Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3775 (Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2307 times 90 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Marji
photo
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:7/16/07 10:42 AM
Last Updated:1/14/08 5:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mahalosu said...
I live your choice of material.
7/16/07 11:05 AM
Nancy K said...
I can see what you are unhappy with, but I do like the nude lining. It makes it dressier than the opaque knit Butterick dress though, and maybe you weren't intending for it to be so dressy?
7/16/07 11:46 AM
craftyshark said...
I'm sorry it didn't turn out as you expected. I also think it looks great on you, though. It's very flattering. It is on the dressier side. It's a good nighttime look.
7/16/07 12:03 PM
Donna H said...
Marji, you always sew with the most unique fabrics. Gosh, I'd be too scared to make this up in that AND underline it, too! It does look VERY nice, though, despite your comments. I agree with the others, it's dressy! Love the hemline, too.
7/16/07 12:11 PM
Copper7 said...
I see the issue with the ruched piece, but honestly, until you pointed it out in your review, I didn't notice it. I think this is a drop dead sexy dress and it looks great on you! I'd definitely recommend wearing it the next time you go out with your guy!
7/16/07 12:27 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
This is gorgeous - I would give it at least a $200 price tag :-)
7/16/07 12:36 PM
Erica B. said...
Marji, I understand that you are unhappy with the dress. But I like the nude lining. You could easily enhance this as an evening look with killer shoes and a great necklace.
7/16/07 12:39 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Marji I really like the fabric, great idea using the nude lining.
7/16/07 1:06 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress is fabulous! I like the underlining with the black lace - and it looks great on you.
7/16/07 1:16 PM
Gold said...
Looks good on you!!I think you did a great job!!
7/16/07 1:29 PM
J-Girl said...
I think it looks lovely with the nude underlining. Not too bare at all!
7/16/07 1:55 PM
Pyrose said...
I really like your dress! I think the materials you picked are great. I can easily see this being a nice evening dress. Your review helped show me that you don't have to be a slave to the pattern envelope pictures. You created a very unique and lovely dress from this.
7/16/07 2:05 PM
OP Gal said...
Too bad you don't love the dress, Marji. I think it's pretty. I do like the nude lining, but I see what you mean about the ruching being a little scanty. However, I don't think anyone but a sewer would notice. Maybe you'd like it better as an evening rather than a day dress.
7/16/07 3:09 PM
Tany said...
I'm sorry that you're not 100% happy with this dress because you look awesome in it. The fabric is gorgeous and I really like the lining as it is. I think Erica is right about the evening look.
7/16/07 3:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
You are so adventurous to try this. The fabric is gorgeous, and I concur with those who suggest that your dress is wello-suited for an evening look.
7/16/07 3:25 PM
Birgitte said...
I love the nude lining, it shows off the lace detail (which is why you chose it right?) and seems to complement your colors, and I also agree about the ruche. But the evening look will move eyes up the that gorgeous face framed by a super kool chunky bead necklace :-)
7/16/07 4:01 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I agree with others and I think the glamour necklace will take away from the nude lining. Lovely!
7/16/07 5:23 PM
Melody said...
Marji, I swear you and I are on the same wavelength. I was just about to try out this version. Although you aren't 100% about this, I think it's absolutely stunning and I agree with Erica and the others who think this is a killer evening look. I think you should go somewhere fabulous and work that dress!
7/16/07 7:16 PM
Diane E said...
Okay, I've got to add a "me too or three or four or, etc." I think this is beautiful, and I think the nude lining highlights the lace. I understand how you're feeling though. How about wearing it out to dinner for its first public appearance - then see what you think. You look lovely.
7/16/07 8:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Marji, here's my first impression: yowza, you are simulataneously sizzling with class and temptress appeal! Your dress is more darling than A. Schwartz's Black dress Super work as always!
7/16/07 10:42 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Incredible. Gosh you guys with this dress. The pattern envelope doesn't do it justice. I will buy it based on the cute job everyone is doing. Great fit on you!
7/17/07 1:59 AM
LauraLo said...
Marji, the dress looks gorgeous on you! I want this pattern!
7/17/07 3:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the dress, Marji. I think you could wear it for something for dressier with some dressy pumps and it would look good. I liked your Butterick dress as well.
7/17/07 5:32 AM
megp47 said...
I think it looks great on you in the photo--the black lace is very stylish.
7/17/07 6:47 AM
pamici said...
Sorry Marji, the votes are in, this is a very cool dress. The first thing I thought was, I have that pattern, and I never would have thought to do it in black stretch lace -- gorgeous! I'm afraid I'll be stealing this one ;-)
7/17/07 8:32 AM
Leora said...
Neat idea to use that lining color as it really brings out the pattern of the lace. Great dress!
7/17/07 2:44 PM
Kathi R said...
You are right - this must be the week for S3775....your dress may not have turned out as you thought it would, but it looks great. Maybe the fabric just wanted to be more a dress up dress than you imagined - your choice of lining is a great idea. I think the problem you experienced with the midriff overlay must be a function of the fabric because with the rayon lycra I used I couldn't have squished any more fabric in the space. All in all you wound up with a great looking dress.
7/17/07 6:53 PM
GRITSGIRL said...
I think it is gorgeous!! I just bought this pattern and hadn't even thought of it as a "holiday" kind of dress. I give it 2 thumbs up!! Find a fancy resturant and have a great evening!
8/4/07 7:23 PM
texx said...
Love this dress on you. I'd really like to know what would make this dress look better!!?
1/26/08 3:40 PM
shard said...
you are great. thank you so much for sharing your order of construction!!
3/11/08 8:40 PM
shard said...
you are great. thank you so much for sharing your order of construction.
3/11/08 8:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 8/2/07
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1084 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Violet Els... on 4/15/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us