SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3732 (Summer top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 819 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/07 6:40 PM
Last Updated:7/24/07 1:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TrixieD said...
Nice work! The drawstings look fine. Get hold of a turner (is that the name?) to help simplify turning long drawstrings right side out. I rely on it for so many projects.
7/19/07 8:49 PM
sewgranny said...
Your blouse is great, especially for a new sewer! What I really like is that you adapted when you couldn't get their instructions to work and struck out on your own. It took me years to do that. Congratulations.
7/19/07 8:57 PM
Tall Mary said...
I finished teaching a Beginning Sewing course and the students made pajama bottoms as their first garments. Congratulations on doing both. The top is very cute on you.
7/19/07 9:41 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Congratulations! Your top is cute. I made a pattern similar to this. I did the drawstring the way you did your's. My Mom suggested that way of doing it years ago. It's so much easier than fighting with the whole turning process.
7/19/07 10:42 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Congrats on your top and welcome to PR ! Wonderful turn out for a first project, very cute!
7/20/07 0:02 AM
loridiane said...
Great first effort, it looks really good on you!
7/20/07 10:48 AM
krystalkaes said...
Congratulations! Nice work. And, welcome to PR. It is great to have you.
7/24/07 11:07 AM
Stephenie said...
Congrats on your first project! It looks great. The green looks nice on you.
7/24/07 11:46 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute--great first project! Turning tiny tubes like your drawstring can be a pain. I often do very narrow or those of heavyweight fabric topstitched just like you describe. When you're ready to start accumulating notions, get your mitts on a FastTurn. Welcome to PR--nice to see you as member of the day, too!
7/24/07 1:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great beginner project. It looks RTW to me. You'll learn so much here on PR. I know I did.
7/24/07 1:40 PM
bluenines said...
nice work, congratulations on making your two tops they look great
7/24/07 2:01 PM
Hilary said...
Both tops are adorable on you! I do all my drawstrings that way, too, btw :o) Life's to short to spend time messing with that, LOL. You are doing great, and you are just a beginner?? You will be moving up to intermediate (and beyond!!) in no time!
7/24/07 2:51 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Yeay for you! Both of your tops are great. The eyelet one is especially summery.
7/24/07 3:03 PM
Skymom said...
Both tops are really cute--well done! I always wonder why beginning patterns seem to have those skinny drawstrings. They are such a nuisance to turn, unless you've sewn them in silk charmeuse or something like that.
7/24/07 3:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice top - very summery fabric! Good work. I hope you continue to love sewing!
7/24/07 3:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top!
3/30/08 11:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now