim.
7/9/07 7:42 AM
MissCelie said...
Never even noticed that shirt in the magazine!
7/9/07 7:59 AM
Linda G said...
That is adorable. I am curious about your bias binding, what is the fabric, brand and where do you get it???
7/9/07 8:11 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Wow! This top looks fabulous with the home-made ribbon. I never thought of using those decorative machine stitches for that. You have inspired me.
7/9/07 8:33 AM
LauraLo said...
Thanks for your comments, I'm pretty proud of my home-made trim myself! [blush] Linda G, the binding is pre-folded satin bias, the brand is unknown, and I'm buying it in notion shops here in Romania. I visit several notion shops, sometimes I find plenty of nice things, sometimes nothing at all. Therefore everytime I find something that I like, i buy some, I will surely use it at some point, even if it's in 5 years (like the variegated thread).
7/9/07 8:55 AM
dbsewer said...
oops, I put my comments in the skirt review. You did a lovely job on this top and I love the creative embellishment. The top and skirt look like they're great together. Thanks for a terrific review.
7/9/07 9:14 AM
TrixieD said...
Such fine embellishments! Inspiring.
7/9/07 9:36 AM
VickiRC said...
Your work is always lovely. I know when I see one of your reviews listed, the details you've added will make it worth the read.
7/9/07 9:48 AM
Levone said...
Cute top! I saw this top in the magazine, but it didn't pop out at me. I like what you did with your version.
7/9/07 9:51 AM
zora said...
The top looks great! I never even noticed the pattern in the magazine
7/9/07 11:24 AM
SandraB said...
Wow! This top looks so simple and yet so lovely. I love your trim. You are very talented.
7/9/07 12:25 PM
Jan B. said...
Beautiful top and skirt. How clever your embellished trim is. Thanks for your review.
7/9/07 4:09 PM
Terri Smith said...
The trim makes the top look like it is from a boutique...and it is...Lauralo's. Great Job.
7/9/07 4:46 PM
TanyaMT said...
Lovely top - the trim really makes a perfect finishing touch.
7/9/07 4:49 PM
Patzee said...
Terrific! Love your trim, it adds so much to the top. Thanks for a fine review!
7/10/07 1:24 AM
Tany said...
Fabulous, Laura!
7/10/07 3:20 AM
LauraLo said...
Didn't expect so much enthusiasm over this top, I'm thrilled! Thank you all, thank you very much for your appreciation.
7/10/07 3:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the trim which makes this simple top very elegant. Good job on embellishing the ribbon.
7/10/07 5:29 AM
KathleenS said...
Great work! And it's great to know about the fit.
7/10/07 6:54 AM
gaginny said...
My first reaction to your phots was to wonder how you managed to get such a perfect match on your trims.....then I read your review and found out! How very clever of you......I will try and hold onto that idea for my "bag of tricks".
7/10/07 12:14 PM
Meredith P said...
You do such beautiful work! Thanks for this review. Great idea about the trim!
7/11/07 8:23 AM
Jeans said...
Love Your Top.....You did an excellant Job on the Trim .....The trim around the neck is so pretty...I will be doing something similar....Very Nice
7/12/07 12:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Self Drafted Pattern 92116-1005 dust ruffle
photo
Review by halleyscom... on 6/26/11
Read Review

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-111 Top
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 12/29/06
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3764 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3764 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us