Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Stretch & Sew: 1582 (Misses Peasant Blouse) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 1819 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/07 10:06 PM
Last Updated:7/26/07 10:16 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Interesting and creative. I am a little fascinated by the whole stretch and sew concept. Me likey the eyelet.
7/18/07 10:28 PM
Heatherrique said...
What a refreshing take on a classic! Ooh la la!
7/19/07 0:14 AM
EastwoodFan said...
Looks great & original!
7/19/07 3:06 AM
Sigrid. said...
Very original and very like the garment you try to copy. Good work.
7/19/07 6:18 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I've used S&S patterns over the years, but only in the past few years have I acquired some of the older ones. I've got a pretty good collection now and they're great as a basis for updating to current styles. Yours is a great example of how it's done. Thank you for the inspiration.
7/19/07 6:20 AM
moss said...
cool, I am working on the Hotpatterns version of this right now ("No Sweat Easy Sew" something something) and I was wanting to do a little lining too. Your jacket is fabulous. :)
7/19/07 12:08 PM
cindy-lou said...
The retail price on that TT version of this is just about crazy... $248? On a light note, you just saved yourself $238 dollars! The things you can buy now... :) Seriously, I love love this jacket. I hope I can try it this fall.
7/23/07 8:41 AM
JuliaS said...
I love love LOVE this little dress you did! And I too have been really intimidated by shirring with elastic thread in the bobbin, but I think you have just convinced me to try it.
7/24/07 10:06 AM
OP Gal said...
The shirring on your dress is too cute! You've inspired me to try elastic bobbin thread. The shrub is adorable, too.
7/24/07 12:18 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Ah ha, Very clever indead and great results, I love it. Something else I was timid to try and now I won't be. Thanks.
7/24/07 1:46 PM
lisaquilts said...
Excellent work! Thanks for the detailed review! Wow, shirring is great--what a transformation...I'll have to conquer my fear of it!
7/26/07 10:38 AM
Levone said...
Love all of these! Thanks, especially for the tank version as you've given me some ideas on how to change up my HP tube cami. Great review!
7/26/07 11:23 AM
VtMartha said...
You are so clever! I am just finishing up the HP version of your cami - not at all age appropriate for me but fun to wear. My compulsive side wants the ribbon not to twist as it goes through the casing.
7/26/07 11:52 AM
MissCelie said...
The photo is hillarious. You'll have to prove that this smocking is as easy as you claim.
7/26/07 12:23 PM
EveS said...
OMG, my first thought when I saw your pic was, "Does she REALIZE she looks like Jan, Marsha, and Cindy???" Well done!!! Anyway, I LOVE all 3 versions, esp that little jacket! As always, great review...who needs Harry Potter when we've got you? ;)
7/26/07 5:21 PM
nicegirl said...
Hee EveS, that's funny. Yes, the Brady-ness was intentional. Don't even talk to me about Harry Potter--I think the mailroom stole my copy because it was allegedly delivered to work Monday morning and I don't have it yet. I am admitting defeat and buying it (again!!) tomorrow to read over the weekend.
7/26/07 5:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love, love all three variations.
7/26/07 10:58 PM
AnneM said...
Fantastic. Great job using that S&S pattern to make some very current garments. All 3 are great. Love, love, love the shirring. I'm definitely going to have to copy that idea.
8/2/07 8:22 AM
Marji said...
You've gotten great mileage from that pattern. This, to me, is what one Pattern multi-looks is all about. Nicely Done!
8/2/07 9:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3659
photo
Review by KWNightwin... on 7/3/12
Read Review

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)
Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4877
photo
Review by Sweetiebop on 4/23/08
Read Review

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6808 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6808 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us