SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2941 

Viewed 987 times 
Reviewed by:Lou.
photo

 
 
About Lou.starstarstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/03 12:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Lou, I know just how you feel. I've not had much success with a few projects lately and it's hard to swallow ($$, time, hopefulness) Perhaps the other dress style may be more youthful for you. It's good that you like the belt and always good when you learn something.
2/19/03 1:40 PM
Lou. said...
I decided (as I usually do) to forget this dress, and whip up a pair of pants I know will fit!!! I am easily put off so I find I have to jump straight back into it!
2/19/03 1:43 PM
Diane E said...
Lou, it's so disappointing to put a lot of work into something that doesn't turn out the way you hope. The fabric is pretty and your dress looks nice on the hanger. Have fun making your sure-bet pants!
2/19/03 1:48 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Lou, if you have enough fabric left over, perhaps you could devise a back yoke and thus give yourself the extra width you need across the back. Another thing you can do is to undo the side seams and then pin the sides to fit you (right side out) then mark and sew the new seams. As for the bust darts, I don't know how to fix those, but can only suggest that you fit the pattern to before you sew next time. Perhaps adding a printed bodice overlay or mock vest front can hide the darts? If all else fails, cut it off below the bustline and fashion a skirt out of it! Don't give up on the fabric just yet!
2/19/03 2:27 PM
alex said...
Oh Lou, how disappointing. The dress does look just like the pattern picture, though - you did a great job! It is very helpful for you to post this review even though it didn't work for you. I hope you do figure out a way to use the fabric if you love it. Good for you for getting right back into sewing.
2/19/03 4:54 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I'm so sorry for you Lou, time spent on a project with great expectations that turn out to be a dissapointment is never time well spent, but maybe you can make a skirt out of it if there is nothing else you can make from it, BTW the color is very pretty and it sure looks good on the hanger.
2/19/03 5:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Simplicity 2872

photo
by: MCBurbage

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now