Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1262 (Topstitched tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 869 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/07 11:53 AM
Last Updated:7/15/07 11:53 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
I love your Marfy reviews ... they always make me want to go try the ones in my stash! I love the colour of this linen as well. Very summer.
7/15/07 11:59 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Wow, I love this top. Your fabric choice really shows off all of the design details and stitching. I've never used a Marfy pattern. When you say there are not instructions, does that also mean there are no pictures showing construction techniques?
7/15/07 12:01 PM
Beve said...
What a lovely blouse and what a nice job. I bet it looks great on you...
7/15/07 12:21 PM
lmg said...
I loved this pattern. It's great to see this one made up. Wonderful color and beautiful shirt.
7/15/07 12:21 PM
Judy Wentz said...
What a lovely pattern. You, as always did a beautiful job. I love the pocket detail.
7/15/07 12:37 PM
Debra H said...
Cheryl...there are no instructions at all. Only pre-cut pattern pieces with a few words on the pattern pieces but not many. Only one size too with no seam allowances. Alas, I wish Vogue would just buy their styles and offer them that way, but not likely to happen.
7/15/07 2:01 PM
Re Becca said...
Very nicely done. I just laid this pattern out in a cotton shirting. I like your longer sleeves, I may do that. Thank you so much for the review.
7/15/07 3:17 PM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful blouse. I really love this one. Thanks for the extensive Marfy reviews. Received my first Marfy pattern this week and was surprised that it not even included a drawing! But I'm going to try, also thanks to your reviews.
7/15/07 3:40 PM
Sigrid. said...
Sorry, wanted to edit text, and doubled it.
7/15/07 3:40 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely top! You really are the Marfy expert!
7/15/07 5:10 PM
jewelea said...
I always look forward to seeing your garments and reading your reviews, and this one does not disappoint. A refreshing summer top with interesting lines.
7/15/07 5:46 PM
aunt saidee said...
Beautiful work! I haven't tried a Marfy pattern yet, but it's on my list, though your comment about the size range is discouraging. Love the detail and your thoroughness. Thanks!
7/15/07 6:12 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Beautiful, I want one. You don't say the sizing range. Does it go up to 48/50? You've done a wonderful job on your top.
7/15/07 6:38 PM
Debra H said...
The 2007 spring/fall catalog of Marfy has no patterns that I can find smaller than size 42, so those who wear size 4-6 off-the-rack will have to alter a larger size. The book did have maybe 30% with some sizes over 46, but they frequently skipped a size or two. By far, most only come in sizes 42, 44, 46.
7/15/07 7:34 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Another beauty, love the fabric and colour.
7/15/07 7:56 PM
OP Gal said...
Another great looking project. The fabric is such a pretty color in the picture. I bet it's beautiful in person with the cross-dyed feature of the fabric.
7/15/07 8:19 PM
carolynw said...
Another lovely top Debra - did you ever get the tape I sent you?
7/15/07 9:34 PM
pterion said...
This is a blouse I would want to buy...only I probably could not afford it! Stunning job.
7/15/07 9:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great looking tunic/top. Love the pocket details. You do an excellent job with Marfy patterns.
7/16/07 5:16 AM
PixieCat said...
Your top is so gorgeous! I love the color, details, everything. I anticipate your reviews just like each issue of Threads.
7/16/07 5:58 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a gorgeous top. And, of course, your sewing techniques are to be envied. Beautifully done.
7/16/07 9:21 AM
Karine said...
What a beautiful job you did on this top. I like the longer sleeves and the distinctive features of the pattern. Marfy patterns are challenging enough without having to contend with drafting errors as well. Did you make a muslin? As always, your review is terrific - thanks!
7/16/07 10:54 AM
pamici said...
Nice style and a beautiful fabric ... someday I hope to graduate to Marfy's!
7/16/07 7:39 PM
SewTwin said...
Sigh, as always! Excellent construction,"as always". I know that you put more effort than we see.I am glad that we have many sewists that are this talented!
7/31/07 10:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6969
photo
Review by Hotcouture on 9/22/13
Read Review

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Disparate Disciplines 3401 Avocado hoodie
photo
Review by ahearta on 10/24/13
Read Review

Burda 7138 Pattern
Burda 7138 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7152 Pattern
Burda 7152 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us