SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1262 (Topstitched tunic)

Viewed 871 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/07 11:53 AM
Last Updated:7/15/07 11:53 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTwin said...
Sigh, as always! Excellent construction,"as always". I know that you put more effort than we see.I am glad that we have many sewists that are this talented!
7/31/07 10:22 PM
pamici said...
Nice style and a beautiful fabric ... someday I hope to graduate to Marfy's!
7/16/07 7:39 PM
Karine said...
What a beautiful job you did on this top. I like the longer sleeves and the distinctive features of the pattern. Marfy patterns are challenging enough without having to contend with drafting errors as well. Did you make a muslin? As always, your review is terrific - thanks!
7/16/07 10:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a gorgeous top. And, of course, your sewing techniques are to be envied. Beautifully done.
7/16/07 9:21 AM
PixieCat said...
Your top is so gorgeous! I love the color, details, everything. I anticipate your reviews just like each issue of Threads.
7/16/07 5:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great looking tunic/top. Love the pocket details. You do an excellent job with Marfy patterns.
7/16/07 5:16 AM
pterion said...
This is a blouse I would want to buy...only I probably could not afford it! Stunning job.
7/15/07 9:47 PM
carolynw said...
Another lovely top Debra - did you ever get the tape I sent you?
7/15/07 9:34 PM
OP Gal said...
Another great looking project. The fabric is such a pretty color in the picture. I bet it's beautiful in person with the cross-dyed feature of the fabric.
7/15/07 8:19 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Another beauty, love the fabric and colour.
7/15/07 7:56 PM
Debra H said...
The 2007 spring/fall catalog of Marfy has no patterns that I can find smaller than size 42, so those who wear size 4-6 off-the-rack will have to alter a larger size. The book did have maybe 30% with some sizes over 46, but they frequently skipped a size or two. By far, most only come in sizes 42, 44, 46.
7/15/07 7:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Beautiful, I want one. You don't say the sizing range. Does it go up to 48/50? You've done a wonderful job on your top.
7/15/07 6:38 PM
aunt saidee said...
Beautiful work! I haven't tried a Marfy pattern yet, but it's on my list, though your comment about the size range is discouraging. Love the detail and your thoroughness. Thanks!
7/15/07 6:12 PM
jewelea said...
I always look forward to seeing your garments and reading your reviews, and this one does not disappoint. A refreshing summer top with interesting lines.
7/15/07 5:46 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely top! You really are the Marfy expert!
7/15/07 5:10 PM
Sigrid. said...
Sorry, wanted to edit text, and doubled it.
7/15/07 3:40 PM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful blouse. I really love this one. Thanks for the extensive Marfy reviews. Received my first Marfy pattern this week and was surprised that it not even included a drawing! But I'm going to try, also thanks to your reviews.
7/15/07 3:40 PM
Re Becca said...
Very nicely done. I just laid this pattern out in a cotton shirting. I like your longer sleeves, I may do that. Thank you so much for the review.
7/15/07 3:17 PM
Debra H said...
Cheryl...there are no instructions at all. Only pre-cut pattern pieces with a few words on the pattern pieces but not many. Only one size too with no seam allowances. Alas, I wish Vogue would just buy their styles and offer them that way, but not likely to happen.
7/15/07 2:01 PM
Judy Wentz said...
What a lovely pattern. You, as always did a beautiful job. I love the pocket detail.
7/15/07 12:37 PM
lmg said...
I loved this pattern. It's great to see this one made up. Wonderful color and beautiful shirt.
7/15/07 12:21 PM
Beve said...
What a lovely blouse and what a nice job. I bet it looks great on you...
7/15/07 12:21 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Wow, I love this top. Your fabric choice really shows off all of the design details and stitching. I've never used a Marfy pattern. When you say there are not instructions, does that also mean there are no pictures showing construction techniques?
7/15/07 12:01 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I love your Marfy reviews ... they always make me want to go try the ones in my stash! I love the colour of this linen as well. Very summer.
7/15/07 11:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Burda 7433

photo
by: Carrie Dia...

Review
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

More Info
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

More Info