Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2941 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 987 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Lou.
photo
About Lou.starstarstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/03 12:06 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Lou, I know just how you feel. I've not had much success with a few projects lately and it's hard to swallow ($$, time, hopefulness) Perhaps the other dress style may be more youthful for you. It's good that you like the belt and always good when you learn something.
2/19/03 1:40 PM
Lou. said...
I decided (as I usually do) to forget this dress, and whip up a pair of pants I know will fit!!! I am easily put off so I find I have to jump straight back into it!
2/19/03 1:43 PM
Diane E said...
Lou, it's so disappointing to put a lot of work into something that doesn't turn out the way you hope. The fabric is pretty and your dress looks nice on the hanger. Have fun making your sure-bet pants!
2/19/03 1:48 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Lou, if you have enough fabric left over, perhaps you could devise a back yoke and thus give yourself the extra width you need across the back. Another thing you can do is to undo the side seams and then pin the sides to fit you (right side out) then mark and sew the new seams. As for the bust darts, I don't know how to fix those, but can only suggest that you fit the pattern to before you sew next time. Perhaps adding a printed bodice overlay or mock vest front can hide the darts? If all else fails, cut it off below the bustline and fashion a skirt out of it! Don't give up on the fabric just yet!
2/19/03 2:27 PM
alex said...
Oh Lou, how disappointing. The dress does look just like the pattern picture, though - you did a great job! It is very helpful for you to post this review even though it didn't work for you. I hope you do figure out a way to use the fabric if you love it. Good for you for getting right back into sewing.
2/19/03 4:54 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I'm so sorry for you Lou, time spent on a project with great expectations that turn out to be a dissapointment is never time well spent, but maybe you can make a skirt out of it if there is nothing else you can make from it, BTW the color is very pretty and it sure looks good on the hanger.
2/19/03 5:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

New Look 6959 Child Dresses
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 8/29/10
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl BO325 Baguette
photo
Review by PursesbyKP on 7/15/10
Read Review

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us