SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> 02 (V-neck top)

Viewed 726 times 
Reviewed by:jaeng
photo

 
 
About jaengstar
NJ USA
Member since: 3/8/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/07 12:05 PM
Last Updated:4/5/08 11:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
What a great style! Really such a sharp-looking tee.
4/6/08 11:38 AM
carolynw said...
This is just beautiful - well done on copying a RTW - bet yours fits a lot better
4/6/08 10:16 AM
Sigrid. said...
That neckline is wonderful. Great idea to copy that. Togehter with your fabric it's a really beautiful top.
4/5/08 5:43 PM
jaeng said...
Oh, boy, I didn't mean to update this review. I just noticed that the photos didn't work anymore and I just want to fix it. I then forgot to check out the little box... so here you go, new to view again.... for how to draft, http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?t=29484 note: bands are cut cross grain so it rolls. How I copied? I used the cheap white knit fabric, laid it on top of the original and copied the out line. For the gathering area, I moved the center front further so that it has room for gathering. (back then I didn't know how to draft this type of gathering).
4/5/08 4:13 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Thanks for enlarging the photo. Your neckline and double bias binding is gorgeous, and so expertly executed. I like the added fullness of the gathering along the v; most flattering. A really special piece, jaeng. -Lily
4/5/08 2:45 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Would love to see the full view bigger than the thumbnail. Could you put a link to it in the review please. The thumbnail links to the close-up. It looks very pretty though.
4/5/08 12:30 PM
Twinset said...
What a beautiful top! You're very lucky to have this 'exclusive' pattern!
4/5/08 12:16 PM
Stephenie said...
This turned out great! Did you end up buying the top and deconstructing, to copy? Or did you base it off of a pattern?
4/5/08 11:53 AM
Heathar said...
Aw, man! I saw this top in your design board, and couldn't wait to see what pattern you used! It looks fantastic! When you return from your trip, do you think you could fill in more details about its construction as an edit to this review? I'd love to hear how you made the neckline in particular...
7/26/07 1:09 AM
SusiM said...
Wow! What a great copy! Great work.
7/22/07 0:27 AM
Levone said...
Pretty top! Love that fabric!
7/21/07 6:47 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
This is one beautiful top. Wish I could find a RTW top just like that to copy! That neckline is perfect!
7/21/07 4:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 2: Dress#2

photo
by: jorth

Review
New Look 6202

photo
by: ashleyjewe...

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

More Info