SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3732 (Summer top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 817 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/07 6:40 PM
Last Updated:7/24/07 1:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TrixieD said...
Nice work! The drawstings look fine. Get hold of a turner (is that the name?) to help simplify turning long drawstrings right side out. I rely on it for so many projects.
7/19/07 8:49 PM
sewgranny said...
Your blouse is great, especially for a new sewer! What I really like is that you adapted when you couldn't get their instructions to work and struck out on your own. It took me years to do that. Congratulations.
7/19/07 8:57 PM
Tall Mary said...
I finished teaching a Beginning Sewing course and the students made pajama bottoms as their first garments. Congratulations on doing both. The top is very cute on you.
7/19/07 9:41 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Congratulations! Your top is cute. I made a pattern similar to this. I did the drawstring the way you did your's. My Mom suggested that way of doing it years ago. It's so much easier than fighting with the whole turning process.
7/19/07 10:42 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Congrats on your top and welcome to PR ! Wonderful turn out for a first project, very cute!
7/20/07 0:02 AM
loridiane said...
Great first effort, it looks really good on you!
7/20/07 10:48 AM
krystalkaes said...
Congratulations! Nice work. And, welcome to PR. It is great to have you.
7/24/07 11:07 AM
Stephenie said...
Congrats on your first project! It looks great. The green looks nice on you.
7/24/07 11:46 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute--great first project! Turning tiny tubes like your drawstring can be a pain. I often do very narrow or those of heavyweight fabric topstitched just like you describe. When you're ready to start accumulating notions, get your mitts on a FastTurn. Welcome to PR--nice to see you as member of the day, too!
7/24/07 1:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great beginner project. It looks RTW to me. You'll learn so much here on PR. I know I did.
7/24/07 1:40 PM
bluenines said...
nice work, congratulations on making your two tops they look great
7/24/07 2:01 PM
Hilary said...
Both tops are adorable on you! I do all my drawstrings that way, too, btw :o) Life's to short to spend time messing with that, LOL. You are doing great, and you are just a beginner?? You will be moving up to intermediate (and beyond!!) in no time!
7/24/07 2:51 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Yeay for you! Both of your tops are great. The eyelet one is especially summery.
7/24/07 3:03 PM
Skymom said...
Both tops are really cute--well done! I always wonder why beginning patterns seem to have those skinny drawstrings. They are such a nuisance to turn, unless you've sewn them in silk charmeuse or something like that.
7/24/07 3:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice top - very summery fabric! Good work. I hope you continue to love sewing!
7/24/07 3:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top!
3/30/08 11:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Other Wiksten Tova Top

photo
by: redsilvia

Review
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1244

photo
by: pegsewer

Review