Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2941 

Viewed 987 times 
Reviewed by:Lou.
photo

 
 
About Lou.starstarstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 166 (patterns: 153)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/03 12:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said... (2/19/03 5:32 PM) Reply
I'm so sorry for you Lou, time spent on a project with great expectations that turn out to be a dissapointment is never time well spent, but maybe you can make a skirt out of it if there is nothing else you can make from it, BTW the color is very pretty and it sure looks good on the hanger.
alex said... (2/19/03 4:54 PM) Reply
Oh Lou, how disappointing. The dress does look just like the pattern picture, though - you did a great job! It is very helpful for you to post this review even though it didn't work for you. I hope you do figure out a way to use the fabric if you love it. Good for you for getting right back into sewing.
Lorna C. Newman said... (2/19/03 2:27 PM) Reply
Lou, if you have enough fabric left over, perhaps you could devise a back yoke and thus give yourself the extra width you need across the back. Another thing you can do is to undo the side seams and then pin the sides to fit you (right side out) then mark and sew the new seams. As for the bust darts, I don't know how to fix those, but can only suggest that you fit the pattern to before you sew next time. Perhaps adding a printed bodice overlay or mock vest front can hide the darts? If all else fails, cut it off below the bustline and fashion a skirt out of it! Don't give up on the fabric just yet!
Diane E said... (2/19/03 1:48 PM) Reply
Lou, it's so disappointing to put a lot of work into something that doesn't turn out the way you hope. The fabric is pretty and your dress looks nice on the hanger. Have fun making your sure-bet pants!
Lou. said... (2/19/03 1:43 PM) Reply
I decided (as I usually do) to forget this dress, and whip up a pair of pants I know will fit!!! I am easily put off so I find I have to jump straight back into it!
cindyann said... (2/19/03 1:40 PM) Reply
Lou, I know just how you feel. I've not had much success with a few projects lately and it's hard to swallow ($$, time, hopefulness) Perhaps the other dress style may be more youthful for you. It's good that you like the belt and always good when you learn something.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-18

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
New Look 6232

photo
by: Nana27

Review
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Cool Cardigans - Banded Front Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Cool Cardigans - Banded Front Pattern

Pattern Details