SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4391 (Laptop Case)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1601 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 350
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 251
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/07 11:52 AM
Last Updated:7/10/07 11:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Great techie bag for our techie. Thanks for the review -- I need a bag, too, even tho I'm not a techie :-)
7/9/07 12:33 PM
TrixieD said...
I like the look and the tips about the padding. Very helpful.
7/9/07 12:46 PM
Birgitte said...
So kool! I just love the idea of having a 'home-made' laptop bag- perfect merger of tech and art!
7/9/07 3:01 PM
KarenP said...
Thanks for the thorough review! It's especially helpful that you included all the products you used and where you purchased the hardware.
7/9/07 3:26 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a BEAUTIFUL bag!! And "hides" it's techie purpose. I have this pattern... Waiting for the gnomes to sew it up one night... Very helpful review for those who actually will sew this project!!
7/9/07 5:25 PM
Re Becca said...
Another great bag! yours is the only one that doesn't look just like everyone elses! Is the padding really enough to keep it safe? I am always so nervous that I am going to drop mine.
7/9/07 5:49 PM
Deepika said...
Rebecca, well I am nervous too, but I guess you will still have to be careful even if it was in a store bought case. But yes, I think the padding is enough for a laptop case. If you wanted to, you could add thicker padding. The construction is such that it allows that.
7/9/07 11:53 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Really professional looking. Much more fun and feminine than the covers you find in the store.
7/10/07 7:34 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another job well done. Great fabric and what fun to make your own case.
7/10/07 9:01 AM
Pyrose said...
Great job on the case. I have toyed around with the idea of making my own case just to be different and creative, but figured it would be beyond my skill level. It does look rather tempting to try though.
7/10/07 4:33 PM
Hilary said...
Love it!! This is so cute. Now I need yet another pattern-thanks a lot!! LOL :D like I need help enabling myself, hehehe. Thanks for the links for your notions!
7/10/07 6:48 PM
Sewingmi said...
I love your laptop case! I'm going to have to get this pattern!
7/10/07 7:07 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Stylish lap top bag! Why be utilitarian when you don't have to! Good job and good review.
7/11/07 5:32 PM
Deepika said...
Guys, you've got to try this pattern. It's really really easy. No fancy skills required here. I am in fact going to make a few more as gifts.
7/11/07 9:51 PM
SunnyQ said...
Great job Deepika! Thanks for the thorough review! (And I *love* that fabric and have a tote bag of it myself!) :)
1/3/08 7:57 AM
JDpenelope said...
Deepika -- Your bag turned out great. Thanks for the tips and the link to strapworks.com. I am making this pattern and need some dark brown webbing, for one thing. HOpe mine turns out as good as yours.
6/14/09 9:07 PM
JDpenelope said...
Question: What kind of webbing did you order from strapworks? Heavyweight polypropene? Lightweight? Was it difficult to sew through the thicknesses on the side of the bag? Thanks again.
6/15/09 9:43 AM
Deepika said...
penelope, since the padding is inserted after sewing this was a breeze to sew. Only thing I dont like about this bag is that it does not have sufficient padding on the sides, so if I am taking my laptop out of the car, I have to be careful that it does not bang on the car door. Otherwise I love it. Use it everyday! Webbing, I think I ordered polypropylene but not the heavyweight one.
6/16/09 7:44 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, Deepika. I used fusible fleece on the front and back fabric, and also to cover the stiff insert. The fusible fleece on the front and back seems to be enough padding for me, especially along the edges if you don't trim the seam allowances. But, together with my bulky fabric, it was more difficult for me to sew. Thanks again for the webbing info -- I broke down and bought some at JoAnn's, just to finish. Probably should have waited, though for the better webbing from strapworks.com to arrive. Thanks, again. Very helpful review.
6/16/09 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6271

photo
by: Scheryka

Review
Butterick 5789

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now