SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4391 (Laptop Case)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1605 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 368
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 266
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/07 11:52 AM
Last Updated:7/10/07 11:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, Deepika. I used fusible fleece on the front and back fabric, and also to cover the stiff insert. The fusible fleece on the front and back seems to be enough padding for me, especially along the edges if you don't trim the seam allowances. But, together with my bulky fabric, it was more difficult for me to sew. Thanks again for the webbing info -- I broke down and bought some at JoAnn's, just to finish. Probably should have waited, though for the better webbing from strapworks.com to arrive. Thanks, again. Very helpful review.
6/16/09 11:34 AM
Deepika said...
penelope, since the padding is inserted after sewing this was a breeze to sew. Only thing I dont like about this bag is that it does not have sufficient padding on the sides, so if I am taking my laptop out of the car, I have to be careful that it does not bang on the car door. Otherwise I love it. Use it everyday! Webbing, I think I ordered polypropylene but not the heavyweight one.
6/16/09 7:44 AM
JDpenelope said...
Question: What kind of webbing did you order from strapworks? Heavyweight polypropene? Lightweight? Was it difficult to sew through the thicknesses on the side of the bag? Thanks again.
6/15/09 9:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Deepika -- Your bag turned out great. Thanks for the tips and the link to strapworks.com. I am making this pattern and need some dark brown webbing, for one thing. HOpe mine turns out as good as yours.
6/14/09 9:07 PM
SunnyQ said...
Great job Deepika! Thanks for the thorough review! (And I *love* that fabric and have a tote bag of it myself!) :)
1/3/08 7:57 AM
Deepika said...
Guys, you've got to try this pattern. It's really really easy. No fancy skills required here. I am in fact going to make a few more as gifts.
7/11/07 9:51 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Stylish lap top bag! Why be utilitarian when you don't have to! Good job and good review.
7/11/07 5:32 PM
Sewingmi said...
I love your laptop case! I'm going to have to get this pattern!
7/10/07 7:07 PM
Hilary said...
Love it!! This is so cute. Now I need yet another pattern-thanks a lot!! LOL :D like I need help enabling myself, hehehe. Thanks for the links for your notions!
7/10/07 6:48 PM
Pyrose said...
Great job on the case. I have toyed around with the idea of making my own case just to be different and creative, but figured it would be beyond my skill level. It does look rather tempting to try though.
7/10/07 4:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another job well done. Great fabric and what fun to make your own case.
7/10/07 9:01 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Really professional looking. Much more fun and feminine than the covers you find in the store.
7/10/07 7:34 AM
Deepika said...
Rebecca, well I am nervous too, but I guess you will still have to be careful even if it was in a store bought case. But yes, I think the padding is enough for a laptop case. If you wanted to, you could add thicker padding. The construction is such that it allows that.
7/9/07 11:53 PM
Re Becca said...
Another great bag! yours is the only one that doesn't look just like everyone elses! Is the padding really enough to keep it safe? I am always so nervous that I am going to drop mine.
7/9/07 5:49 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a BEAUTIFUL bag!! And "hides" it's techie purpose. I have this pattern... Waiting for the gnomes to sew it up one night... Very helpful review for those who actually will sew this project!!
7/9/07 5:25 PM
KarenP said...
Thanks for the thorough review! It's especially helpful that you included all the products you used and where you purchased the hardware.
7/9/07 3:26 PM
Birgitte said...
So kool! I just love the idea of having a 'home-made' laptop bag- perfect merger of tech and art!
7/9/07 3:01 PM
TrixieD said...
I like the look and the tips about the padding. Very helpful.
7/9/07 12:46 PM
bunz said...
Great techie bag for our techie. Thanks for the review -- I need a bag, too, even tho I'm not a techie :-)
7/9/07 12:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Simplicity 8911

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

More Info