SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2960 (Vintage 1954 Dress)

31 more reviews
Viewed 2138 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/07 10:23 PM
Last Updated:8/13/07 10:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
I love this. The blue lining and the snazzy blue belt really make it. Great review.
8/13/07 10:37 PM
Birgitte said...
So beautiful, I love your fabric choices!
8/13/07 10:53 PM
Kellie R. said...
Oh I just love this dress! It looks so feminine and the fabric captures the essence of the style perfectly. You'll wear it today and look fab!
8/13/07 11:21 PM
Heathar said...
Gorgeous dress & great review! Love the fabric!
8/13/07 11:30 PM
Marji said...
beautiful dress, beautifully executed. Thanks too for the detailed review.
8/14/07 2:06 AM
morzel said...
What a beauty! I love the belt idea.
8/14/07 2:37 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Gorgeous, absolutely stunning. What more can I say?
8/14/07 3:11 AM
MarilynB said...
What a great, timeless dress. This is what a dress should look like.
8/14/07 6:01 AM
susinok said...
That is an amazing dress! Great way to update a vintage pattern with in-Vogue fabric.
8/14/07 7:41 AM
valerie sews said...
Very very cute dress. I like your choice of fabrics.
8/14/07 8:34 AM
Hilary said...
Oh, I *love* it!! Your dress turned out GORGEOUS-and I love the belt, it's perfect-as are the buttons and the lovely eyelet fabric. I've been resisting this pattern for months, and now look what you've done!! :D I have to get this one!!! LOL :D thanks for giving me the excuse! tee-hee :P
8/14/07 8:50 AM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous! They didn't have such little waists either, just heavy duty corsets! But the style gives that illusion anyway. Really like your fabric choices and I love the blue under the brown. Much better than tan would have been. Your review is terrific too.
8/14/07 10:01 AM
Ciclista said...
Beautiful dress and a great review - Thanks!!!
8/14/07 10:05 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful dress. You did a fantastic job
8/14/07 12:25 PM
ladybegood said...
Breathtaking... Blue and brown is one of my favorite color combinations, and I esp love a contrast underlining with an eyelet. Thanks for the informative review.
8/14/07 2:06 PM
LauraTS said...
Gorgeous - I love the brown and blue - and a great, detailed review. Thanks.
8/14/07 2:47 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Spectacular!
8/14/07 4:02 PM
lmg said...
Love it! Very timeless and the color combo/fabric is wonderful. Thank you for the detailed review.
8/14/07 8:12 PM
GwenC said...
This is just beautiful! The brown eyelet over blue was an inspired choice! I love it! Thanks for all the good information in your review!
8/14/07 10:47 PM
MissCelie said...
This dress is so stinking pretty and well worth the effort. I love that you underlined it in an alternative color.
8/15/07 2:42 AM
RobinE said...
Beautiful! Thank you for all of the great tips. Very helpful! :)
8/16/07 0:43 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
o m GOsh loooooooove it! Delicious! Would love to see a picture of you modeling it : ) your fabric choices and construction are perfection. Bravo!
8/16/07 7:41 AM
McKavity said...
Gorgeous dress. Great job.
8/17/07 10:14 AM
blue mooney said...
great use for eyelet! what a lovely dress.
8/17/07 6:14 PM
Athene said...
The dress looks great. Thank you for all the helpful info - especially the note to include the inside waistband
8/22/07 0:14 AM
Anabolina said...
Wow, just Wow!!! I love what you did with this pattern.
8/27/07 12:02 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
I'm thinking about getting this pattern. Your beautiful dress just sold me!
11/11/07 6:29 PM
Julia Graham said...
I'm a little late looking, but that dress is JUST GORGEOUS! Well done indeed. I agree completely with your light-blue lining. My button stash was my great-aunt's... what a cool thing to inherit!
11/28/07 9:47 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful job, and your dress is just fabulous!
1/3/08 8:04 AM
KatieLa said...
Just a me-too comment on how beautiful your dress turned out! I am planning to make this dress for my graduation (PhD!) in white eyelet. If you get a chance, could you take a photo of the inside of the bodice and the facing so I can get a better idea? Thanks so much! Katie
2/3/08 7:17 PM
tiadia said...
What a fantastic job of this dress! I have the pattern and now am inspired to make it. I LOVE your colour combination.
5/30/08 10:28 PM
Selina said...
Just fantastic!! Thanks for the horsehair tip!
6/1/08 8:29 PM
ladybirdlove said...
fancy meeting you here!!! I think I'm attracted to your sewing....
7/11/08 6:02 PM
Lana E said...
Wow that is a beautiful dress! I appreciated your review. There's some good information in there about the pleats and lining. Thank you for sharing.
11/11/08 12:29 PM
minniekins said...
i have been hoarding this pattern.maybe i will sew it, yours came out beautifully!
1/10/09 0:12 AM
Brownell said...
Very good information. i was looking for info on fitting the back, and this had it. Thanks a bunch!
8/29/09 1:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Wiksten Tova

photo
by: wenznz

Review